We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Topeka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Topeka to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Topeka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2033 Wanamaker Road, Topeka, KS 66604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Cupertino, California
1 review
“What an amazing hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have been traveling to Topeka, Kansas on business for the last more than a year.

During this time I've been staying at the "Courtyard in Topeka" consistently, right from the first week. All along I've had a pleasant experience, be it room service, the cleanliness of the rooms and felt at home every single week (this is how frequently I stayed). The staff has been very kind, courteous, considerate, helpful and always wore a welcoming smile whenever I walked in. Amazing Staff and my hats off to their attitude.

I felt that I've been taken care of well, way beyond my expectations and hence truly cherish the time I've spent in Topeka. I have to say that the "service at this hotel is top notch ". Anytime I am in Topeka, this is where I will stay. I feel like the staff truly cares about my business. That which is so hard to find these days)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie G, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Topeka, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and our property. We appreciate people like you that choose us as your ''home away from home.'' None of us can imagine what that would be like and we do our very best to make you feel comfortable each and every time. Thank you very much for your business, and we hope that if business brings you back to the area we will see you again. Thanks again and take care.

Sincerely,
Stephanie and the Courtyard Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    31
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
11
3
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

While the staff are young friendly folks, better communication is needed at registration regarding the Maximus gym available to customers, and mold cleanup is needed for the room we stayed in (#201).

We checked in on a Sunday night with the only staff person apparently onsite. The frontdesk gal also fulfilled our request for the proper mattress pad to fit a king bed (rather than the queen that was on there) and extra pillows!

A little pet peeve: Why do they use old thin mattress pads with the little diagonal elastic at the corners? They audibly "pop" off like bread in a toaster as soon as you lay down, thus sentencing one to a fitful night of thrashing about in yards of untethered sheets?!! I think management should have to sleep in their own hotel beds before subjecting us to them.

My traveling companion was miserable for days with constant violent sneezing attacks, congestion, runny nose, red eyes, etc... We didn't realize the wallpaper under the blackout curtain near the A/C was soggy and hanging loose. We looked under it and saw lots of mold and mildew on the wall! We informed the front desk at check-out and they reduced our room charges a bit, but it's a business trip anyway!

The front desk did not tell us this Marriott has an agreement with the local Maximus athletic club, but apparently they do. Since we didn't know, we paid to use the club for a week. Wow! Try getting your money back from an athletic facility after they have it in their hands. It's impossible. The Marriott manager said we should not have been charged, but the Maximus front desk gal didn't know that & neither did we. The Maximus manager refused to refund our money and told us the Marriott would reimburse us. Very frustrating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie G, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Topeka, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Both myself and the staff at the Courtyard Topeka want you to know that we are very sorry your stay was not up to what you should expect at a Courtyard by Marriott. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your comments regarding your stay and we have corrected those items that you have identified. We are working with our staff to make sure every team member is properly trained in their positions and in communicating to our guests those amenities that are available at this hotel. Again, thank you for providing your input and please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 785-271-6165 should you wish to talk to me further about your stay.

Sincerely,
Stephanie Gassen
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe,KS
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Hotel is "hidden" behind other properties. Traveler's, if heading north on Wanamaker Rd, virtually impossible to see--you have to know it sits back on the edge of the mall parking lot ( when heading S you can see a little better). For a business hotel, rooms size is nice--2 Q, sitting chair & desk area, you did not feel crowded. Free in-room internet is a plus. Convenient to shopping and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie G, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Topeka, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We are a little hidden from the main road, which can be good and bad. Good so you don't have heavy traffic noise, and bad if you aren't familier to the area. Thanks for giving our future guests a heads up. For those travelers, look for the West Ridge Mall, we are located in their parking lot, behind the Chili's, Red Lobster and Olive Garden. I know those are great places to eat, but don't forget that we have a Bistro in our lobby with great options for breakfast and dinner.

I am, however, glad you found us and enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you next time and again we appreciate you helping others find us with out any hassle. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Spent 4 days in July 2012 on a business trip at The Courtyard by Marriott in Topeka. The staff was amazing from beginning to end. The room was clean and comfortable. The desk area was adequate and easy to use. Yes I will stay there next time I am in Topeka.

Room Tip: My room on the third floor was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie G, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Topeka, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you! Thank you! We are so glad to hear that you had an amazing stay! We hope to see you the next time you are on a business trip and in Topeka. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Had the opportunity to stay at night at the Courtyard. Overall I thought the staff was nice and accommodating. The Bistro seems like a good concept. I will the lounge area that is set off to the side. The cleanliness of that area could be better, but it's a nice gathering place. Overall the room was clean and the TV and internet worked great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie G, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Topeka, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your schedule to review our property. We love the new Bistro concept and all it has to offer, and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed it as well. I have addressed the issue of cleanliness of the lobby with the staff and we will continue to work on it. Thank you for choosing Marriott, and again Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback.
Sincerely,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, TX
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Well, another family wedding and another great stay. We were able to get directions and maps from the staff and the large smart board in the lobby. Great staff and good stay. No problems with noise, and we were on the bottom floor near the end entrance. There is a mall just behind the property. We bought last minute clothes and gifts at the wonderful Burlington Coat Factory. Three of us gals got our nails done at a nearby nail salon. The water is consistently hot for your showers. Hotel is only 28 minutes from a casino, if that's an interest. We would stay again!

Room Tip: We have had good sleep and quiet on first floor and second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie G, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Topeka, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Yey! I'm so glad you made it back...and had another great experience with us at the Courtyard Topeka! . I hope you got to try out some of the new items in the Bistro. We have a great Turkey Spinach and Artichoke sandwhich that is AMAZING! If you didn't get to try it here, you definately need to seek out a Courtyard near you and try it. Thank you so much for acknowledging us, we appreciate it very much, and hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
The Courtyard by Marriott Topeka Staff &
Stephanie, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This was my first time staying at the Courtyard in Topeka. I thought I would write a review of my stay. Very very good. The hospitality was great. The hotel was clean and very convenient to many restaurants. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie G, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Topeka, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing us! Don't forget to try our Bistro the next time you stay with us for great dinner options like the new Spinach and Chicken Flatbread, or some of our Tai Sweet Chili wings. We also have Managers Specials on beverages, daily from 5pm-7pm. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Topeka

Address: 2033 Wanamaker Road, Topeka, KS 66604
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Topeka 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a new stay at Courtyard by Marriott Topeka Hotel, the first choice of hotels in Topeka for today's traveler. Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro, added Fall 2011, also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.Innovative amenities, with free Wi-Fi and up-to-the-minute news and weather via our GoBoard®. 24hr fitness center, 24hr business center, and indoor pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Topeka Hotel Topeka
Courtyard Topeka
Topeka Courtyard
Topeka Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Topeka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.