We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Favorite!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HuHot Mongolian Grill

HuHot Mongolian Grill
5900 SW Huntoon St, Ste E, Topeka, KS 66604-2289
785-271-8190
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 308 restaurants in Topeka
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Description: Create your own Asian stir-fry! Choose from our fresh selection of meats, seafood, noodles, veggies and Asian-influenced sauces. Customize your Mongolian BBQ masterpiece, then watch as it’s cooked on our grill of epic proportions. It’s all-you-can-eat, so you can try as many combinations as you want! A unique dining experience for the whole family.
kansas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Family Favorite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Food was good, as usual. In fact it was a great dining experience,....except we had a new waitress. When one of use ordered the asian chicken salad for their meal they got the small dinner salad instead. By the time the mistake had occured it was to late to wait for the salad to be made (is usally isn't a quick turnaround).
Otherwise all was well. Keep in mind that it can be noisy if you are seated near where the food is cooked. So if you want to chat request seating toward the front door.
They always have the best tasting filtered water. Not sure what they do but it is truely better.
Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    18
    15
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unique concept, poor quality food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

If you have a large family and are trying to save money on feeding them, this may be your place. If you are looking for a great meal, keep looking! Food is cooked before you on a large grill after choosing your items, but quality of the items is poor at best.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“"First Timer"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Nice restaurant. Kid friendly. We enjoyed the food & service.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We love the whole experience of going to HuHot, getting to make your own plate and watching them cook it. They also have some very good appetizers. My husband's family lives in Topeka and this used to be our go-to restaurant every time we visited, but now there is one in OKC! =))

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Um, maybe....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Let me start by saying that I love Mongolian Grill. I am a big fan of Ghengis Grill and eat there often. Hu Hot is a different story. This restaurant needs to be commended though on the fact that I told them I have a seafood allergy and they basically set-up a MASH unit on the grill to make sure I didn't get my food mixed with anyone else's. The selection of items, sauces and vegetables left alot ot be desired. I wasn't happy with the cleanliness of the buffet line either. The server was OK, but didn't do anything over the top great. The Egg Drop soup was TERRIBLE, so don't waste your time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HuHot Mongolian Grill also viewed

 

Been to HuHot Mongolian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HuHot Mongolian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.