We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place was awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rowhouse Restaurant

Rowhouse Restaurant
515 Van Buren, Topeka, KS
785-817-6052
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 308 restaurants in Topeka
Price range: $28 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Place was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Heard about this place on here and decided to take my girlfriend there. Never been to a place like that and the service was great! When we arrived we were walking to the door and the chef met us at the door and greeted us by name (hello so and so) then he took us to our seat. The server was great,he explained each dish very well as each one came, he even recommended a different beer that accented each dish well! The food was amazing, my girlfriend hates fish and she even enjoyed the mahi mahi..wow, the place blew my mind! I do think it felt like you were being overheard by the other people but I really could've cared less...it was one of the coolest experiences either one of us have ever been to, especially in topeka! The price is definitely worth the experience! Go on Wednesday its cheaper and you get a lil bit of everything. Oh yeah, and make a reservation...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    45
    14
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not so good today”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Have loved the Rowhouse, but tonight was a bummer. The menu was not Chef Greg's, and obviously so. The very arrogant, full-of-himself waiter said the 2 chef's who came up with the menu had been in Nashville (or somewhere) visiting 17 restaurants in 3 days. We weren't impressed. Pears for the appetizer and for dessert. Soup was excellent. The beef entree was underwhelming and the salmon was, well....a chunk of frozen salmon, unadorned, baked in the oven at home would have been better. One of the desserts was some hard, cold caramel stuck to the little paper cup it came in. The waiter had an air of self-importance, and was challenging and defensive at times. It's always to celebrate a special occasion that we go to Rowhouse - this was very disappointing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Prairie Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We live in North Carolina and have a vaction home in Colorado. Occasionally we drive and have found few noteworthy dining options along the very long I70 corridor in Kansas. Our Rowhouse is experience is the only meal in that area that was really memorable, and it's the only restaurant we would make a point of returning to if open. The problem is that it's only open evenings Wednesday through Saturday. Certainly excellent by local standards and pushing excellent for just about any area of the country. Inventive cooking with fresh local ingredients and excellent service. More expensive than a mid-range chain restaurant but very much in line with what one would expect to pay for this quality. In fact, our meal was substantially less that one would expect to pay for a comparable meal in one of the larger cities on either coast.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Elegant and Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

It was a surprise to find this treasure in Topeka. In the basement of a row house is an elegany gourmet treat. Suggest you make reservations.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“How Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We visited this fabulous restaurant for the first time and were VERY impressed! We were greeted at the door by the owner and invited by the hostess to have a seat at the "bar" to wait for a table to open up. After a short wait (we didn't have reservations) we were seated nearby. This is a "tasting" restaurant; you get a little of everything on the menu. This is not the place to go if you want gigantic portions (a,k.a national chains) but oh my goodness the food was out of this world!! The service was outstanding - we even got a tour of the place while we were in between courses. The menu changes weekly...we will very definitely be back!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rowhouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rowhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.