We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding quality food; expensive but a nice evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rowhouse Restaurant

Rowhouse Restaurant
515 Van Buren, Topeka, KS
785-817-6052
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 308 Restaurants in Topeka
Price range: $28 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Topeka, Kansas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding quality food; expensive but a nice evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Rowhouse Restaurant has a unique niche... the chef prepares his selected salad, appetizer, several entrees, and a desert for the evening, and for a set price ($37 per person when we were there) the guest gets a sampler size of each. Wine is extra but does compliment the meal. The food is of high quality and tastes wonderful. It is too expensive to be a regular outing but about once a year it will be a nice place to have a great meal. Probably best for adults and teenagers and not younger children. Reservations are strongly recommended. I would recommend this restaurant regardless of the location, but in the Topeka area, it is definitely a culinary "breath of fresh air."

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    14
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, KS
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not too impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Portions are very small and service is questionable. Not overly impressed with the quality for the price.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It's worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and I just recently visited Rowhouse for the first time, and we were very pleased with it. It's too pricey for us to go there on a regular basis, but it's worth it for the occasional treat.

We did have to sit quite close to a large party so at times it was loud and difficult for us to avoid overhearing everything happening at their table, but we still enjoyed a leisurely meal.

We tried the chef's sampling so we were able to taste each of the entrees and desserts, and I would recommend that to anyone who doesn't get the opportunity to go to upscale restaurants like this on a regular basis.

We're looking forward to our next night out at Rowhouse!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, pricy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Atmosphere is interesting, but too quiet for a casual dinner with a colleague. Linen table clothes and napkins. Dinner was $60 a plate with 1 drink and tip, not bad for the food but double what I expected based on other reviews and the area. Worth a trip if you're looking for a romantic dinner.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“YUMMO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Thank you Rowhouse for giving Topeka something special. We look forward to your ever changing, delicious menu. Everyweek, I check to see what new goodies await! You cannot go wrong with your order.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rowhouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rowhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.