We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, pricy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rowhouse Restaurant

Rowhouse Restaurant
515 Van Buren, Topeka, KS
785-817-6052
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 308 Restaurants in Topeka
Price range: $28 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, pricy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Atmosphere is interesting, but too quiet for a casual dinner with a colleague. Linen table clothes and napkins. Dinner was $60 a plate with 1 drink and tip, not bad for the food but double what I expected based on other reviews and the area. Worth a trip if you're looking for a romantic dinner.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    14
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“YUMMO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Thank you Rowhouse for giving Topeka something special. We look forward to your ever changing, delicious menu. Everyweek, I check to see what new goodies await! You cannot go wrong with your order.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holton, Kansas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“food connoiseurs delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

You will not have a better tasting of food, anywhere.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas, United States
1 review
“It's all great, the food, the atmosphere and the service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

What a special restaurant! It not just a place to have dinner, it is an experience. Love it!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We are too good for you!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

The setting is very cool. A row house turned into a restaurant in two floors. The tables are too close and at times do not allow a private conversation without being overheard. Food is good but not as good as the waiters and the chef think! Wine service was a disaster especially when I asked for a decanter. I got served my wine in a pitcher! They do not allow you to bring your wine. Wine selection is not very extensive but wine by the glass is cheap, good wine that is selected very properly. Overal service is poor and it seems as if they are always short in the number of the servers. Food is above average and usually well executed but I have had overly salted meat and deserts there.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rowhouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rowhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.