We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very surreal, very historic for this native Hawaiian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site

Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site
1515 SE Monroe, Topeka, KS 66612
+1 785-354-4273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 44 things to do in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Monroe Elementary School, one of the segregated schools involved in the 1954 Supreme Court decision aimed at ending segregation in public schools, is now a National Historic Site commemorating this landmark ruling.
Maui, Hawaii
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Very surreal, very historic for this native Hawaiian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Love every aspect of this legendary historic site. I found myslef delving into every area of each exhibit

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    32
    10
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Well designed - free - museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Although this museum is small, it is well designed. I used to work in museums, so I can be critical, but Brown vs. Board utilizes its space amazingly well. It explains not only the history of this case, but also of the history and evolution of civil rights in the US.

I took my class of visiting Ecuadorian teachers here and they found the museum to be insightful and educational. They had no knowledge of the events of Brown v. Board, but learned a lot about the history of the US and the changes in civil rights throughout our history.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“must-see in Topeka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This small historic site is well worth a visit! It is located in the original segregated school building of Monroe Elementary and includes several rooms of exhibits related to school and general segregation, civil rights, and relevant situations we experience today.

The information is presented exceptionally well- very thought out, but not overwhelming and the exhibits are new and clean with meaningful interactives. There is something for everyone to experience here. The visitor services employee was incredibly helpful and friendly. They will give you a short introduction and information about the site, and then send you on a self-tour. Expect to spend at least 45 min to an hour here if you want to see it all.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sharing history with my kids ... priceless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was an unexpected detour on our way home from Oztoberfest. To stand on the steps of the school building and walk the halls was surreal. The first view is of two signs: White and Colored. Hearing audio recordings and seeing images from the desegregation of schools was upsetting and healing. I am so thankful that this history is preserved and opened to the public. We learned so much about wonderful people who fought side by side for black children to be educated alongside white children. Powerful. Enlightening. Neat gift shop, too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulster county, ny
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“If you're in the area, don't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This site has taken a difficult time in the nation's history and turned it into an excellent teaching/learning facility. The displays are really interesting and many can be explored in different ways allowing for different levels of interest in any one aspect of the exhibits. There is much of the other history of the civil rights era presented as well. Whether born in this country or not, a better understanding of this piece of American history is available at this site.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.