We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site

Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site
1515 SE Monroe, Topeka, KS 66612
+1 785-354-4273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 22 attractions in Topeka
Type: Educational Sites, Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings, National Parks
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Monroe Elementary School, one of the segregated schools involved in the 1954 Supreme Court decision aimed at ending segregation in public schools, is now a National Historic Site commemorating this landmark ruling.
Bonney Lake, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“More than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I do not know what I expected, but I certainly found more than I thought I would.

A simple school building that held so much information on civil rights and in many ways the shaping of our nation. I cannot think of a place that I've been that contained so much information on how our nation changed during this time and the people that shaped it.

Be prepared to read if you should visit. It is not a site that offers a great deal to see, but a great deal to be gained with a little time spent reading the many displays.

Not a must see for me, but not a bad stop as one journeys into Kansas.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    25
    8
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chadron, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

It was powerful and informational. The videos of riots and other information from the era of segregation were extremely interesting. The fact that you are in an old school is interesting. The video playing in the auditorium is a little boring, and the whole exhibit is a tad small. But, overall, it was a great experience and enjoyable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Don't pass this up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a very intersting museum in the old school. We learned a lot here. Allow about an hour or so. The National Park Service always seems to do an excellent job.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Moving civil rights exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We are educators and THOUGHT that we knew a lot about this case, but we learned a lot more. This free exhibit is interesting for both adults and chldren and leads to further discussion on civil rights. There is a 1/2 hour film and the rest of the visit takes about 40 minutes. Free parking. Open every day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“History...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Loved this museum/school. Another free museum, which is always a plus. When you first get there, you are guided to a short 30 minute film about the civil rights movement. Then you go into different rooms where there are loads of information about the civil rights movement. I wish they had a bigger gift shop, I really wanted to purchase something while I was there but the gift shop is really small with little selection. Besides that, it was great. I love how they turned the school into a museum. Neat idea.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site to your Saves list