We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site
1515 SE Monroe, Topeka, KS 66612
+1 785-354-4273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 46 things to do in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Monroe Elementary School, one of the segregated schools involved in the 1954 Supreme Court decision aimed at ending segregation in public schools, is now a National Historic Site commemorating this landmark ruling.
Fairbury, Nebraska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

It was powerful and informational. The videos of riots and other information from the era of segregation were extremely interesting. The fact that you are in an old school is interesting. The video playing in the auditorium is a little boring, and the whole exhibit is a tad small. But, overall, it was a great experience and enjoyable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    38
    11
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
259 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Don't pass this up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a very intersting museum in the old school. We learned a lot here. Allow about an hour or so. The National Park Service always seems to do an excellent job.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
194 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Moving civil rights exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We are educators and THOUGHT that we knew a lot about this case, but we learned a lot more. This free exhibit is interesting for both adults and chldren and leads to further discussion on civil rights. There is a 1/2 hour film and the rest of the visit takes about 40 minutes. Free parking. Open every day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“History...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Loved this museum/school. Another free museum, which is always a plus. When you first get there, you are guided to a short 30 minute film about the civil rights movement. Then you go into different rooms where there are loads of information about the civil rights movement. I wish they had a bigger gift shop, I really wanted to purchase something while I was there but the gift shop is really small with little selection. Besides that, it was great. I love how they turned the school into a museum. Neat idea.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
409 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Nice museum, worthy subject”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We liked the museum. The film was good, and there stuff here that will interest most people and many kids. I was particularly taken by the history of the five cases that were consolidated in the Brown case. It was a push-the-button display in one of the rooms and easily missed. But it reminds you that people were at the heart of these cases, and that they took real risks to bring them. Plus the lawyers here (Thurgood Marshall and others) worked hard for a long time to make progress. Not much else nearby, but we happily drove 40 miles out of our way. You don't have to be a minority to get something from the museum.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.