We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pass this up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site

Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site
1515 SE Monroe, Topeka, KS 66612
+1 785-354-4273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 23 Attractions in Topeka
Type: Educational Sites, Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings, National Parks
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Monroe Elementary School, one of the segregated schools involved in the 1954 Supreme Court decision aimed at ending segregation in public schools, is now a National Historic Site commemorating this landmark ruling.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Don't pass this up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a very intersting museum in the old school. We learned a lot here. Allow about an hour or so. The National Park Service always seems to do an excellent job.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    29
    9
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapala, Mexico
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Moving civil rights exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We are educators and THOUGHT that we knew a lot about this case, but we learned a lot more. This free exhibit is interesting for both adults and chldren and leads to further discussion on civil rights. There is a 1/2 hour film and the rest of the visit takes about 40 minutes. Free parking. Open every day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“History...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Loved this museum/school. Another free museum, which is always a plus. When you first get there, you are guided to a short 30 minute film about the civil rights movement. Then you go into different rooms where there are loads of information about the civil rights movement. I wish they had a bigger gift shop, I really wanted to purchase something while I was there but the gift shop is really small with little selection. Besides that, it was great. I love how they turned the school into a museum. Neat idea.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Nice museum, worthy subject”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We liked the museum. The film was good, and there stuff here that will interest most people and many kids. I was particularly taken by the history of the five cases that were consolidated in the Brown case. It was a push-the-button display in one of the rooms and easily missed. But it reminds you that people were at the heart of these cases, and that they took real risks to bring them. Plus the lawyers here (Thurgood Marshall and others) worked hard for a long time to make progress. Not much else nearby, but we happily drove 40 miles out of our way. You don't have to be a minority to get something from the museum.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
157 attraction reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Great Historic Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Definitely worth a stop (or even a special trip if you are in Kansas City). A truly historic site with very nice exhibits about the Civil Rights movement. The school is in beautiful condition and it's really great to see how they have converted it into a museum. No more than a 5 minute drive from the Capitol.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.