We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice museum, worthy subject” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site

Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site
1515 SE Monroe, Topeka, KS 66612
+1 785-354-4273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 44 Attractions in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Monroe Elementary School, one of the segregated schools involved in the 1954 Supreme Court decision aimed at ending segregation in public schools, is now a National Historic Site commemorating this landmark ruling.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Nice museum, worthy subject”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We liked the museum. The film was good, and there stuff here that will interest most people and many kids. I was particularly taken by the history of the five cases that were consolidated in the Brown case. It was a push-the-button display in one of the rooms and easily missed. But it reminds you that people were at the heart of these cases, and that they took real risks to bring them. Plus the lawyers here (Thurgood Marshall and others) worked hard for a long time to make progress. Not much else nearby, but we happily drove 40 miles out of our way. You don't have to be a minority to get something from the museum.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    32
    10
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
425 reviews 425 reviews
174 attraction reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Great Historic Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Definitely worth a stop (or even a special trip if you are in Kansas City). A truly historic site with very nice exhibits about the Civil Rights movement. The school is in beautiful condition and it's really great to see how they have converted it into a museum. No more than a 5 minute drive from the Capitol.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A wealth of information and a must see if you are in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My family and I learned a lot at this museum. I knew about the Civil Rights decision but not all the history surrounding it.

We got there late in the day so it was impossible to take it all in, but we definitely enjoyed what we did get to see. The exhibit was free - a major surprise. This is a must see if you are in the area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Educational Historical Site.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Took the kids (5, ages 3-11) for Martin Luther King, Jr. Day because the cub scout needed to go to a historic location and I wanted them to learn more about our countries struggle for Civil Rights. They have a Jr. Ranger program that is very doable for older elementary age & middle school aged children that helps guide them through the exhibits. The school is style very much intact and the displays are very, very well done. They do a great job of showing what was happening in the country in the early 50s and where the civil rights movement is today. While I went with young kids, there is much more there that adults would be interested in. They have done a nice job of making the history accessible to school kids, and getting visitors to think about their participation in civil rights today.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Historic site concerning the struggle for Civil Rights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I had visited the Central High School National Historic Site in Little Rock, AR this year, and this site in Topeka, KS should actually be seen first, since it tells about the legal challenges in the 20th Century that led up to the historic Supreme Court decision that ruled that separate schools for whites and blacks were unconstitutional. The site is in the Madison School at 15th St. in Topeka, not far to the southeast of the Kansas State Capitol building (about 10 blocks or so). The Madison School, which once was an elementary school for African American children, is now a museum, administered by the National Park Service. I learned that there were several lawsuits around the country that were merged into the case in Topeka, KS that became known as Brown versus the Board of Education. The Supreme Court Decision was in 1954, and from that point on, schools around the nation had to be desegregated, but it took years to do so. The crisis in Little Rock took place in 1957 when the Governor of Arkansas, Orval Faubus, stepped in, blocking the planned desegregation of Central High School in Little Rock. For those wanting to know about the Civil Rights struggle in the 1950's and 1960's I would recommend visiting Brown versus Board of Education in Topeka, KS first, then Central High School in Little Rock, AR second, and then the Selma to Montgomery National Historic Trail in Alabama third. The National Park Service has very informative brochures about all three sites.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.