We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer choices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Canoe

Blue Canoe
2006 North Gloster, Tupelo, MS
662-269-2642
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 156 Restaurants in Tupelo
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great beer choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

It is a small place but has a great beer selection. They seem to have a great history of music but no one was playing when we were there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    42
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality (NOT!)”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had high hopes for this place, but I've been disappointed on every visit. In a town with a beer selection that doesn't venture far from the Bud, Bud Lite standard offering, the prospect of a good beer selection was exciting. The selection is fair, but the staff is not very knowledgeable. The food is the typical greasy bar food, but then it is a bar. BUT, if you don't fit the target client type, expect gawking and inattentive service. This how you can truly experience the deeply rooted southern hospitality. Sorry to say, things haven't changed much here. Sadly, some stereotypes are earned and deserved...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtice, Ohio
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Wow! Best burger I've had in years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This place is a Must Visit! We were traveling through and decided to check it out after reading the reviews. What a find! The service was wonderful. Tammy was helpful with suggestions and saw to everything we needed. The burgers were HUGE and delicious but the blueberry doughnut dessert made us melt in our chairs. Parking is tight but this spot is worth diverting for on our trips from Ohio to New Orleans.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
“Another pop culture dive...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Menu at this place is limited....Service is good, but not much on the menu that will fill you up or excite your pallet. Trendy local place that tries to make you get excited about the atmosphere so you will not realize the food on the menu is really pretty bland. PS.. They try to spice their food up with live local bands.. Don't fall for it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food great..... Band terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Had high hopes for this place based on reviews. Had to pay a cover charge of $5 on entry without knowing if we could even get a table to eat. Food was just as good as the reviews said but the Band playing were one of the worst I have ever heard and we ate quickly and left early. They couldn't play, couldn't sing and not a soul applauded them. VERY DISAPPOINTED and annoyed about the cover charge

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Canoe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Canoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Canoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.