We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but got lied to during booking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Tupelo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Tupelo to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tupelo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1013 North Gloster St., Tupelo, MS 38804   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Tupelo
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice Hotel but got lied to during booking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We booked 4 rooms over the phone for a week stay and asked if we could have tax free room charges, the attendant on duty said sure no problem and said that he added it to our reservation as long as we brought out tax exempt forms. We arrived and checked in and a different person working said she saw the reservation and everything was good. As we were checking out 5 days later we noticed the taxes were back on the receipt after payment the desk worker stated her manager says he can't take taxes off even for tax exempt stays. It seems like some underhanded stuff going on at that point so the four of us just said ok and paid. I really don't like surprises especially when it's with money. If the hotel does not allow tax exempt stays then I would have liked to know prior to the stay and we would have chosen I different hotel that does because there are many down there that do, if not all of them.

P.S. The tread mill is broken, the desk attendent said it has been for some months and is awaiting a workorder I was told. The hotel is lucky I am not a injury lawyer junky and suid for the belt slipping an smashing my face into the panel on the tread mill. "A out of order sign would have been nice"

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    50
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
72
53
12
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

Stopped in for 1 night stay. Room accommodations were fine. I was pleasantly surprised with the hot breakfast they had that included fresh waffles, hot biscuits and gravy, eggs, sausage and a variety of other items.

The staff was very attentive, friendly, and everything was well maintained. The hotel was non smoking but had a nice area outside for smokers with comfortable seating.

The only negative was that it didn't have wi-fi offered. However the overall stay was great.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had two rooms for 1 night and found them to be clean with comfortable beds and very large rooms. The hotel was very safe as we were a group of women and small kids. The breakfast was fine but nothing to write home about. It was about 5 min. to the Elvis birthplace musuem and the downtown area. I would stay again if in Tupelo.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeewolde, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here 2 weeks ago during our vacation.
The hotel was nice and clean.

Breakfast was good for a free one and there was even a happy hour at 5 with free drinks and some snacks.

The room was spacious en the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011 via mobile

Reserved two double rooms. Arrived at 10:30 after driving 14 hours from Florida. Got my parents checked into room 419; nice clean room, no smells. Then we went to room 417, reeked of dog urine as soon as we went into the room. Went downstairs to get another room, no more doubles available. Moved to room 401, a king size room with a fold out couch. Showered/bathed and my son said the king size bed smelled like dog. The comforter and bed was covered in dog hair, not just a couple hairs, but covered. Don't know how housekeeping missed that. Dragged the hairy comforter and dog smell to the front desk. Front desk attendant called manager but out of options since hotel full. Finally went to sleep after midnight. Kids said floor was more comfortable than fold out couch.
Breakfast was good, waffles, sausage patties, eggs, biscuits and gravy, banannas, apples, and the usual.
Ended up not being charged for either room; offerred to pay for my parents room. Front desk staff was very helpful. I was reassured that Mike the owner would know of the housekeeping concerns. We were asked to try the hotel again. Did not realize that all LaQuinta's are pet friendly. We have dogs ourselves and usually don't complain.
The front desk attendant stated that dogs aren't allowed on the fourth floor but guests sneak them up the back entrance. We saw two dogs within a couple of minutes on the fourth floor hallway.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laquintinntupeloms, Webmaster at La Quinta Inn & Suites Tupelo, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing La Quinta Inn & Suites Tupelo for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

1) Desk staff received our commendation on the way they treated you, our valued guests.

2) Housekeeping received extra training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I am sorry that you had the business with the dog remains to deal with, but I am very proud of the way our staff handled the situation. I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at La Quinta Inn & Suites Tupelo. I think you will be greatly pleased. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This property meets LaQuintas' standards for cleanliness and repair. It's quiet enough if you just avoid the ground floor pool end of the building. The door there slams so hard when other guests and and go that the walls actually shake.

Breakfast offers many options, from scrambled eggs and sausage to yogurt. I was disappointed to see no syrup for the waffles, though.

I got my best price by walking in and asking for the best price. I usually prefer to make reservations ahead, but there are so many hotels in Tupelo that not finding a decent room is not really a problem.

The pool,by the way, is too small for laps, but perfect for kids... of which there are many. I would have liked to soak, but preferred not to mingle.

Ilike La Quinta. I'd stay here again, and I'd recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool end of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Stayed two nights in mid-March. Initial room assignment was next to elevator and my little dog was going nuts listening to the elevator ding. I went to the front desk and the very busy clerk was professional and polite. She reassigned our room and upgraded us as well. The rooms were clean, the breakfast was good and the service was great. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Tupelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Tupelo

Address: 1013 North Gloster St., Tupelo, MS 38804
Location: United States > Mississippi > Tupelo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tupelo
#5 Business Hotel in Tupelo
#5 Family Hotel in Tupelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Tupelo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New construction. Offering a full range of services for the business person or leisure travelers, in the heart of the birthplace and museum of Elvis Presley. 100% Nonsmoking, central location in business district near restaurants and shopping. Gorgeous decor, rooms feature micro/fridge, coffee pot, and hair dryer,iron, executive desk, wireless and/or wired internet, pet friendly, outdoor pool with woodland view. We encourage you to relax and enjoy the southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Tupelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tupelo Hotel Tupelo
La Quinta Inn And Suites Tupelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Tupelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.