We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Club Quarters Boston to your Saves list
Club Quarters Boston
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Devonshire Street, Between Milk & Franklin Streets, Boston, MA 02110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save More!
Ranked #61 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Dennis Port, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Yesterday i had to visit my brother in hospital in Boston . So i went online and found Club Quarters
to be my best bet on price for hotel in Boston.When i arrived it was a few hours before check - in
but they had a room ready which made me very happy. The service was excellant and very friendly.
When i got up to my room i noticed it was a little smaller the most hotel rooms but very clean and modern.Nice comfy bed, huge powerful shower, flat screen tv with more channels than average hotel.
They also have as much complimentry bottles of water that you'd like. Nice touch.
I also enjoyed Dinner and cocktails in restarurant that is connected to hotel. Great cute female bartenders that gave excellant service . Food was also very good. The hotel is located a couple of blocks from thearter district and in other direction a couple of blocks from clubs and shops at fanuil hall.
I stayed on 7th floor and had a quiet sound sleep.I will definitly stay here again.

Room Tip: higher floors you do not here traffic below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    393
    123
    48
    34
See reviews for
101
335
105
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Botany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed three nights prior to getting on a cruise to the Caribbean in late October. The hotel was ideally located being in walking distance to Quincy Markets / Fanueli Hall and also to the Boston Common and the Freedom Trail. The adjoining restaurant / pub was great for breakfast and the fill your own water bottles station on each floor was a convenient thing. Had a good evening meal at the bar next store as well but the central location of the hotel was extremely beneficial as we just walked everywhere we wanted to go. The common room just behind reception was a great meeting place for our group each morning with the complimentary tea and coffee facilities and the computers available in this area was extremely beneficial. From the arrival to the departure the staff were fantastic and if ever we were to stay in Boston again we would definitely stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location and amenities for business travelers. Attentive staff. Easy walk to restaurants, historical sites and federal courthouse. A special tip of the cap to Guest Service Manager, Jennifer Pena.
WH, San Diego

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I were going to a Boston Bruins game and got a good rate on this hotel on Orbitz. Having stayed at many hotels in Boston over the years, this was probably my least favorite. It's not far from Quincy Market/Fanueil Hall and was within walking distance to the TD Garden, but I tend to think most of the stuff to do is around Copley and this is far from there. The staff was very apathetic and I barely got a hello upon check-in. Our room was very small but clean and had all the needed amenities. I will agree with other reviewers: the soundproofing is terrible. You can hear anyone walking through the hallways. Worse, some guests in an adjoining room were smoking some "special" cigarettes in their room and the smell traveled into our room. Overall, although it was a great deal, there are definitely other places I would rather stay in the City.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It’s like a do it yourself Hotel, Kiosk check in, fill your own chilled bottled water on every floor, one ice station with plenty of buckets in one location. I liked the security card requirement to access the elevator above the lobby and to enter from the adjoining restaurant/pub. (Enjoyed one good meal there) There is a comfortable TV lounge offering free coffee and newspaper right off the lobby. Rooms were a bit small but the low price allowed a two night stay in great location close to historic sites, Faneuil Hall, Macys and a few blocks to many pubs and restaurants. The Financial district is very quiet on Sat & Sun which is nice but a few block walk in any direction finds you whatever you desired. Enjoy Mike & Ginny

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I flew to Boston to attend the AFC Championship Game and I needed a hotel as close as possible to South Station because I was taking the Silver Line in from Logan and the commuter train to/from the game. Club Quarters is perfectly situated for that purpose, as South Station is within a 5-10 minute walk, with the Government Center T station also very close by. The area was relatively busy for a Sunday afternoon and very quiet on Sunday night, but it's not dangerous in the least, mostly because it's not really a tourist heavy area to begin with.

If you need more than location, however, it might not fit the bill as well. This is not to say that there are lots of problems, just that it's not a luxury hotel. On the plus side, check-in and check-out were as smooth as could be. The hotel has computer kiosks for this task, and as a person who would usually rather do such things myself if given the option, I thought they worked well. (I've certainly never checked in or out of a hotel as quickly as I did here.) I arrived a few minutes before the 3:00 check-in time and a room was ready to go without any hassles. The club room provided the as-promised free coffee, even at midnight when I returned from the game, and there appeared to be tea/latte options as well. Service was efficient and courteous, though I didn't exactly test it out with any special requests.

I booked the cheapest room available and got a not very big room (rough estimation of no more than 300 square feet) on the eighth floor with two twin beds. Though cozy, it was immaculately clean, and the shower (no bathtub) had a vertically adjustable head (always a plus for this 6'4" traveler) and plenty of hot water. The flat-screen TV had a small screen, but it was sized appropriately for the room and swiveled out from the wall for positioning at any angle.

Now for the complaint, and it was a big one for me: the rooms were not sound-proofed nearly well enough. I had an 8:00 a.m. flight and needed to leave at around 6:15 to get to Logan. As I didn't even return from the game until midnight, sleep was at a premium, and because of the noise I didn't get very much of it. The door to my room was situated at a 45 degree angle with the door to the adjoining room also at a 45 degree angle, meaning that the two doors met at the tip of a triangle. Whomever had the room next to mine came and went at least two or three times in the six hours I was in my room and I heard the door open and close loudly every single time. I also heard conversations that this person had in the room in addition to conversations being held by people walking down the hall. Further complicating sleep, the door frame to my room let in more light from the hall than I would've preferred, especially considering the fact that one of the beds was maybe five feet from the door.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, but the noise issue was unfortunate. (It's possible I was just unlucky to have noisy people next door.) My rate was a great bargain for its location and amenities, and everything worked as advertised. If you want or need to be smack in the middle of downtown Boston, you could certainly do worse; just hope you don't have loud people in the adjacent room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New York
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is a good choice if you are looking for a location that provides and easy walk to Fanuel Hall Quincy Market/ The north End and waterfront.

The rooms are well kept and they provide water which is nice.
Staff were friendly and helpful during our visit

I would stay here again,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Quarters Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Boston

Address: 161 Devonshire Street, Between Milk & Franklin Streets, Boston, MA 02110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Boston
#52 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#53 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Quarters Boston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service club-like hotel with 178 rooms located in the heart of downtown near Faneuil Hall, North End, Freedom Trail, Quincy Market and Post Office Square and a short walk from fine dining, shopping and entertainment. Club Quarter is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. Club Quarters provide:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 50 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Club Quarters Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Boston Hotel Boston
Hotel Quarters Boston
Club Quarters Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Quarters Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.