We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worn but clean & spacious, friendly staff, i'd stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Hotel Buckminster to your Saves list
Boston Hotel Buckminster
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SAVE BIG WITH PROMO CODE
Ranked #65 of 82 Hotels in Boston
United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“worn but clean & spacious, friendly staff, i'd stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

the room was huge. 2 bedrooms! on the old/worn side (the paint, furnishings, etc.) and the ceiling seemed like a converted office building? a bit odd.

but the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the staff was extremely friendly. central air conditioning system worked well. big windows, lots of light. located right by the T (metro). wifi worked ok, but went out periodically. had to keep turning it off & re-connecting.

a bit pricey, but so is all of boston. i was happy enough for 1 night. would return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    402
    168
    71
    73
See reviews for
201
302
67
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sunland/tujunga
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Buckminster is quirky, yes. The hallways are confusing, yes. But, oh my god! What fun the Buckminster is! One never knows how much storage will be available in a unit but what does it matter? The Buckminster is located right next to Fenway Park! And the restaurant UNO is beyond compare. I have always loved and appreciated the staff: simply the best! And the new cafe is perfect! I don't know why anyone would want to stay anywhere else. Sad thing is, my daughter has graduated from Berklee College of Music and I may not be returning to Boston any time soon. But when I was there in May for the graduation, I vowed to return and do more of the touristy things. I love Boston (during certain months) and I love the Buckminster all the time.

Room Tip: You might find it fun to ask for a room that overlooks Fenway Park. That is so cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

we loved this hotel. perfect for our stay. reasonable price considering location & quality. very clean & neat. staff friendly. room was small (compared to the big chain hotels) but cozy & comfy. plus we were barely in the room & we were only 2 without much baggage. our stay was quiet. tv in room with cable. they gave us $5 (ithink this was the amount) voucher for breakfast. i do not recommend having breakfast there. we went to BU dining hall across the street for $9 per person, with unlimited servings, so this was a much better deal. hotel is across ovepass from red sox stadium, close to T station, its on BU campus. theres a 7-11 across street for any needed incidentals. i highly recommend. i booked thru hotels.com.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peki'in, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have stayed at the Buckminster over the last two years. The hotel is definitely improving - breakfast no longer is served in a Chinese restaurant, and the common areas of the hotel are being refurbished. The two-room suites we have stayed in both times are distinctly 'tired' - old, unmatched furniture, threadbare carpets - but it is always clean, cool in the summer and surprisingly quiet. By Boston standards the pricing is reasonable, reflecting the 2-3* nature of the hotel fabric. Very convenient for baseball fans, obviously.

The front desk staff are always helpful and pleasant - this year Ishmael went out of his way to assist us - thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The 2 bed-room suite was a great value, very clean and had great views. It was just across the road from Fenway Park, which was the main reason for our trip to Boston, but it was also located to lots of other restaurants and taverns. The only negative thing I had was the parking, expensive and very tight parking for SUV's, but other than that, it was great.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suite is a great value for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for a Red Sox game a few nights ago. We needed a room last minute and Josh set us up and was very informative and accommodating. We arrived and Elena greeted us warmly and even called our room to make sure that the room was to our liking. The room was IMMACULATE and was quite cozy in the newly renovated end of the hotel. The restaurant was also tasty (great wings). We have stayed at many hotels in the area and all over the world and the service at this hotel was truly top notch. Fenway exit was a nice touch too! Will come back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here for 4nights and really enjoyed boston as a place to visit.. The staff were super friendly always greeting you as u came in and even the bar next door had really friendly staff aswell..we found our room to be dated (which we didnt mind as we got a get price for it) but really small, pretty much everytime we had to open our suitcase we had to throw them up onto the bed as there was no space to do so in the bedroom..the location of the hotel was great you could easily stroll into town through the boston common, or there is also a subway stop one block from the hotel which was awesome when we went to td gardens..fenway park is right behind the hotel which was cool aswell however it does get packed around the hotel on a ball day..there is a bike shop 3 blocks down that you can hire bikes out for a day rate which is awesome you can get around and see everything quick and easy like havard and downtown boston...for the price you pay at the buckminster you cant really complain as it is a affordable option for the great location

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 82 in Boston
3.5 of 5 stars 1,644 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn Boston Back Bay / Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#48 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#43 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Chandler Inn
#56 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Hotel Buckminster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.