We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Euro style across from Fenway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Save Saved
You added Boston Hotel Buckminster to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boston Hotel Buckminster
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 77 hotels in Boston
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Euro style across from Fenway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I actually really enjoyed my stay here. It's a euro style hotel in Boston, and it's literally across the street from Fenway, which I didn't care about but thought was pretty cool. The rooms were a little old but I thought nice enough, and the food selection in this neighborhood were amazing. In a city you will pay for parking, so not surprised there, and the lot attendant was very nice. The front desk staff were also very nice and helped me out when I asked for bandaids and a speedy checkout.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    315
    127
    55
    67
See reviews for
145
240
56
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, NH
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My daughter was to attend a concert at the House of Blues. I needed a place close by. This place was perfect. I was worried because it was inexpensive and I have stayed serveral hotels in the city before and outside the airport. I was surprised. It was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The location is perfect. The green line is just across the street. It sits on the corner of Brookline and Commonwealth. 3/10 ths of a mile from Fenway and the house of blues. The staff was pleasant and very kind and helpful. The 2 bedroom suite I had was affordable and to be honest nicer that the Park Plaza and the Hyatt. Very quiet. Loved it will stay here again. The beds were so comfy I didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suites very big. 2 bedrooms and a living room area. great place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is located in 'Kenmore Square', it's right in the center of everything. I stayed for three days since I was in town to attend an event. Many other people I knew stayed at other hotels, none of us were familiar with the area. I paid $79 on a friday night, and $89 for the next two days, since they were weekend days. I got a huge room! It was actually a double room. One room with one bed and another with two beds. I couldn't believe, as I was the only traveler. The room had a table,chairs, a microwave, mini fridge, two tvs, and this was the 'standard' room. If you're looking for places to eat, don't worry, you're surrounded by everything, and it's also right next to the Kenmore train stop on the green line. Which means that for 2 bucks you can get to South station bus terminal if needed. Everyone was pretty friendly. I couldn't believe how nice the place was and how affordable it was. It's a shame I went when it was freezing cold so I didn't get to visit many sites, but I do plan to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and I've to say that this hotel, for the budget, is perfect. The hotel is not exactly in downtown, but its 1 min away from the green line T stop "kenmore" which is a 10 min journey from downtown. The area is also lively with a lot of stores, fastfood, and cafes directly infront of the hotel and its 5-7 min walk from Newbury street which is one of the most beautiful streets in boston.
I arrived at the hotel early (11am) and although the official checkin is at 3pm, the guy at the reception was very helpful and gave me a room right away. He was so helpful that he even changed the room for a better one without me asking. In addition, in all my other encounters with the staff members, they were all very nice and helpful.
The room itself is big and the bathroom is huge. The room had a king bed, desk, large LCD TV (didn't use it), microwave, and a fridge. The room was very clean and the heater worked exceptionally well. The bathroom is also very clean and the shower worked perfectly with perfect hot water. The breakfast was a nice continental breakfast with fresh juice, waffles, fruits, pasteries and coffee.
The only negative points in the hotel that prevented me from giving it 5 stars are: the wifi and the outside noise. The wifi is only free for the first 1 hr, then you've to pay for it which is so inconvinient. Regarding the street noise, my room was on the third floor and it felt as if I'm in the street hearing even the conversation between people. It is so bad, that if you are a light sleeper (Luckily I'm not), I've to say with complete confidence that you'll never be able to sleep for 1 min.
Again for me this hotel, for what I paid for, is perfect with a nice room & in a nice area, but again if you are a light sleeper don't stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have stayed at the Buckminster twice, and plan to be back there in May when our oldest graduates BU. Although it is true that the hotel is a bit dated, and the rooms are on the cramped side, they have always been clean and you can't beat the price for the location. I would like if they had blackout shades though, it would also muffle some of the outside noise. We've checked around and although the Hotel Commonwealth looks like heaven, I can't justify spending more than twice what the Buckminster charges to basically sleep, shower and change clothes. I am sorry to hear about breakfast being discontinued. I would bring down my own gluten free bread and use their spreads, yogurts and fruits as well as coffee. Hopefully the new restaurant will be open for breakfast.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a companion, and staying for a few days, you may want to consider booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We travelled from New York having been around the world;New Zealand, America & on way to Canada. The hotel was easy to find with a sat nav and although we turned up late, the receptionist was very welcoming. The rooms were very clean and traditionally furnished in a tasteful comfortable style & the facilities were just what we required after a tiring trip- ensuite ect. This hotel has been very grand at some time and the old character is still there, but some of the decor in some rooms is a bit dated, however, very clean & tidy. The staff were very friendly and gave brilliant advice on places to visit....The breakfast the next day was wholesome and healthy, there was plenty of choices beginning with fruits, yogurts, muesli, home baked muffins, pastries, toast,jams and cereal. We were treated like 'special' guests and made to feel very welcome.I would recommend this hotelto anyone. we had two rooms- two young adults with parents. Great value for money and ideally situated next to the famous Red Sox stadium and on the tube line for visits to the must see and do the Heritage trail,on return to England, I had to share this wonderful experience with everyone else!!! fantastic value for money!!!

Room Tip: we had no problem with our rooms, our sons room was smaller but both had ensuites, theirs had a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here on New Years eve since it is literally around the corner from where I was headed for the evening (House of Blues). The hotel itself is a little dated. Rooms are smaller than normally expected, but clean. TV is small, but who cares, I'm here to enjoy the city, not watch TV. Bathroom tub drained VERY slowly (I thought it was plugged, but after about 20 minutes it fully drained). The bed was comfortable, sheets were clean. You have to pay for parking, but for the location and convenience of not driving on New Years Eve, it was worth it. Hotel is located down the street from the Kenmore Square T stop on the green line.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 77 hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Hotel Buckminster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;