We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Save Saved
You added Boston Hotel Buckminster to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boston Hotel Buckminster
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Kannur
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a week recently. Check in staff was very cooperative and helpful. Good location and close to a train station and public park. The items available for breakfast are excellent and available in sufficient quantities. Room was clean and well furnished. If I come to Boston, I will stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    321
    129
    56
    68
See reviews for
149
245
57
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Buckminister to attend a concert at the House of Blues (5 minute walk). The room was clean and bedding very nice. The continental breakfast had a wide variety of food to chose from (cereal, waffles, danish, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee). The staff was friendly and accomodating. The room furnishings were outdated and TV's the old tube style and small. However, the TVs and outdated decor were not factors for us since we only really cared about a clean and quiet room. Also, the parking seemed secure ($28 additional). The "T" subway green line stop (Kenmore square) was only a 2 minute walk). Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Staying in Boston can be expensive. This hotel is just outside the core of the city but right beside a t stop so don't rule it out. Breakfast was included which was great. Room was clean. Bed and shower. All we needed. We were out all day. It is right beside Fenway park and area around seems safe.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for two nights for work. Its right next to Fenway Park and it the neighborhood surrounding it was nice and safe. It was an easy 15 minute walk into downtown. But although the hotel looked nice on the outside, inside the room was old and could use some updating. While the room was definitely a nice big size, it had an ancient TV and a tiny bathroom. The free continental breakfast was pretty weak even for a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We chose the Buckminster because we wanted a reasonably-priced hotel within walking distance of the Museum of Fine Arts. I had asked for a quiet room and was delighted when we were given a suite on the sixth (top) floor. Despite the Mass Turnpike nearby we were not bothered with noise. The whole floor was freshly painted and carpeted, as was our room. The old furniture has been thoroughly cleaned and polished, which gave a period charm to the place. The mattresses were very comfortable, the bed linens of very high quality, and the toiletries delightful. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. This place is a good alternative to the very expensive Copley Square hotels just one stop down on the "T".

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matsuyama, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

While searching for reasonably priced hotels in Boston, we found this one to stay at during the second half of our New England vacation. During the first half of our visit, we stayed at the Fairmont Battery Wharf, which is quite deluxe. We wanted to save a little money when we came back to Boston from Bar Harbor, Maine, so we choose the Buckminster, which was very reasonably priced. We weren't expecting much, but were pleasantly surprised with our room, the staff, and the hotel in general. Our room was freshly painted, spacious enough, closet and furniture, nice bathroom, comfortable beds, and quiet. What more could a traveller ask for? The hallways were also freshly painted and carpeted, making for a good vibe. The people at the front desk were extremely helpful and curtious, despite being quite swamped with guests, they never showed any sign of impatience. The only thing we didn't particularly like was the room were the complementary buffet-style breakfast was served. It's pretty "bare bones" student cafeteria style furnishings, and a little dank. Still, for the price, I can't complain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed at the buckminster in a 2 bed 1 bath room... Sheets were very clean and I had a good view out he window... I enjoyed the quck access to the T... Loved the continental breakfast andthe clean rooms

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Hotel Buckminster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.