We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Hotel Buckminster to your Saves list
Boston Hotel Buckminster
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SAVE BIG WITH PROMO CODE
Ranked #64 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Rutland, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My daughter and I went to Fenway for her Birthday on Sept. 23rd. We had an awesome time. After the game and tribute to Johnny Pesky, we went back to our hotel "Boston Hotel Buckminster" when we were checking in, the girl told us we were upgraded to a king bed room. When we got into the room, we opened the blinds to find that our room was facing Fenway Park. It was so cool. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    354
    141
    64
    68
See reviews for
166
264
62
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

OK, my room was pretty small (reminded me of a New York City sized hotel room), but it was clean and had a comfortable bed and a hot shower. Can't beat the location if you need to spend the night near Fenway. Also, if you have a kid who is a student at Boston University, this hotel is PERFECT...right in the middle of campus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This old building has been renovated to a high standard. Nice comfortable bed, everything clean. TV, small refrigerator and a microwave in the room. Good continental breakfast. A bit pricey for what you get but this is Boston and so its pricing reflects this market. Those are the ups. Some downs. Our room was noisy. The heat pumps for the building's air-conditioning were right outside our room and if you are a light sleeper you are going to hear them. They run 24/7. We tried to move but three Red Sox games and the hotel was full so no luck. The refrigerator is inside a particle board cabinet and it ran for five minutes out of every eight with the attendant vibration. Fixed that by turning it off. Cold drinks machine in the lobby but no coffee/tea facilities either in room or in the lobby.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 320.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

An old, nicely maintained, comfortable, big-city hotel with character. The bed was very comfortable, room light, nice sized, and windows opened. A few scuff marks here and there. Slow, small elevator. We were upgraded to a king and wi-fi was free. Staff was very courteous, helpful. Breakfast with good coffee next door in the sushi restaurant was acceptable, too. Walking distance to Fenway Park, Lansdowne street pubs, Eastern Standard restaurant, fast food, and public transit. Across from Boston University, lots of students, very bustling middle class environment. It's not so close to the harbor/wharf historic area, or Copley Square, both more characteristically historic Boston locations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in The Buckminster 8th & 9th Sept. Hotel much better than some of the reviews. We were upgraded free of charge to a king suite, large bedroom area with large flat screen tv, microwave, frigde, extremely comfortable large bed. View of Fenway stadium perfect if ur a Red Sox fan. Adequate complementary breakfast served in the sushi restaraunt attached. If I had to complain about anything it would be the hall way leading to our room smelt a little musty, but this is one of the oldest hotels in Boston & it would not stop me from staying again. The reception staff were extremely helpful answering any questions we had about the area or recommending places to see, eat etc

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you prefer a sleek, contemporary 4 diamond hotel, you will not be happy at the Hotel Buckminster. It's an older property - historic, really - and somewhat dated and worn. While it was not spotless, I found it to be generally clean;housekeeping was friendly and kept our room in order for the three nights we were there.

My adult son and daughter and I selected the Buck primarily because they offered a two-room suite, the rates seemed reasonable, and the location is good - Kenmore Square, near the T and Fenway Park.

We flew a red-eye from California and arrived at the hotel at 9 AM; not surprisingly, our room was not ready, so we left our luggage and visited Fenway for a tour. We were quite pleased when Kevin on the front desk called to tell us we could check in. We were able to unpack and rest before returning to Fenway for the game.

The Buck has train tracks and the Mass Pike behind and Kenmore Square in front - noisy. Our rooms had doubled pane windows; not sound proof by any means but we had no complaints about the city sounds that filtered through.

The "breakfast" is great, so long as you usually start your day with coffee, juice, fruit and pastries, muffins or bagels. It's an adequate starter, though, and Dunkin Donuts, 7/11 and several other places are nearby if you want more.

The Green Line is right there, or you can walk Comm Ave or Newbury Street to the Pru, Copley Square or Boston Gardens in 20-30 minutes.

Wifi is available for $9 per day.

Everyone we spoke to at the desk was friendly and helpful.

If you can over look a few deficiencies, it's acceptable. I give it a C+ / B- overall, but see it as a good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

It's not a nice new chain hotel. And that's just fine with us. It's a nice old well maintained hotel with a nice dose of history and character. And for $104--we got a pleasant more than adequate room...a great night's sleep...and a more than sufficient breakfast included,served in the adjacent sushi restaurant. I doubt you can beat that anywhere in central Boston... And a great neighborhood right outside the door with two marvelous seafood restaurants a block away or a lovely French Bistro a half block further down Commonwealth. What we saved on the room let us feast on oysters and lobster guiltlessly. The Greenline T stop across the street made for easy access to anywhere we needed including the airport (saving on cabs and paying for a nice wine to accompany the lobster<G>). I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had a pleasant 5th floor room facing an indoor courtyard. No view, but nicely quiet. We used th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Hotel Buckminster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.