We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Colonnade Hotel to your Saves list
Colonnade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730 (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct-Stay and Save
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here for a romantic weekend, it was my birthday. The room was nice, the bathroom was a little small, but not a problem. The concierge was very helpful and booked restaurants for us. They made suggestions that were wonderful. They even alerted the restaurant that it was my birthday. There was a root top pool, but no hot tub. There was a private party going on so the covered cabanas were taken. The hotel provided us with 2 ladies for a couples massage. These ladies were amazing!The hotel isn't far from the Freedom Trail and is close to lots of shopping. There is a parking garage under the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,352
    559
    167
    66
    52
See reviews for
501
652
107
563
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

If I could give a 10 I would!!!!!! The staff, the food, the detail to service just perfect. 2 people from a Baltimore suburb went to see Areosmith. Little did we know that the high lite of our trip would be the Colonnade. The staff from Brian, Danny, Brittney, JP, Kieth, Carlos and everyone else treated us like royalty The rooms were very clean, lots of amenities. The staff went out of our way to make sure we had a ride to the concert after a little issue with a car rental. They just kept stepping up the service each day. This location is a must for anyone who travels to Boston. Hands down the BEST HOTEL IN BOSTON, also the best hotel and service I have ever stayed at in my life.

Room Tip: Become a member of their prefer program. They will upgrade your room at check in if available. Free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a week in January and it was everything I expected for a hotel. The staff very really friendly and willing to help with anything that was needed. I must admit there was one thing I did not enjoy about the room and that was the view. This was because our room was at the back of the hotel and looked on to a car park. The hotel has access to the prudential centre underground just 10 feet from the front door and the prudential centre shopping centre is just across the street which has numerous places to eat and shop. The only other thing is the room service it is a little pricey but it is not as bad as some of the hotels. All in all my first stay in an American City hotel could not have been better.
P.S the door man and concierge always greeted you with a good morning/ good evening and always making sure you were I'm or needed anything. We were also offered a complimentary loan of an umbrella as we got caught in one of the snow storms.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit to the hotel, it was great once again but we would have preferred a room with a king bed rather than 2 queen beds and we missed the duck in the bathroom.
The roof top pool has had a make over and was really busy while we were there.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I picked this hotel on the recommendation from a travel blog about spending 3 days in Boston with kids. The rooftop pool and it's location to T and activities played a major part in my decision. The location was the best feature for sure. The biggest downside was the noise level. On Sat. night, people ran up and down the hallways until all hours of the night laughing, yelling and slamming doors. We could totally hear the people in the room next to us arguing and cursing. I wanted to wake up the next day and leave the hotel but we had planned a whole day of activities and wanted to get out to see the sights. When we got back, the hotel was quieter and we were too tired from our busy day and lack of sleep to pack up and move to a new hotel so we decided to see how the second night went. The next 3 nights were much quieter and the kids enjoyed jumping in the pool at the end of the day. It was disappointing when they closed the pool to a private party on a Tuesday. We picked a place with a pool for a reason... to be able to use it. I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel specifically for its roof top pool. Both times during two different employee shifts, we were completely ignored by the waitresses. The first time we sat at a table for about fifteen minutes trying to flag down one of the waitresses who completely ignored us yet had enough time to fix their hair and flirt with the lifeguards and bar tenders. We were hungry so we eventually moved to the bar where Jose and his bar mates took care of us right away... They were awesome. His drinks were delicious and they all had a great sense of humor. When it came time for Jose to give our food ticket to one of the waitresses, she said, right in front of us, "there's nothing more I would like to do." in a super sarcastic tone, then proceeded to stand there twirling her hair and complaining about her job while holding our food ticket.

The second time we visited the pool area was later that evening after a shift change. We took two lounge chairs, front and center, yet we waited literally 23 minutes, I timed it this time around. Finally I saw a waitress once again flirting with the lifeguard so I walked up to her and asked her for a menu, she seemed pissed off at me. We eventually got our drinks but I'm not really into being ignored when I just paid $500 for a room. I will probably not stay here again and it's a shame because the front desk staff, the bartenders and the location are awesome. It's too bad, I stay at a lot of hotels for work and have never felt the need to write a negative review.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great location opposite the Prudential centre and Newbury Street shopping area. Attentive helpful staff. Nice powerful shower and fridge available. Spacious room with two double beds to fit the family. Swimming pool on rooftop looked great but was packed full with what looked like a private party so we didn't use. Main con was charge for wi-fi (although by joining their loyalty programme this was given free)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonnade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.