We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You for making my FIRST visit to Boston a Great One!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Colonnade Hotel to your Saves list
Colonnade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730 (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct-Stay and Save
Ranked #17 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Thank You for making my FIRST visit to Boston a Great One!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Wonderful experience. I stayed here for 4 nights for PCMA Conference. After attending the conference day in and day out, I was glad to retreat to my cozy room without the hustle and bustle that was going on at the Marriott and Sheraton Hotels (also host hotels for PCMA Conference). I absolutely loved the comfortable bed with luxury linens and most of all, the amazing SHOWERHEAD!! Everyone from the Doormen to Front Desk to Housekeeping and Room Service were fabulous. They all went out their way to make me feel welcomed. Thanks for making my first trip to Boston a memorable one!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Bianca C,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. We’re so happy you found our hotel to be a quiet retreat from the conference. Thank you for your compliments about our team. We take great pride in the level of service we are able to provide. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,299
    518
    163
    63
    49
See reviews for
478
625
105
530
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Flying from the UK I booked to stay at The Colonnade from the 16th-19th December 2013. It's possibly the nicest hotel i have ever stayed in (and i've done some travelling). The staff were helpful and pleasant and we also got upgraded due to a special occasion we were celebrating when i asked if it was possible (My partners 30th Birthday).

The room we had was immaculately clean, spacious and the bed was unbelievably comfortable and the bathroom was sparkling clean and not to mention the breath taking views from the floor to ceiling windows. After long days of exploring Boston, it was a pleasure to return to our room.
Everything we wanted to see was an easy walk away, a short subway journey (a subway stop is about 50feet away from the hotel). We even enjoyed a trip into Salem.

Unfortunately we had to battle with a lot of snow whilst we were there so exploring could be difficult, but that's only made us want to return back to the beautiful city to see more! and one thing is for certain we will definitely be booking at The Colonnade again. Thank you for such a pleasant, enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear KatieMFletcher,

I truly appreciate the positive feedback and am thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m happy your time in Boston was extra special for your partners Birthday. Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We Stayed here for 5 nights from the 3rd Jan. The hotel was very clean the rooms were modern and large and most importantly the bed was very comfy. Lets not forget the amazing view over snow covered Boston from the large windons in our room.
The staff were very polite and helpful at all times during our stay.
This hotel is in a great location for shopping and has a tube station directly across the road.
The weather was extremely cold during our visit but given the location of the hotel we were never out in the cold for very long and it was always lovely to return to the lovely warm hotel after a day or evening out.
They also let us keep our room until 2pm on our last day free of charge as our flight was not until late afternoon.
We will definitely return and recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Debbie S,

We cannot thank you enough for your wonderful review! I truly appreciate the positive feedback and am thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Please come back visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We recently stayed while we were helping our daughter move. We chose Colonnade for its location and price. We were very pleased with the helpfulness of every staff member we encountered. The concierge offered good advice for transportation from the airport since we had multiple pieces of luggage. The rooms are a nice size for a boutique hotel. The beds/pillows are extremely comfortable and the shower head was amazing. The "T" stop is right out front. There is shopping right across the street at the Prudential Center or a short walk to Newbury St. We plan on returning to the Colonnade whenever we return to Boston to visit our daughter.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear SallyLB83,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Thank you for your compliments about our Concierge team. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Perfect location helpful & friendly (professional) staff large rooms add up to a great Boston stay and we only live 45 mins south of the city. Pet friendly is a big plus as well with a great park around the corner to run the dogs around and socialize.
We stay here a few times a year for a city getaway and are never disappointed.
Lovely breakfasts as well.
I should only have deducted 1/2 star if possible as some of the room appointments could use a little touch up. In general however they are clean modern and roomy

Room Tip: High up is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear caryn1958,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. The Colonnade Hotel is perfect for a weekend getaway for anyone living in the suburban area. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed at the Colonnade for five nights whilst at a conference. The conference was held at the Marriott Copley Place, a 2 minute walk away, but the Colonnade was not as expensive, whilst being of the same standard and offering some peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the conference.

My double room on the 9th floor had a king sized bed and six very comfy pillows to disappear into, and there was a table and chairs, which was an unexpected surprise. There was a big flatscreen tv, coffee maker and plenty of floor space.The bathroom was well stocked and the shower was powerful. It was also a nice touch for a newspaper to be left outside the door on weekdays.

The staff were all very pleasant and if I'd been there in the spring/summer I would have checked out the rooftop pool. As mentioned, the Colonnade is just a hop away from the Marriot Copley Place, Copley Plaza mall, Prudential Center mall and Shaw's supermarket, and is directly opposite The Cheesecake Factory. It also has a subway stop right outside, and it's a leisurely stroll across to Boston Common. On a day of sightseeing after the conference, we walked to the Common, then followed the Freedom Trail over into central Boston and across to Bunker Hill, then hopped on the subway over to Harvard before heading back.

The only downsides would be that the main light in the room was quite dim, meaning that you had to put on the desk lamp, bedside lamps and reading lamps to get enough light in the evening. My room was also next to the lift, so I could hear people coming back late at night, as well as the lift music drifting in. I also disliked having to pay for the expensive wifi (around $15/day if I remember, but I bought a 3 day pass for $39, I think it was), which I feel should be included as it is in European hotels, but I know that most American hotels charge for this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift/elevator unless you want to hear wisps of music, and people coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Madeleine M ,

Thank you for your feedback. I’m thrilled you enjoyed all of the amenities we have to offer. I’m happy our staff was so accommodating and you were able to enjoy some peace and quiet after your conference. We do have a number of options for free wireless internet. Please reach out to me at your earliest convenience to have your profile updated. Thank you. bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was a last minute trip for New Year and we were very pleased with the stay. The hotel is in a good location with easy access to the 'T' subway and for both Copley Plaza shopping and the Prudential shopping mall. The room was of a good size and well equipped with a coffee machine, safe and dvd player. Bathroom was of a reasonable size and was also very clean like the main room. All of the staff were excellent, in particular all of those working the concierge desk who gave great advice including restaurants in the local area. Easy access to Newbury street shopping also makes this a great location. Initially wi-fi access was not included but this was rectified after arrival. The bar was good, if not a little quiet in the evening but again had good service from the employees. Would recommend for families and couples alike.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Wellssimon,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Our location certainly cannot be beat when exploring our great city. Thank you for your compliments about our Concierge team and our restaurant. We take great pride in the level of service we are able to provide. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonnade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.