We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Colonnade Hotel to your Saves list
Colonnade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730 (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct-Stay and Save
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was a nice hotel, not amazing, but clean, comfortable, decent location. Nice diner for breakfast just a block from the hotel, recommendation from concierge. Easy walk to Copley Square and Library. Shopping right across the street. Most of the restaurants in this area are chains. It is worth looking for something local! We were put in a handicapped accessible room, which was fine, but the shower was very hard to operate. Had to pay extra for internet access, which should have been included.

Room Tip: Our window opened to another building, which didn't offer much privacy and not much light, stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear JCogh

Thank you for your kind words about our location. I apologize your guest room was less than you had expected. Please reach out to me directly so I can note your profile for future reservations.

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    507
    160
    63
    49
See reviews for
471
613
103
518
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Another excellent stay at the colonnade. Just can't fault it - great location, spacious rooms, amazing beds, lovely food and excellent staff. Particular mention to Nuala Creedon who made our stay even more enjoyable
I've stayed in many hotels in Boston and this is by far the best - I'd highly recommend it

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear trekkerDublin

Thank you so much for your review. Nuala is a valued member of our management team and a big part of our success. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Colonnade Hotel!

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This had been a good hotel. But problems are appearing - and travelers will want to consider:

1) The air temperature had no means of control. The only option was to turn off the heat - which did not reduce the overheat/stuffiness - so windows had to be opened (which result in issues of outside noise).

2) As other tripadvisors have noted, the beds sit on frames with sharp corners - which are dangerous.

3) In the tub, the drain runs slowly - so that when using the shower, the tub fills with water.

The hotel is well-located - but travelers should consider the problems.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear triptraveller,

I apologize that you experienced so many opportunities during your recent stay with us. Please contact me directly as I would love to talk further on correcting these issues. I look forward to hearing from you

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights as part of a shopping bus tour package. Likely could not have afforded to stay here otherwise. Very luxurious room with a fantastic view. Loved the wall-to-wall, floor-to-ceiling windows in the room. Beds were incredibly comfortable.
The only concern I had was that when we arrived there was a half empty bottle of spring water left in behind in our room on the table. Not sure if it belonged to the cleaning staff or a previous guest. Either way it shouldn't have been there because it meant someone wasn't doing their job. Also we weren't left enough bath towels on the second day (and there were only two of us in the room).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear SandySue123,

Thank you for your review. I’m thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly do have the most comfortable beds. I’m glad you enjoyed the amazing view from your guest room. I do apologize for the discovery in your room upon arrival, that’s certainly not in line with the standards we have in place and corrective action has already been taken. Thank you for the oppurtunity to address this. Please come back and visit us again!

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I attended a conference at Boston Convenetion and Exhibition Center. Fortunately we had shuttles to BCEC but the Prudentail T- stop is right outside the hotel front door. You could not have a better location for shopping, sight-seeing, and eating. I was most impressed by the courteous and accommodating nature of all of the staff, including those at the restaurant. The room was spacious and comfortable and I enjoyed the k-cup coffee maker every morning before venturing out into the chilly weather. Fortunately I did not need the room internet (I had my own MIFi) and only used the tiny business center to print my boarding pass. These two items kept me from giving the property the highest rating. Overall I enjoyed my 5 night stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear DAA6302

Thank you for your comments. I appreciate the compliments regarding our staff, we’re fortunate to have a strong team whose focus is on our guests at all times. Please come back and see us again!

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I brought my Niece here for a special birthday getaway. Our room was great and the staff very friendly/helpful. Our only issue was the staff had offered to have something send up for her birthday but instead of that we received champagne and chocolate covered strawberries meant for someone else's anniversary. The set up included a card for the happy couple. We called down to the desk and let them know of the error...they came and took away the mistaken items but never did acknowledge her 16th birthday on our end. Which didn't distract from our trip or our enjoyment of the weekend but was disappointing. Over all a great trip...comfortable modern room in a good locale near the Prudential Center, Newbury street and right by a MBTA stop for easy access to the city. We would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Rachael611,

Thank you for your review. I’m happy you and your Niece enjoyed your stay at the Colonnade Hotel. However, I am deeply sorry to hear that we missed the opportunity to surprise your Niece and make her stay even more memorable. I can assure you that consistency in service is very important to us. I appreciate your comments and I will use this as a learning experience for our team here at the Colonnade Hotel.

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

attended convention here, although away from Boston's convention and exhibition center (not easily walkable) this hotel is close to restaurants, shopping and a 24 hour grocery (Shaws); it is at a greenline T-stop (Prudential) so convenient access to government center/Fanueil Hall area. Friendly staff. Only had b-fast at restaurant but it was tasty; left coffee pots at the table. Room nicely appointed; equipped with k-cup coffee maker and barware including wine glasses and cork screw (grocery sells wine). Hotel charges $14 a day for in room Internet access which is ridiculous (low end hotels offer it for free). Business center small; charges for use, even basic computer use.

Room Tip: 10th floor front facing has nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Amdtraveler ,

Thank you for your feedback. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed our location and everything was perfect in your guest room! We have plenty of free internet options for our guests to take advantage of. Please reach out to me directly to have your profile updated for any future reservations.

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Family Hotel in Boston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonnade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.