We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay overall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Colonnade Hotel to your Saves list
Colonnade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast and Parking
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Albany, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay overall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great room, food and service. The location is ideal, right across from the Prudential center and Copley Square Mall and Shaw's, which has great food. Only one minor problem and that was that the TV remote didnt work well, and it took 2 days for them to figure out why.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear ProfessorDan5 ,

Thank you for your review. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our location and our team provided great service. I do apologize for the missed opportunity with your T.V remote. That experience does not reflect the standards we have in place here at the Colonnade Hotel. I appreciate your feedback and will use that as a learning opportunity for our team.

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,193
    492
    159
    64
    49
See reviews for
454
590
101
481
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at The Colonnade for a couple days, prior to collecting a hire car and heading north to experience The Fall. It was a good choice. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful - I fact nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel is also well situated if you want to shop - Newbury Street is only a few hundred yards away and has an incredible range outlets, from the well know high street brands to small independent shops. Plenty of choice too when lunch calls.
Back to the hotel - the breakfasts are awesome. The bowl full of yogurt, granola and fresh fruit was as good as I've had previously. And the American fried breakfast takes some beating.
I've no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms to the front of the hotel may be affected by traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Martin M,

It was a pleasure to read your review. I’m glad you found our location to be just what you were looking for. I appreciate the compliments of our team, our staff is always here to assist in any way possible. Please come back and visit us again!

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Nothing but great things to say about our stay at The Colonnade. The team there were outstanding - particularly Kevin the night manager who was very accomodating when we finally arrived around 1am in the morning!

The room was outstanding and the birthday card and treat from the team was an unexpected delight!

The location is great right opposite The Prudential Center and with the Old Town Trolley stopping right outside.

We checked out this morning at 8am and I wish we had grabbed the name of the bellhop because he was such a great guy and really personified what your hotel is about.

We absolutely loved our stay in Boston and The Colonnade was a big part of this.

It's a long way from New Zealand but we'll be back!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Shaun C,

It was a pleasure to read your wonderful review. Thank you for the compliments of our staff, the team makes every effort to accommodate our guest in any way possible. Please come back and visit us again.

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel, as many say, is a very good base for sight seeing. The trolley tour stops outside, although on the first day when you need to buy tickets its easiest to do the short walk up to the Marriotts lobby area and buy them there. You can then board the trolley there.
After reading previous reviews we asked for a room that wasnt interconnected. The only one available had 2 queen beds rather than the king we requested, but that was ok. We were on the 9th floor, round the side of the hotel. It was nice that the floor to ceiling windows had a section that opened to let fresh air in.
The beds were very comfortable, and the room was fine, but nothing special.
The only thing I really didnt like was the fact you could sit on the toilet and have a face 2 face conversation with anyone sitting on the bed....and this is with the toilet doors shut!!
We have been married a long time but some things dont need to be shared. I used to make my husband go up the other end of the room when I used the loo. Why the room was planned this way I dont know, but at least get doors that shut without a massive gap.
Thorntons down the road was good for breakfast, and of course for us Brits who love the Cheesecake Factory the fact that one was opposite the hotel was great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear mrsthfc,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to read you liked our location and the room you received. However, we regret you were not happy with the setup of the bathroom. All of our rooms are equipped with heavy, insulate, bathroom doors to protect the privacy of our guests. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel looks great from a far but up close this hotel needs some up keep. My room was nice but the paint is peeling, curtains are dirty, coffee table dinged up and everything just looks a little worn out. Hard to believe that they did reno's recently. The service was nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Berly,


Thank you so much for your feedback. I’m thankful that you found our service to be friendly. I apologize that you found your guest room to be less than perfect. Although we never want to read that a guest's stay was less than perfect, your feedback gives us valuable learning opportunities and helps us make necessary improvements to our service. I would like to discuss your stay in further detail so please reach out to me at the address below.

Thank you.

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

The colonnade is at a great location - walking distance to most attractions and lots of shopping in the area. We found the rooms okay and were comfortable during our stay, but the hotel could use some updating and could have been cleaner. The table was dusty and had crumbs on it and there was sticky residue on the dresser. All hotels in the area seem pretty pricey and are likely similar. For the price we paid I would have expected a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Travel_hunter5,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and apologize for the opportunities you encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive or negative, to ensure we provide the best level of service to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Colonnade to attend the Red Sox - Tigers playoff game. The location was perfect. It was an easy walk to & from the park. The room was lovely, with great views and floor to ceiling windows. Parking was on site, and easy to deal with. A great choice if attending a night game!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Connecticutwanders

Thank you for taking the time to review the Colonnade Hotel. Our Location is perfect for enjoying a Red Sox game and getting to Fenway Park. You’re so lucky to have been part of that memorable series! We look forward to welcoming you back to watch the Red Sox defend their World Series title!

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonnade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.