We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location on the T, comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Colonnade Hotel to your Saves list
Colonnade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast and Parking
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Houston
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very convenient location on the T, comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable, fairly quiet, and has a great location a fews steps from the Prudential T stop, convenient to the Longwood Medical area, museums and Northeastern University. I really like the light system where you could press a button to show "do not disturb" or "ready to be cleaned" on a display outside the door for housekeeping. Also appreciated the coffee maker and creamers very much. The price was good value. The staff were very efficient and friendly, although at check-in I would have appreciated a little more information about the wireless fees and work-out facilities as well as their frequent stay club. My only reason for rating it with four stars rather than five was that there was quite a bit of noise in the hallways, with loud talking, people slamming doors at odd hours, and so on. I suggest joining their frequent stay club; they didn't offer this until I asked on day 2, but it looks like a good deal if you will stay here again, as after a few stays you get additional perks. It's free to join.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    492
    159
    63
    49
See reviews for
456
592
101
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at the Colonnade overnight for a business trip. Excellent location. Good value.

The key for a business trip is to get a good night's sleep so you are ready for the next day's activities. The Colonnade beds were comfortable. Room was clean and quiet for an urban hotel.

Staff was courteous and helpful. Internet was good and was free with some kind of deal I found.

Room and hallway was kind of dark, and the desk chairs were unsteady, but these are very minor comments and would not prevent me from staying there again.

Did not eat there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Me and a friend stayed in this hotel last August and chose it largely due to the rooftop pool. I found the hotel to be brilliant, the rooftop pool was simply the icing on the cake. The rooms were large and spacious with two HUGE double beds and comfortable pillows. The decor was very modern and the iphone dock came in handy. The service was impeccable and I would like to make a special mention to Jerry the concierge guy who was absolutely fantastic on recommending and setting up everything from food places to trips. Sipping cocktails around Bostons only rooftop pool definitely gave us a feeling of exclusivity. The only downside I would say is that the hotel is place a little further than I would have liked to have been from the harbour and other attractions. Other than this, i cannot recommend the place enough. Brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have attended many seminars and conferences and this was one of the best Host Hotel experiences ever. I especially appreciated that the wireless service was free, and the work-out gym was just fine for my needs, the bed was comfortable, the coffee/tea Keurig machine worked perfectly, the meeting rooms were well arranged. Cannot recommend the Colonnade too highly! I stayed there 3 nights. My brother and I shared a room on the 10th floor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great location, the Prudential is right across the street, lots of shopping and entertainment. Nice clean quiet room. I was there for a conference which was very well organized. The concierge was exceptional - he would make a reservation for lunch at either the hotel restaurant or other close-by places, and even preorder your choice of meal so you would be served immediately and you could have a pleasant experience while making it in time for the next session. He was extremely helpful with everything else as well. My only regret is that it was not warm enough to enjoy the roof top pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Colonnade. It's our second visit to the Colonnade and once again we thoroughly enjoyed it. Lovely comfortable clean rooms, friendly staff and in a great location. On both visits we've had a room at the back of the hotel, which we found to be very quiet. As we've not had a room at the front overlooking the main road, I don't know whether it would be noisier. I have to mention the beds they are so comfy.

Room Tip: On both occasions we had a room at the back of the hotel, it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iceland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My family that consists of two adults with two teenagers stayed in this hotel over the Easter, but we were in one room with two queen beds. Even though this room was rather tight because it was probably designed for two persons then we were happy with it and I was particularly pleased with the large bathroom.
If I try to find something to criticized about then I could not see the purpose of the giant cushions that are in the beds and take a lot of space, also I was not fond of office chairs that were round small table as I was in struggled to adjust them, we were four but the chairs were two but I would preferred to have four kitchen chairs. Another thing that is related to the design of the hotel room, it is these floor lamps which I always relate to old fashion, and I do not understand why they no not use lamps in the ceiling (no lights were in the ceiling in the room). Beds are good in the room and everyone slept well. Location of the hotel is great and the staff is exemplary.
In the same building as the hotel is Brasseri Jo and had the family great breakfast there, but since it is expensive (80 dollars for four) it was only done once so we shopped for breakfast next days in the supermarket which is located close to the hotel.
Next time I go to Boston I will not hesitate to stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#11 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonnade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.