We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8 night stay for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Save Saved
You added Colonnade Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 77 hotels in Boston
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“8 night stay for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at the Colonnade for 8 nights on a business trip and while I have to admit choosing it because the Lenox was full, it turned out to be a good stay as it's just around the corner from all the good stuff in Boston - Boylston St, Back Bay, T station etc.
Staff are friendly and helpful, room was a good size, bed very comfortable, and once I had let everyone know about the very noisy air conditioning that got sorted out fine.
Used room service and the laundry guys, all good plus had breakfast in the restaurant a couple of time, no problems, service top quality.
Will go back.

Room Tip: Go high as Huntingdon can be noisy during rush hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,077
    419
    141
    55
    45
See reviews for
407
515
93
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, IL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My family traveled to Boston primarily for a New England Patriots game and to check out the city. This hotel is first class! They really pay attention to detail and have excellent service. There were so many options within walking distance for food & shopping. We look forward to returning to The Colonnade next time we are in Boston.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Beds are great. Usually we are up at 6 and slept both mornings till 9. Centrally located in Back Bay with both the Pru and Copley Square next to it for shopping and restaurants all aorunf. There are 2 T lines, (green and orange) real close so no need to drive.

We did have an issue with a security problem but it was corrected and we were taken care of with kid gloves and not sloughed off.

Restaurant is nice and the drinks, although expensive are delicious and the bar-staff friendly


One complaint is the $38 parking fee but if you stay at any of their closest competitors, you are going to pay that much as well

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I had a great weekend stay at The Colonnade. The entire staff made us feel welcome from the time we checked in until we checked out. The room was terrific and the food at Brasserie Jo was excellent! We will stay at the The Colonnade again when we next visit Boston. The location across from the Pru Center and just down the street from Copley Place couldn't be better.

Room Tip: The Luxe room on the 11th floor was terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I were going into Boston to see Anthony Bourdain and planned to stay the night at the Colonnade. I called and made the reservation easily and quickly. What a nicely done facility! The lobby was cool and welcoming. We checked in, went to our room to change and then headed out to see the show. On the way back, we stopped at Brasserie JO Boston for a nightcap and headed to our room. We had a king-sized bed and a gorgeous view (vs. staring into the windows of a highrise next door). The bed was comfy and the room was just what we needed for an overnight stay. We'll definitely stay at the Colonnade the next time we're staying in town for the night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have stayed at The Colonnade many times. They always welcome me and my family & friends with the highest level of professionalism and friendliness. I will not stay anywhere else when visiting Boston. Every staff member should be commended for the service they offer to their guests. Thank you all for always treating us like "Royalty".

Room Tip: I love the sixth floor. The city lights are beautiful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for writing such a positive review. We want all of our guests to be treated like royalty and we're so glad that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. All of our guest rooms feature floor to ceiling windows (that open) and they offer views of the Prudential Center or South End. We can't wait to weclome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Colonade was our hotel for a short trip to Boston prior to NY. The hotel was easy to find as we drove there, and the parking very convenient, [although a bit pricey as we did not need the car during our stay.] We had 2 rooms linked to cater for the 5 adults. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, free wifi in the lobby, [but charged if used in the room], and good food and drinks available in the Joe's brasserie just off the lobby. Great access to the Old Town Trolley Tours which stops outside the entrance - a great way to see the city if you cannot face walking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We're delighted that you found our hotel to be the ideal base for visiting Boston. We do have a fair number of rooms that adjoin and connect which families continue to comment positively about. As you mentioned, the Old Town Trolley stops directly outside the hotel every half hour and is an excellent way to tour Boston. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's fashionable Back Bay neighborhood, the hotel recently completed a comprehensive $25 million reinvention. With thoughtful, relevant amenities, the redesigned hotel appeals to the discerning business and leisure traveler. All guest rooms were re-engineered to provide a sophisticated, residential feel with state-of-the-art features. Home to the city's only roof top pool and the award-winning Brasserie JO restaurant, The Colonnade is next door to the Prudential Center and Copley mall and within walking distance of Newbury Street, Fenway Park and the Hynes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonnade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.