We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Colonnade Hotel to your Saves list
Colonnade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
You park and We $Pay
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a fantastic time, we were there on our honeymoon so we was changed to a double from a twin which was fantastic i don't know why virgin booked us in a twin, the concierge was fantastic jerry, he welcomed us with a phone call helped us find something to eat and printed us out all the info we need to get to Salam, the room was unbelievable the best in room facility's especially the coffee all in all Fantastic hotel and great staff would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Colonnade Hotel for your honeymoon! We're happy that our concierge was so helpful to you on this special occasion. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your First Anniversary! Please contact us if and when you plan to return to Boston. Once again, congratulations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    475
    155
    62
    49
See reviews for
439
561
97
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for three nights on our first trip to Boston. We found the hotel was well situated for shopping, transport and many visitor attractions.
The room was of a good size and very clean but the wifi charge was very pricey so we popped across to the Prudential Center and used the free wifi there.
The staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and thank you for commenting positively about our superior location and the cleanliness of our guest rooms. Our wi-fi is complimentary in all public spaces, the roof top pool and the restaurant. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have now chose to stay at The Colonnade Hotel three times in the past four months in our visits to Boston. I travel with my six year old Son and though it is a bit more of a swanky hotel, the staff is very accomodating to families and after a not so great second stay, we were invited back for a much better third stay. The rooms are very comfortable and modern, great beds and we have always had great views of the beautiful city. The Rooftop pool is a huge draw in the summertime, but obviously, it is seasonal. We enjoyed very nice breakfasts in Brasserie Joe and the best part is that it is in an excellent location. Within walking distance to Copley Square, the Prudential Tower and Mall is right across the street with plenty of dining options for sit down or fast and convenient options and the Prudential "T" stop is literally right out the front door of the Hotel which is fabulous! Thank you accomodating us in a very nice stay last month-I'm sure we will be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review and for commenting about how accommodating the hotel is to families. We're glad that you visited us again and had a terrific stay. Thank you for mentioning the comfort of the guest rooms, our roof top pool, our location and breakfast in Brasserie Jo. While all of these amenities can contribute to a positive experience, our people make the difference and we're delighted that you experienced the genuine and warm hospitality that we’re known for. We hope to see you again soon… and often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for a total of 3 nights, excellent central location next to a subway station and walkable to shopping outlets. Comfortable room, clean tidy and plenty of luxury. Staff very helpful and assisted us in phone calls and information on the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My family and friends stayed at the Colonnade Hotel this past weekend and it certainly didn't reach expectations. Overall the hotel is in a great location. Close to shopping, fine dining and within walking distance to attractions. The room itself was modern with flat screen television, a number of brushed metal lamps, keurig, full wall of windows and a nice comfortable bed.

Unfortunately there were a number of reasons why I gave the hotel a 3 star rating. First, being a 4 star hotel I believe the hotel should have a plan for whenever issues arise. On the morning we checked out, the hotel had issues with their hot water as well is television and internet. The front desk mentioned they both would be fixed soon, however after waiting a few hours, there wasn't a change in either... so we decided to just pack up and leave. The one issue we had with the room is that we could hear the occupants on both sides of us. TV at night, hair dryer early in the morning and Keurig before we were awake were disturbing occurrences we dealt with. At times we could even hear entire conversations . We did not expect that this would be an issue based on the price we paid for the room. After bringing it up to the front staff, we were told that they would move us to a different room or comp us on our bill, however neither happened. We probably should have been persistent with it, however I wish the front staff would have done more to make sure that our needs were met and that we were satisfied with our experience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We're sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. It was not up to our expectations either and we apologize for the interruption in our services. We did experience a hot water issue and coincidentally and unrelated there was a television malfunction at the exact same time. We can understand how this was an inconvenience in the early morning hours. While our front desk did offer to provide alternate accommodations, our solutions were limited at the time. Through the efforts of our dedicated engineering staff, we were able to resolve both issues in a 2 hour window. Again, we apologize for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vannes
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
397 helpful votes 397 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

While in Boston for à medical convention colonnade was one of the choice proposed by the housing and it was why we were there. Nice choice. Pleasant staff, large room and as we were on the back very quiet. Bathroom are relatively small but cleaned and well equipped.
As of t'en in US we in bathroom...
USA today everything morning.
We do almost all by feet when weather permits...
Price is high when out of the convention' price...

Room Tip: High floor and on the back. Perhaps avoid the 11th when swimming pool is in activity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights of our 10 night honeymoon and can't wait to come back again. Spacious clean rooms with a lovely view of the street the best thing though had to be the staff from the receptionists to the concierge's everyone was friendly, helpful and couldn't do more for us. We would recommend the hotel to everyone and anyone that is considering a stay in this beautful City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Congratulations on your Honeymoon. Thank you so much for selecting The Colonnade Hotel as your home away from home on such a momentous occasion. We're glad you found our staff to be so helpful and thank you for recommending us! We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your first anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonnade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.