We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel in Downtown Boston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Harborside Inn to your Saves list
Harborside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 State St., Boston, MA 02109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel in Downtown Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Harborside is a nice, smaller boutique hotel that is literally a few steps from the Aquarium Subway stop, no need to cab it from the Airport. The rooms are spacious, well appointed, and clean. As others have noted, if you get an interior room, they are very dimly lit and don't get any sunlight, but are really quiet at night. The only thing I would add is that guests would really like milk with the tea/coffee in addition to half and half. When I asked the staff, if they would consider getting milk for the next day, they just shrugged and said no. I thought this was kind of a harsh response.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    445
    94
    45
    39
See reviews for
84
529
74
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Kitchy hotel 1 block from Faneuil Hall's stores, with lots of great restaurants, pubs and shops around..... also across the street from the water. Staff was great. My room was adorable, withe exposed bare brick wall, minimalist accessories. Then, at 8am LOUD hamerjack sound made walls shake. I called to see if it would stop soon, and they stopped for an hour. Drilling in the lobby, construction next door to make a martini bar. Far from relaxing. Too bad, once that bar's done, I would come back!

Room Tip: As for a room at the back of the building. -- quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend in Boston and stayed at the Harborside. It is near all the major downtown attractions so it is an ideal spot for a short trip. The room was comfortable and clean. We were on the 6th floor on the front of the building but there no street noise. The Harborside is somewhat offbeat from the regular chain hotels but we tend to like that feel when we travel. If you are coming into town from the airport it is only two stops on the subway. The entrance to the T is directly across the street from the hotel. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were the lucky ones sailing on a cruiseship just in time for Hurricane Sandy to reroute us from Bermuda :( Because the ship was stuck in Boston (and they weren't sure for how long) we elected to get off there as soon as we were able to book airfare (originally from NY back to FL)
Anyway, while waiting for customs to clear us, I went online and found this hotel on hotels.com. We were very happy with our choice.

The hotel is older (like Boston) but the front desk personnel were top notch, the room was spacious (although it wasn't the cleanest) but all in all we enjoyed our stay. It was in a great location, walking distance to everything, and they had free internet and four computers in their lobby, fresh coffee (and good coffee - and I'm a coffee snob) :) and there was someone at the desk 24/7. They were also very helpful in recommending places to eat, and about taking the T to the airport. The T was right outside their front door, we were at the airport in no time and spent 2.50 each vs the $30 it would have cost by cab. All in all it was a wonderful experience, and we would stay there again (hopefully under better circumstances!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment of the Lobby area, although this appeared to not cause any issues over the 2 days I was there. The hotel, although comfortable and reasonably spacious, 'feels' like it is not sure whether it is trying to be a business focused hotel or 'boutique' style hotel. Bed was basically clean, however, sheets and bedspread were 'soft' as opposed crisp, starched sheets you tend to see in the top end chain hotels (I prefer the crisp feel when sleeping away). The bathrooms were well appointed and clean, but there was always a very over-powering smell of cleaning fluids/Bleach each time I returned to the room - reassuring to a certain extent, but too powerful a smell. Nothing really 'wrong' with the place, but not my type of (Crisp/sharp) hotel.

Room Tip: As the room only had blinds (I think), I would pick a room on a higher floor. Also try and get an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Perfectly located with the harbor on one side and downtown Boston on the other. Lots of sights within walking distance. The hop on tour busses stop right around the corner, the metro has a stop right outside the front door. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. Modern bathroom. Alamo/National have their office just a few blocks away so very easy to pick up or drop off your rental car. I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is in a great location if walking around Boston isn't an issue for you! Just around the corner from some of the most special attractions in the city. It was a delight to stay somewhere that I didn't need a cab to get around and could enjoy the ambiance of the city and not worry about getting home. It was a shame that the hotel was under renovations when I was there but it certainly didn't affect the service, the room or anything you come to expect from a hotel. There was a store on the corner where I was able to buy a toothbrush and nibbly bits, which is great, cause the hotel didn't have a gift store...and bad breath in the morning wasn't an option! The staff was really helpful in directions and locations of things, like little Italy which is about a 10 minute walk...I'd stay again, but I'd look online for a better price...I think I could have saved a bit of money if I'd had a bit more time to find a hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that doesn't face the interior as you'll have your curtains clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 185 State St., Boston, MA 02109
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#51 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Boston
Harborside Inn Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.