We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't listen to any negative reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Midtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Midtown Hotel to your Saves list
The Midtown Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking
Ranked #63 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Dublin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Don't listen to any negative reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I stayed there last week for 4 nights and had a great stay there. The staff were so approachable and friendly, especially Mark. The rooms are a great size (2 double beds) and so clean. We had an in-room safe which was brilliant. The ensuite was spotless. The location was perfect, the nearest subways are Symphony Hall and Prudential. There are also 2 shopping malls close by, Copley and Prudential Mall. You are also within walking distance of Newbury street and Boylston street. A little further past Boylston is Boston Common and Capitol Hill (well worth a visit). The hotel is surrounded by much larger hotels, The Sheraton, The Westin etc... but for us it was the perfect hotel and totally recommend it, so much so that we are already planning our trip back next year

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    625
    349
    125
    65
See reviews for
406
330
107
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Well suited for peeps staying just 1 night - we stayed 3! No restaurant so we had to walk around to find food at night and early morning. Old place, well heated, big bedroom with 2 queen beds, room comfy but noisy from traffic and neighbours, bathroom was 'open' so no privacy at all. Shower dripped water slowly so rather useless, thin walls. Very basic. Outside the city so public transport essential.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times from December 2012 to August 2013 and I really like it. The place is comfortable and the personnel is amazing and so happy to help. My only concern is about the fact that they don't provide any breakfast neither have a restaurant so you have to go out to dinner, even during the winter. It's a strategic hotel for tourists because they are closed to restaurants, museums. I think their plus is the staff and the location.Usually, their rate is "reasonnable" but during the summer, it sometimes gets very high so make sure to do your reservation time before if you want to go there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry uk
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

we stayed at the midtown for three nights and were more than happy with it, the staff were very good and helpful as this was are first time in boston and we did not have a clue where to go for something to eat they steered us in the right direction several times.
the room we had was large with very comfortable beds ,room safe, towels were changed daily and suited are needs, personally i,m not to worried if the decor is a bit faded and the place might need updating (not that you would notice) the location and service is what counts and both were very good .the only drawback we found was there was no bar or restaurant ,but again it is only a five minute walk away from numerous bars and eateries . i would stay here again next time i am in boston.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Location, location, location--if you need to be in Back Bay, especially for a convention at the Hynes or the Sheraton, this is a good option that is only two blocks away.

Positives -
Most employees were very helpful
Near Hynes convention center, Boston Symphony
Easy to get a cab
Good neighborhood
Pool (I guess, I didn't look for it)

Negatives -
Very dated rooms
No breakfast
No free wifi

All in all, it could have been a lot worse.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

looks a bit neglected outside but the rooms are very clean and comfortable, the staff are fantastic, one of the night receptionists went out of her way to suggest shops and restaurants and places of interest she provided maps and directions. the hotel is in a great location within easy walking distance of Prudential Centre and about a mile from Fenway.Only complaint would be the wash basin was set between the bathroom and bedroom with no door and the light switch for the toilet switched on both lights, so disturbed sleeping friend in middle of night when i went to toilet. Altogether a little gem of a hotel with great staff and good location, will be going back.

Room Tip: try fora room where wash basin is in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

When the bus pulled up outside the midtown our heart sank it looked dirty and neglected but when we got inside it looked a lot better.The room we had was a good size if alittle dated but very clean.the staff were very nice and always pleasant the hotel is in a good location with the trolly bus stopping just up the road whitch takes you all round Boston for a set fare . Over all great staff great location let down by lack of investment in hotel

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midtown Hotel

Address: 220 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Boston
#59 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Midtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Boston, The Midtown Hotel blends comfort and convenience with affordability. This moderately priced hotel, nestled in the heart of Boston’s Back Bay. Just steps away from The Prudential Center, Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center this downtown hotel is near three subway stops on both the green and orange lines. Nearby Fenway Park, The Museum of Fine Arts, Symphony Hall, and the elegant restaurants and boutique shops of Newbury Street make Boston an exciting city to visit and The Midtown Hotel the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Boston
Midtown Boston
Midtown Motel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Midtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.