We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and handy to most things.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Midtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Midtown Hotel to your Saves list
The Midtown Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Mortlake, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Great value and handy to most things.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

This place would've been state of the art 20 years ago. Now it's all a bit worn and tired really.
The real let down was the beds. Super uncomfortable. Really makes the stay harder.
Great location though.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    624
    349
    125
    65
See reviews for
405
330
107
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We took a spur of the moment trip to Boston right before Christmas to see the city and colleges. Not wanting to spend too much money we were recommended the midtown hotel by Expedia. Upon checking the rating I was not sure but reading trip advisor reviews and the price we went. They are located at Copely Place which is beautiful with 2 indoor malls and outdoor high end stores. Boston Pops across the street. Greenline close by. It is a great part of town. The hotel is old and only three stories and has been updated. The hotel staff is very friendly and made us so comfortable it's a happy place. Rooms only had two double beds, I would have liked queen as we were 4 people. They had power strips in all the right places so the 4 of us could charge our phones and rooms were clean and roomy. Itis really a great hotel that has inexpensive parking centrally located. If you want to save money you will appreciate this hotel. Fantastic coffee shop 1 block away Thorntons very good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Want to go to the city but not pay city prices The Midtown is a great solution. Very clean and the staff is very nice. Parking is the cheapest in Boston and great location. Yes it could be modernized but the room was a good size and the beds were good. Bathroom was clean even cleaner then some big chains.

Room Tip: There were no kid activities or restaurant but plenty right near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Well to start off my flight didint land until 11 at night so after a long day and finally arriving at the hotel, I was greeted by an extremely friendly staff. I had no problems checking in and got to my room very quickly. The room was very large and comfortable. You would never be able to tell that it was in the 20's outside. The room was warm and quiet and made for an excellent nights stay. I love the location of this hotel. Just a skip from the Prudential Center and surrounded by various T stations makes navigating the entire city easy for even a good ole country boy. I would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone who travels to Boston.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is under 'Friends' as we have to tick a box to submit the review and there is no really appropriate box! We were intending to stay for two nights at this hotel but then had to stay for longer as Hurricane Sandy hit New York. We had a party of 59 (13-16yrs) pupils and 20 staff and parents. We could not have asked for a better level of service or hospitality. The hotel staff were exceedingly welcoming. We have returned home and the chatter amongst the children and parents is wonderfully positive. The warmth towards The Midtown Hotel is great. The staff could not have been more obliging or friendly. The way that they coped with the uncertainty of our movements from day to day through ‘Sandy’ and having such a group spread round the hotel was most impressive. Everyone was treated with respect. From the moment we arrived we were surrounded by positivity and the efficiency of the initial check-in was the best we have experienced in 25 years of globe-trotting with parties of pupils. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable (some staff thought about checking where the mattresses and pillows came from!) and well appointed. Little things, like a coffee and tea maker with an unlimited supply in each room make a difference. Security was never in question. The proximity of a range of places to eat made all meals easy to manage, even for so many. The entrance to the 'Symphony' underground stop can be seen from the front of the hotel and is only a 2 minute walk without even having to cross a road: it was easy to use even with a large party. This gives simple access to all areas of Boston. The upmarket shopping mall, the Prudential Centre, is across the road within a 3 minute walk. I wish to commend this hotel highly and thoroughly recommend it for group stays and know it met the needs of individual travellers who were there at the same time. Splendid!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a room looking onto main road. Very quite,clean and roomy. Stayed for three nights as part of a tour. Staff on front desk could not have been more helpful or freindly. Yes the hotel needs updating but if the beds & rooms & bathroom are clean and staff are welcoming what more do you want. You do not need a resturant or bar as everything you need is so close to hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room that looked onto main road which was bright and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at The Midtown Hotel end Oct and was very impressed. Yes ... Decor is a little dated - but the location was excellent, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and the beds were so comfortable. Nice size rooms, very clean and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midtown Hotel

Address: 220 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Boston
#59 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Midtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Boston, The Midtown Hotel blends comfort and convenience with affordability. This moderately priced hotel, nestled in the heart of Boston’s Back Bay. Just steps away from The Prudential Center, Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center this downtown hotel is near three subway stops on both the green and orange lines. Nearby Fenway Park, The Museum of Fine Arts, Symphony Hall, and the elegant restaurants and boutique shops of Newbury Street make Boston an exciting city to visit and The Midtown Hotel the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your The Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Boston
Midtown Motel Boston
Midtown Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Midtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.