We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Custom House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Custom House to your Saves list
Marriott's Custom House
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We spent a week at the Custom House. The location is fantastic. It is close to almost everything. The accommodations are very nice and the views from the rooms over looking Boston are beautiful. The front desk and concierge folks are very friendly and helpful. We were there as time share owners, but our room was serviced (trash and towels) daily , which was a nice touch as most timeshare properties only serviced the room once during your stay. Loved the building and it's history. If you can stay at the Custom House you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    160
    12
    12
    12
See reviews for
238
207
16
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This excellent hotel is within a historic landmark building in a great location in central Boston. We struggled to find a room for 3 adults with a degree of privacy, this hotel was absolutely ideal with a separate bedroom and lounge area with a queen sofa bed. Housekeeping was efficient and the whole place was spotlessly clean. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. We had a lovely stay here.
The only slight negative is the breakfast. This is a very meagre affair with boxed cereal, juice and bread/pasties. These are all charged by the item. I’m sure they could offer something better and more imaginative.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamokin, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Wife and grandkids stayed at this property after a few nights in Salem. Hotel was extremely expensive, and with parking, over $400 for the night. However hotel room was very, very nice, with the exception of the sofa bed, for this price it should have been much classier. Dinette area was much waste of space, and really useless unless you would be staying for an extended period of time, but then again at their rate, very expensive to do so. Property was extremely beautiful, safe, and well kept. Very convenient to the area sights and easily within walking distances. Would only stay here again if cost were not an issue.

Room Tip: All rooms were extremely comfortable and clean, would try for reduction in price via coupons, etc. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monarch Beach, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We recently stayed in Boston for the Head of the Charles Regatta in October. The hotel was in the perfect location, walking distance to all the sites, near the North End, and right next to the subway station. The room was large, including a kitchenette, living area, and separate bedroom. The concierge (Karen) was very helpful, offering tips on traveling on the subway system. The bartender (David) was charming and helpful. We will definitely stay here again next time!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, tn
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over Columbas day weekend. We had a beautiful suite with sitting room, dining area, and kitchenette, a large bathroom, and lovely, large bedroom. Our room on the 10th floor did not overlook the harbor, but still had a breathtaking view. The rooms seem newly decorated and fairly luxurious, although the bathrooms are just average (no robes, no separate shower). The kitchenette has a full-size coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. The hotel is perfectly located close to the waterfront, little Italy, and the Freedom Trail sites, as well as a pedestrian shopping and dining area. The customs house is a historic building that was the tallest building in Boston. It has a wonderful observation deck with fantastic views of Boston. Additionally, they offer free entertainment in the evenings and a nice continental buffet breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was not free, but it was fairly priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel has a great location, great staff, great service & great views of Boston!

We have just spent 3 nights there for the start of our New England tour for my boyfriends 25th birthday and the service we received was faultless. The front desk staff & concierge were great at booking tickets, recommending things.

The breakfast is simple, continental style but very reasonable at $2-$4 per item (plus tax) so breakfast for the stay was only $24 for the two of us. Not bad!

Would stay here time and time again!

Room Tip: Higher floors would give awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Marriott’s Custom House is probably the most unique hotel in their chain and definitely the most historic. Really part of their Vacation Club Properties so it doesn’t have a restaurant on site but there is a very nice bar. Activities are planned daily but I doubt if you will be participating as this is in the very middle of all the great spots in Boston. Steps away from the Freedom Trail and the Aquarium and Quincy Market and so many other great spots.
When you arrive you are immediately greeted and welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff and they are all very knowledgeable about the area and are always asking to help, when I asked the Valet where the car rental place was he didn’t just tell me he walked me half way there until I could see it!
The rooms are large enough and very nicely appointed and one nice feature was that I could get fresh cool air by opening a window and we were on the 18th floor. These rooms have small kitchenettes with utensils and glasses but again I doubt if you will ever eat in the room.
The very best spot in Boston to see the area is from the observation deck on the top floor that goes completely around the building and there is a small table and chairs on the deck that was perfect for our morning coffee. There is also a game-room with a pool table and table games and a great look at the mechanism that runs the clock in the tower.
There are cheaper places to stay in Boston but no place can offer all that The Custom House does and we are looking forward to our trip back!

Room Tip: High room floors have a great view, 1802 had a view of the harbor and the city, GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
South Boston
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#1 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North End
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Back Bay
Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square
Harborside Inn
#42 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Custom House

Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Custom House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic Downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with King Sized Beds with Sofabeds. The Resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi Internet Access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Custom House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Custom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.