We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and Comfort, perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Custom House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Custom House to your Saves list
Marriott's Custom House
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Monroe, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“History and Comfort, perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Marriott’s Custom House is probably the most unique hotel in their chain and definitely the most historic. Really part of their Vacation Club Properties so it doesn’t have a restaurant on site but there is a very nice bar. Activities are planned daily but I doubt if you will be participating as this is in the very middle of all the great spots in Boston. Steps away from the Freedom Trail and the Aquarium and Quincy Market and so many other great spots.
When you arrive you are immediately greeted and welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff and they are all very knowledgeable about the area and are always asking to help, when I asked the Valet where the car rental place was he didn’t just tell me he walked me half way there until I could see it!
The rooms are large enough and very nicely appointed and one nice feature was that I could get fresh cool air by opening a window and we were on the 18th floor. These rooms have small kitchenettes with utensils and glasses but again I doubt if you will ever eat in the room.
The very best spot in Boston to see the area is from the observation deck on the top floor that goes completely around the building and there is a small table and chairs on the deck that was perfect for our morning coffee. There is also a game-room with a pool table and table games and a great look at the mechanism that runs the clock in the tower.
There are cheaper places to stay in Boston but no place can offer all that The Custom House does and we are looking forward to our trip back!

Room Tip: High room floors have a great view, 1802 had a view of the harbor and the city, GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    146
    11
    12
    12
See reviews for
220
181
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a great location in such a beautiful building! We had a snafu with my reservation, which somehow got cancelled prior to my arrival due to a computer glitch I'm told. Pretty sure that the very patient and tactful front desk attendant saw crazy in my eyes because she and her co-worker got right down to fixing that! I took my tired kids to the aquarium and we had a great room within a few hours.

This place is convenient to pretty much everything that matters in Boston: Quincy Market, Aquarium, Harbor, Trolley tours, Freedom trail, the Commons, the Public Gardens, Back Bay, the Charles. 1/2 hour T ride to the Arboretum which can't be beat for a day to let the kids run free in an idyllic setting (and it's free!). Bring your camera people, this is one of the best kept secrets in Boston. Don't rent a car, you won't need it. But, Boston is a walking city, bring appropriate shoes for all.
The Hotel itself has a great and reasonably priced breakfast in the counting room. The observation deck is amazing. The staff is perfectly professional and happy to help you with pretty much anything. Basics at the convenience store across the street. The DVD player has a USB connector so special cartoons and movies can be loaded for the little ones. The suite is a smallish (room 802) living room/dining/kitchenette with a pull out couch. The sofa bed is a torture chamber for an adult, but works okay for little kids. The bedroom was spacious and very comfortable, king bed, closet, bureau, tv. The kitchenette has a toaster, coffee maker (buy some real coffee at Starbucks in Quincy Market to use), microwave, small sink and a small fridge. For me, this was the only draw back. I am spoiled and like having a real kitchen when traveling with kids, but you can't win every time, right?

Everything considered, you simply can't do better for a family stay in Boston where space is such a premium. Comfy and historic without being stuffy. Very cool place.

Room Tip: Go high if possible. We were on the 8th, and heard the bars, but it didn't bother us, more amus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We've stayed at the Marriott Custom House via timeshare probably six times now over the years. Fantastic location a stone's throw (literally) from wonderful shopping and Quincy Hall food court. You could not get a more convenient location.
Near the water, you can easily walk to the Boston Harbor and take a hop on/off bus, Duck Tour, etc. The Aquarium blue line subway ("T") stop is probably 100 feet from the hotel entrance, if that. There is a small convenient market there, too. Easily accessible to the airport, the Aquarium subway also had an elevator, so you don't have to manhandle luggage down the stairs. Boston is very walkable, and getting downtown from here is pretty straightforward, if you don't mind walking. You can also use the T to get virtually anywhere.
Besides the historical aspect, as others mentioned, the facility itself is top-notch. Incredibly clean, quiet, and always well-staffed with polite and attentive people. The rooms are well-maintained with small equipped kitchens and separate room for TV viewing, besides the bedroom. The gym is small but suitable. There are lots of complimentary goodies, like evening wine and cheese, lectures, etc. I can't think of one negative about this property.
Ive already put in my request for next year!

Room Tip: Higher up provides better views and less street noise, though that is minimal. Avoid driving if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Marriott's Custom House is a historic icon of Boston (you always see the beautiful tower and clock face in television shots of downtown Boston) that is a time share, but as with all Marriott "Vacation Club Destination" location, is open to the public as a hotel with daily rates, based on availability.

The hotel is located just adjacent to the Quincy Square location and two blocks from the harbor, along the Freedom Trail. Each room is a suite which provides a full living room with flat screen HD television, small kitchenette with sink, fridge and tableware for four to include coffee maker (12 cup). The bathrooms vary from "a little small" to perfect size (remember this building was erected in the 1830's) and each suite has a king size bed (again, some rooms larger than others) with closet and flat screen HD.

If you are a Marriott Vacation Destination owner, your Sun-Thur Premiere Points go a very long way, weekends (Friday-Saturday) the rate almost triples. However, as we did, if you can get a good cash rate with Marriott owner discount, it is a better value to purchase the weekend and points for the rest. On this trip, we stayed 6 nights, only paid for two, great value. The property has a small but full service cocktail lounge that opens into the adjacent large lounge area where you can watch TV or chat in a comfortable area. No food service, as with most Vacation Destination locations. But directly across the street from the Black Rose Irish Pub and literally 100 plus restaurants within walking/short cab distance. And....... just a five minute walk from the historic "North End" Italian district, which features over 100 Italian restaurants. So depending on your budget, the Marriott's Custom House is a perfect place to make for a home base if you are touring Boston.

Room Tip: Higher floors provides a killer view of the harbor areas and downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We just got back from Boston and had a nice stay at Marriott Custom House. The building is beautiful and is quite a landmark. You can spot it from Boston Harbor. The hotel is conveniently located. From Logan airport, taking the blue line and get off at Aquarium station which is only 2 stations away from the airport and the hotel is right there. Everything is just steps away. You can walk to Quincy market and Faneuil hall. We got there on Friday so we had a chance to shop for produces at Haymarket which opened only Friday and Saturday and got us some nice and cheap strawberries. The hotel is only a short walk to North End which you can also find nice Italian restaurants in that neighborhood. The staffs at the hotel were all very nice and helpful. We also got a tour of the hotel and learned about the building which was very nice. There were some activities at the hotel every day and they were complimentary. We went to complimentary wine and cheese on Friday night which we enjoyed it very much. Our suite was quite spacious with separate living room and bedroom. We got a nice view of both the city and the harbor. We also went to the observation deck both in the morning and at night which is a must do if you get a chance to stay at this hotel. If I come back to Boson, I will definitely stay at Custom house.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

It's in a tourist friendly part of the city with an amazing observation deck at the top. The clock tower exterior makes it easy to spot as you're wandering the city. The interior has so many beautiful historical aspects. The views from the observation deck are amazing, but there's a lot of interesting stuff to look at on the inside too. The rooms are very nice, clean. Our suite had a nice kitchen/dining area, living area, bedroom, bathroom. The gym was small but modern. We had a nice view of the water from our room. It was a really great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Immerse yourself in the birth town of American Independence and relive Revolutionary and Civil War history by staying in the historical Custom House. The grand-cross shaped ceiling Rotunda dominates the inside of this building, supported by beautiful marble staircases, tall ceiling lounge (aka the Counting Room), and two-story guest suites. If you stay there as a guest, you also have access to the one and only observation deck in downtown Boston from 7am - 11pm. You can also visit the deck as part of a fee paying tour. The night that I stayed there they also had a decedent of a Civil War colonel dressed in period cloth to intertwine his ancestor's personal life story in the context of the larger history.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Custom House

Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#30 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Custom House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic Downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with King Sized Beds with Sofabeds. The Resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi Internet Access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Custom House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Custom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.