We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only building in Boston with an observation deck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Custom House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Custom House to your Saves list
Marriott's Custom House
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Only building in Boston with an observation deck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Immerse yourself in the birth town of American Independence and relive Revolutionary and Civil War history by staying in the historical Custom House. The grand-cross shaped ceiling Rotunda dominates the inside of this building, supported by beautiful marble staircases, tall ceiling lounge (aka the Counting Room), and two-story guest suites. If you stay there as a guest, you also have access to the one and only observation deck in downtown Boston from 7am - 11pm. You can also visit the deck as part of a fee paying tour. The night that I stayed there they also had a decedent of a Civil War colonel dressed in period cloth to intertwine his ancestor's personal life story in the context of the larger history.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    150
    11
    12
    12
See reviews for
223
189
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

For a real suite with upscale charm (i.e. separate doors between bedroom and living room), in downtown Boston, this is a relative value. I get up at 5 or 6 am and my wife sleeps like a baby until 8 or 9 so I needed a special spot with some space (i.e. not just another suite hotel), and this place delivered.

Pros:
VERY comfy bed.
Nice little kitchen
Free access to gym, nice size.
Game room with free laundry
Incredible location - stay on the side facing the water - it was actually very quiet on the 7th floor. You can walk to Boston bay in a few minutes.
Great service.
Interesting historical building.

Minor Cons:
Ice is on the 24th floor
Breakfast is sub-par and not complimentary (makes no sense at these prices).
Bathroom was a little small.
Scuffs and a robe would be expected a these prices as well.


All in all a great spot.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Although Marriott now has their own time share club which means this property shows up less often than it used to we have managed to stay here about a half dozen times at the least. WE have even stayed there during the big dig. I will be there again later this year. I expect that as always the unit will be spotless, the service impeccable and the concierge Karen to greet me by name!!! The 4:00 pm cookies straight out of the oven also are great. We have used this as a home base for college visits, regular Boston time, vacations for just me when no one else can join me and even for the whole crew. We have even rented here when the kids went to a NiN concert. They got there and were put in the only unit that has a loft bedroom open to the living room and were very upset since there was one couple and two girls. They called me and I called the front desk and in moments they were switched to a unit that gave both groups the right amount of privacy. Timeshare checkins are on Friday so Hay Market is open for fresh fruit and cheese and the store 24 is right there. Week ends are quiet on State Street but during the week there are lovely reasonably priced grab and go restaurants to stock your fridge or there is always Quincy Market place or the North End. So much is in walking distance and the views are to die for. I have no complaints and 99% of the units are spacious and lovely.

Room Tip: Although there is no pool here guest can go across to Long Wharf and use their pool. Also ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

It is Boston's best-kept secret! The staff is great... special mention to Colin and his partner (sorry ma'am, we did not get your name) for warmly welcoming us as we checked-in to celebrate our 11th year wedding anniversary Friday, Sept. 6, 2013! They made us feel so special and treated us like we've been going there for years! The hotel itself is great, it is full of history and the ambiance was warm and friendly... and words can't describe how we felt when they put us up at one of the Eagle Suites (21st floor) complete with a bottle of red wine! The view was spectacular and the suite was complete with all the amenities of a house! We live at the Salem Willows and love our ocean view so when we stepped out of that balcony-- we were in awe of how magnificent it was out there to the point of being speechless!!! We have been in many hotels around the world (Paris, London, Venice, Philippines, Nice, Hungary to name a few) and this is one of the best, if not the best experience we had hotel-wise. The location is ideal for us as it was close to the North End, Faneuil Hall, N.E. Aquarium, etc. Over-all it was an A+++ experience. From now on this will be our hotel of choice in Boston. Thank you for the fabulous experience!!! I highly recommend this to anyone who's looking for a great hotel in the area.

Room Tip: When you book, ask for the higher floors-- because of the hotel's location (which we love!) othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield,ma
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Custom House, although a time share can be rented by the night as a traditional hotel. The location of The Custom House is perfect for getting anywhere in the city. It is within walking distance of Fanueil Hall, The North End, The Aquarium and waterfront, and Beacon Hill. If you like to walk, you can pretty much walk all of Boston, but if not, the T is close by, and is an easy way to get around the city.
The Custom House is loaded with character and charm. It is a historic building (a custom house) that has been repurposed, and done so in a stellar way. Be sure to visit the public spaces throughout the hotel Take the elevator up to see the view from behind the clock. It is a true panorama of the city. The" rooms" in this hotel are suites in a variety of layouts and sizes. It is just perfect to relax after a long day shopping, sightseeing, walking the Freedom Trail, or catching a game at Fenway or the Garden. There is a small kitchen that is perfect for wine and cheese, or breakfast if you are so inclined. It is a great spot for adults.....not sure about kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our historic Custom House. We agree that our location makes it convenient to so many popular attractions and walking is certainly the best way to get to all of them. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations while also appreciating the charm and character of this building which played such an important role in the history of our city. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back on your future visits to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I travel to Boston for Business quite often and usually stay at the Marriott at Copley Square or the Marriott at the Wharf near the New England Aquarium. I need to use my corporate travel agency and this Marriott property showed up and I never saw it listed before.

I decided to give the Custom House a try and I was pleasantly surprised. There is no concierge lounge, but there is a Counting Room that has a small continental breakfast for a nominal fee, but no evening appetizers which I never eat anyway. There a a multitude of restaurants, Faneuil Hall Marketplace is practically across the street so you probably wouldn't want to eat in the hotel anyways.

The first thing that surprised me is that this is a vacation spot and not geared to the business traveller, as there are no "desks" in the room. However, you rent a "villa" which has a small condo style kitchen (small dorm size fridge, full size microwave, full size programmable coffee maker with enough coffee to brew a 10 cup pot of coffee), a good size eating/ living room area and an entirely separate bedroom. More than enough room and better than the traditional two queen or one large king bed at the other two properties. I know that you can rent suites at those hotels with the mentioned amenities but they are available here. I just camped out on the dining room table and used that as my desk.

The best thing about the Custom House is the history, architecture, decor, and the historical little programs that are offered throughout. I especially enjoyed the 26th floor observation deck. It was kind of a little vacation in Boston as I took care of my business obligations.

The only reason I am not giving a five star is that the carpets looked like they were in need of a shampoo and depending on what elevator I was on, sometimes it smelled a little musty that little febreez could remedy.

Next time I am in Beantown, I will try to stay at the Custom House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review from your perspective as a businessman. It is very gratifying to hear that we were successful in providing the space and amenities you required during your stay and we were so pleased that you considered your time with us to be a "mini-vacation" while still conducting your necessary business. The history, architecture and decor of our building are quite special and we are always thrilled to know that our guests enjoy and appreciate them while staying with us. We did want to assure you that we have taken your comments about our carpets and elevator very seriously and have mentioned your concerns to the outside vendor whom we employ to clean them throughout the year. Our entire staff looks forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next visit to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We selected this property for its location and priced it with several sites. Everyone had the same price with one exception, Travelocity, which was considerably less - I know not why.
Unlike some suite hotels, we had no difficulty getting in a rollaway, in addition to the sofa bed, so each kid had their own bed. The kids were impressed with the spaciousness and décor and they thought the room was fit for a "president."
The hotel website made no mention of the breakfast room which we found very convenient and reasonably priced with $2 and $3 items like juice, freshly made waffles, yogurt, bagels and so on plus complementary coffee and tea.
We were handy to our hop-on-hop off sightseeing bus and to Quincy Market where we picked up take-in food for supper one night. We were on the 4th floor but noise was no problem. Despite one housekeeping glitch that kept me from giving 5 stars we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We think of our property as being "family friendly" so were particularly happy to read your very lovely review of Custom House and how much you and your two teens enjoyed your stay. Our location in this very popular area of Boston makes us convenient to many of the best sights, restaurants and shops so it's a wonderful base from which to explore. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back on another visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott's Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Custom House

Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#32 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Custom House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic Downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with King Sized Beds with Sofabeds. The Resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi Internet Access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's Custom House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Custom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.