We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relative Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Custom House

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Custom House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Custom House
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 77 hotels in Boston
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Relative Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

For a real suite with upscale charm (i.e. separate doors between bedroom and living room), in downtown Boston, this is a relative value. I get up at 5 or 6 am and my wife sleeps like a baby until 8 or 9 so I needed a special spot with some space (i.e. not just another suite hotel), and this place delivered.

Pros:
VERY comfy bed.
Nice little kitchen
Free access to gym, nice size.
Game room with free laundry
Incredible location - stay on the side facing the water - it was actually very quiet on the 7th floor. You can walk to Boston bay in a few minutes.
Great service.
Interesting historical building.

Minor Cons:
Ice is on the 24th floor
Breakfast is sub-par and not complimentary (makes no sense at these prices).
Bathroom was a little small.
Scuffs and a robe would be expected a these prices as well.


All in all a great spot.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    129
    10
    12
    10
See reviews for
186
135
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Although Marriott now has their own time share club which means this property shows up less often than it used to we have managed to stay here about a half dozen times at the least. WE have even stayed there during the big dig. I will be there again later this year. I expect that as always the unit will be spotless, the service impeccable and the concierge Karen to greet me by name!!! The 4:00 pm cookies straight out of the oven also are great. We have used this as a home base for college visits, regular Boston time, vacations for just me when no one else can join me and even for the whole crew. We have even rented here when the kids went to a NiN concert. They got there and were put in the only unit that has a loft bedroom open to the living room and were very upset since there was one couple and two girls. They called me and I called the front desk and in moments they were switched to a unit that gave both groups the right amount of privacy. Timeshare checkins are on Friday so Hay Market is open for fresh fruit and cheese and the store 24 is right there. Week ends are quiet on State Street but during the week there are lovely reasonably priced grab and go restaurants to stock your fridge or there is always Quincy Market place or the North End. So much is in walking distance and the views are to die for. I have no complaints and 99% of the units are spacious and lovely.

Room Tip: Although there is no pool here guest can go across to Long Wharf and use their pool. Also ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

It is Boston's best-kept secret! The staff is great... special mention to Colin and his partner (sorry ma'am, we did not get your name) for warmly welcoming us as we checked-in to celebrate our 11th year wedding anniversary Friday, Sept. 6, 2013! They made us feel so special and treated us like we've been going there for years! The hotel itself is great, it is full of history and the ambiance was warm and friendly... and words can't describe how we felt when they put us up at one of the Eagle Suites (21st floor) complete with a bottle of red wine! The view was spectacular and the suite was complete with all the amenities of a house! We live at the Salem Willows and love our ocean view so when we stepped out of that balcony-- we were in awe of how magnificent it was out there to the point of being speechless!!! We have been in many hotels around the world (Paris, London, Venice, Philippines, Nice, Hungary to name a few) and this is one of the best, if not the best experience we had hotel-wise. The location is ideal for us as it was close to the North End, Faneuil Hall, N.E. Aquarium, etc. Over-all it was an A+++ experience. From now on this will be our hotel of choice in Boston. Thank you for the fabulous experience!!! I highly recommend this to anyone who's looking for a great hotel in the area.

Room Tip: When you book, ask for the higher floors-- because of the hotel's location (which we love!) othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield,ma
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Custom House, although a time share can be rented by the night as a traditional hotel. The location of The Custom House is perfect for getting anywhere in the city. It is within walking distance of Fanueil Hall, The North End, The Aquarium and waterfront, and Beacon Hill. If you like to walk, you can pretty much walk all of Boston, but if not, the T is close by, and is an easy way to get around the city.
The Custom House is loaded with character and charm. It is a historic building (a custom house) that has been repurposed, and done so in a stellar way. Be sure to visit the public spaces throughout the hotel Take the elevator up to see the view from behind the clock. It is a true panorama of the city. The" rooms" in this hotel are suites in a variety of layouts and sizes. It is just perfect to relax after a long day shopping, sightseeing, walking the Freedom Trail, or catching a game at Fenway or the Garden. There is a small kitchen that is perfect for wine and cheese, or breakfast if you are so inclined. It is a great spot for adults.....not sure about kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our historic Custom House. We agree that our location makes it convenient to so many popular attractions and walking is certainly the best way to get to all of them. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations while also appreciating the charm and character of this building which played such an important role in the history of our city. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back on your future visits to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I travel to Boston for Business quite often and usually stay at the Marriott at Copley Square or the Marriott at the Wharf near the New England Aquarium. I need to use my corporate travel agency and this Marriott property showed up and I never saw it listed before.

I decided to give the Custom House a try and I was pleasantly surprised. There is no concierge lounge, but there is a Counting Room that has a small continental breakfast for a nominal fee, but no evening appetizers which I never eat anyway. There a a multitude of restaurants, Faneuil Hall Marketplace is practically across the street so you probably wouldn't want to eat in the hotel anyways.

The first thing that surprised me is that this is a vacation spot and not geared to the business traveller, as there are no "desks" in the room. However, you rent a "villa" which has a small condo style kitchen (small dorm size fridge, full size microwave, full size programmable coffee maker with enough coffee to brew a 10 cup pot of coffee), a good size eating/ living room area and an entirely separate bedroom. More than enough room and better than the traditional two queen or one large king bed at the other two properties. I know that you can rent suites at those hotels with the mentioned amenities but they are available here. I just camped out on the dining room table and used that as my desk.

The best thing about the Custom House is the history, architecture, decor, and the historical little programs that are offered throughout. I especially enjoyed the 26th floor observation deck. It was kind of a little vacation in Boston as I took care of my business obligations.

The only reason I am not giving a five star is that the carpets looked like they were in need of a shampoo and depending on what elevator I was on, sometimes it smelled a little musty that little febreez could remedy.

Next time I am in Beantown, I will try to stay at the Custom House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review from your perspective as a businessman. It is very gratifying to hear that we were successful in providing the space and amenities you required during your stay and we were so pleased that you considered your time with us to be a "mini-vacation" while still conducting your necessary business. The history, architecture and decor of our building are quite special and we are always thrilled to know that our guests enjoy and appreciate them while staying with us. We did want to assure you that we have taken your comments about our carpets and elevator very seriously and have mentioned your concerns to the outside vendor whom we employ to clean them throughout the year. Our entire staff looks forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next visit to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We selected this property for its location and priced it with several sites. Everyone had the same price with one exception, Travelocity, which was considerably less - I know not why.
Unlike some suite hotels, we had no difficulty getting in a rollaway, in addition to the sofa bed, so each kid had their own bed. The kids were impressed with the spaciousness and décor and they thought the room was fit for a "president."
The hotel website made no mention of the breakfast room which we found very convenient and reasonably priced with $2 and $3 items like juice, freshly made waffles, yogurt, bagels and so on plus complementary coffee and tea.
We were handy to our hop-on-hop off sightseeing bus and to Quincy Market where we picked up take-in food for supper one night. We were on the 4th floor but noise was no problem. Despite one housekeeping glitch that kept me from giving 5 stars we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We think of our property as being "family friendly" so were particularly happy to read your very lovely review of Custom House and how much you and your two teens enjoyed your stay. Our location in this very popular area of Boston makes us convenient to many of the best sights, restaurants and shops so it's a wonderful base from which to explore. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back on another visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Custom House is principally a time share run by the Marriott so I should declare an interest and say we have owned our week since it opened, about 12 years ago. Each level of the tower has 4 or so 1-bed apartments which are beautifully furnished and have sea or city views. The entrance into the original Customs House built in 1849 is magnificent with its domed roof and stairs up to the counting room. The staff are all proud of the building and do a truly great job in keeping it in wonderful condition. All the staff are friendly and helpful but a big thank you to Kathleen at the front desk who always greets us like long lost family when we turn up dishevelled and tired after a long flight.

Room Tip: Higher up, say 16th floor, facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Your glowing review of our Custom House was lovely and very much appreciated by our entire staff. You are correct in that we are all very proud of the history and architecture of our building and do our best to maintain its beauty. We are thrilled that we are able to provide such a wonderful vacation experience for you and look forward to welcoming you back on future visits. Thank you for your wonderful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Custom House

Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Custom House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic Downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with King Sized Beds with Sofabeds. The Resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi Internet Access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Custom House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Custom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.