We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Custom House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Custom House to your Saves list
Marriott's Custom House
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 77 Hotels in Boston
springfield,ma
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Custom House, although a time share can be rented by the night as a traditional hotel. The location of The Custom House is perfect for getting anywhere in the city. It is within walking distance of Fanueil Hall, The North End, The Aquarium and waterfront, and Beacon Hill. If you like to walk, you can pretty much walk all of Boston, but if not, the T is close by, and is an easy way to get around the city.
The Custom House is loaded with character and charm. It is a historic building (a custom house) that has been repurposed, and done so in a stellar way. Be sure to visit the public spaces throughout the hotel Take the elevator up to see the view from behind the clock. It is a true panorama of the city. The" rooms" in this hotel are suites in a variety of layouts and sizes. It is just perfect to relax after a long day shopping, sightseeing, walking the Freedom Trail, or catching a game at Fenway or the Garden. There is a small kitchen that is perfect for wine and cheese, or breakfast if you are so inclined. It is a great spot for adults.....not sure about kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our historic Custom House. We agree that our location makes it convenient to so many popular attractions and walking is certainly the best way to get to all of them. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations while also appreciating the charm and character of this building which played such an important role in the history of our city. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back on your future visits to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    142
    10
    12
    12
See reviews for
207
162
15
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I travel to Boston for Business quite often and usually stay at the Marriott at Copley Square or the Marriott at the Wharf near the New England Aquarium. I need to use my corporate travel agency and this Marriott property showed up and I never saw it listed before.

I decided to give the Custom House a try and I was pleasantly surprised. There is no concierge lounge, but there is a Counting Room that has a small continental breakfast for a nominal fee, but no evening appetizers which I never eat anyway. There a a multitude of restaurants, Faneuil Hall Marketplace is practically across the street so you probably wouldn't want to eat in the hotel anyways.

The first thing that surprised me is that this is a vacation spot and not geared to the business traveller, as there are no "desks" in the room. However, you rent a "villa" which has a small condo style kitchen (small dorm size fridge, full size microwave, full size programmable coffee maker with enough coffee to brew a 10 cup pot of coffee), a good size eating/ living room area and an entirely separate bedroom. More than enough room and better than the traditional two queen or one large king bed at the other two properties. I know that you can rent suites at those hotels with the mentioned amenities but they are available here. I just camped out on the dining room table and used that as my desk.

The best thing about the Custom House is the history, architecture, decor, and the historical little programs that are offered throughout. I especially enjoyed the 26th floor observation deck. It was kind of a little vacation in Boston as I took care of my business obligations.

The only reason I am not giving a five star is that the carpets looked like they were in need of a shampoo and depending on what elevator I was on, sometimes it smelled a little musty that little febreez could remedy.

Next time I am in Beantown, I will try to stay at the Custom House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review from your perspective as a businessman. It is very gratifying to hear that we were successful in providing the space and amenities you required during your stay and we were so pleased that you considered your time with us to be a "mini-vacation" while still conducting your necessary business. The history, architecture and decor of our building are quite special and we are always thrilled to know that our guests enjoy and appreciate them while staying with us. We did want to assure you that we have taken your comments about our carpets and elevator very seriously and have mentioned your concerns to the outside vendor whom we employ to clean them throughout the year. Our entire staff looks forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next visit to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We selected this property for its location and priced it with several sites. Everyone had the same price with one exception, Travelocity, which was considerably less - I know not why.
Unlike some suite hotels, we had no difficulty getting in a rollaway, in addition to the sofa bed, so each kid had their own bed. The kids were impressed with the spaciousness and décor and they thought the room was fit for a "president."
The hotel website made no mention of the breakfast room which we found very convenient and reasonably priced with $2 and $3 items like juice, freshly made waffles, yogurt, bagels and so on plus complementary coffee and tea.
We were handy to our hop-on-hop off sightseeing bus and to Quincy Market where we picked up take-in food for supper one night. We were on the 4th floor but noise was no problem. Despite one housekeeping glitch that kept me from giving 5 stars we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We think of our property as being "family friendly" so were particularly happy to read your very lovely review of Custom House and how much you and your two teens enjoyed your stay. Our location in this very popular area of Boston makes us convenient to many of the best sights, restaurants and shops so it's a wonderful base from which to explore. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back on another visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Custom House is principally a time share run by the Marriott so I should declare an interest and say we have owned our week since it opened, about 12 years ago. Each level of the tower has 4 or so 1-bed apartments which are beautifully furnished and have sea or city views. The entrance into the original Customs House built in 1849 is magnificent with its domed roof and stairs up to the counting room. The staff are all proud of the building and do a truly great job in keeping it in wonderful condition. All the staff are friendly and helpful but a big thank you to Kathleen at the front desk who always greets us like long lost family when we turn up dishevelled and tired after a long flight.

Room Tip: Higher up, say 16th floor, facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Your glowing review of our Custom House was lovely and very much appreciated by our entire staff. You are correct in that we are all very proud of the history and architecture of our building and do our best to maintain its beauty. We are thrilled that we are able to provide such a wonderful vacation experience for you and look forward to welcoming you back on future visits. Thank you for your wonderful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We enjoyed 2 nights at Custom House on a mini vaca to Boston. Centrally located and just steps from Quincy Market, the harbor and a T stop, the hotel itself is full of history. Felt like being in a State building with its ornate Greek and Roman accented interior designs. We had a suite/loft for 2 adults and 2 teens. Long hallway leading into the space that kept out any potential hallway noises. Suite was well appointed with dining, kitchen and living space with comfortable furniture. Huge bathroom and grand staircase leading up to the loft area. Just the right size for a family. Only issue we had was with A/C not working, but maintenance fixed while we were touring. Concierge service was excellent. Bonnie was very knowledgeable and fun to speak with (she made fun of her own Bahston accent!). Views from the observation deck were ones I won't forget. We could have spent hours just hanging out there. Custom House made our short stay a great one and was worth the splurge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Needless to say, we loved your review of our historic Custom House and thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. Our staff always does its best to provide excellent hospitality and it's always very gratifying and much appreciated when guests like you let us know that we've succeeded. Please consider staying with us on a future visit to Boston as we would be so pleased to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Outstanding views of the city, bay or the Logan airport await on the observation deck. Far above the hub-bub of the city this little oasis awaits those who venture up. My wife and I spent several hours up there our last night, very quiet, enjoying a nice bottle of wine. Our only wish is that we had found it earlier in our trip and would have been able to enjoy more nights on top.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed some time on our little oasis, our Observation Deck, which offers some of the best views in Boston. It really is a wonderful spot to relax, as you said, high above the "hub bub" of the city and we are so happy that it added to your experience while here. We would be honored to welcome you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stopped for an overnight stay in Boston on our way to Maine. We chose the Marriott Custom House for its location. It is right next to Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall. The view from the top was incredible, could see all of Boston. The hotel property is very nice, as others have pointed out it is an historic property. We did not have any issues with noise, which I was worried about considering we were on a low floor. It might have bothered me having to keep the blinds shut, as people could look in the room, but since we were just there overnight, it didn't.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We appreciate your review of Custom House and are so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us. The history of our building is a fascinating one and something we are proud to share with all of our guests. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Custom House

Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#25 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Custom House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic Downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with King Sized Beds with Sofabeds. The Resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi Internet Access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Custom House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Custom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.