We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property, centrally located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Custom House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Custom House to your Saves list
Marriott's Custom House
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent property, centrally located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stopped for an overnight stay in Boston on our way to Maine. We chose the Marriott Custom House for its location. It is right next to Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall. The view from the top was incredible, could see all of Boston. The hotel property is very nice, as others have pointed out it is an historic property. We did not have any issues with noise, which I was worried about considering we were on a low floor. It might have bothered me having to keep the blinds shut, as people could look in the room, but since we were just there overnight, it didn't.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We appreciate your review of Custom House and are so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us. The history of our building is a fascinating one and something we are proud to share with all of our guests. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    142
    10
    12
    12
See reviews for
207
162
15
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Blocks from the Harbor, next to a T stop and Quincy Market, easy walk to the North End and many attractions. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was convenient and inexpensive. The Custom House is an historic structure and the concierge tour on Sunday morning was well worth the time, fascinating. The kitchen facilities are minimal, but there is a blender, toaster, micro, small fridge and dishes. Plenty when you're staying so close to so many restaurant choices. I bought fruit from the farmer's market Saturday morning (outside Quincy Market) and made smoothies for some breakfasts. All that being said, the pull out sofa is not the most comfortable for adults so this property is best suited for couples, in my opinion. The view from our room was phenomenal, out onto Boston Harbor. As for noise level, we stayed on the 12th floor and did hear people in the streets when the bars closed. It lasted about an hour and was only a problem on Friday and Saturday nights. I used the "rain, rain" app on my iPad to mask the worst of it. I always travel with earplugs:) The hotel is in the middle of downtown Boston....didn't expect it to be as quiet as staying in the country.

Room Tip: 1203 has a beautiful view of Harbor, but I hear all rooms have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review of our property. It certainly was our pleasure to have you as our guests during your recent visit to Boston and we are delighted that you enjoyed our location in the city, the many restaurants and sights within walking distance, as well as the historic tour of our building. Our wonderful location works against us sometimes with regards to noise from the streets on busy weekends... Thank you for understanding. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Boston and Custom House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here for a week in August. The one bedroom unit was fine for 3 adults as there was a large hallway between the master bedroom and the living area with sleeper sofa. The sleeper sofa was fine for the third adult. Unit was up to the usual excellent Marriott standard as was the whole of the Custom House. Breakfast was really good value as you only paid for what you ate and it was cheaper than what we could have done ourselves! The observation deck is amazing and gave an extra space to use during the day or evening, we took our drinks up there in the evenings and enjoyed the amazing views over the water and city. This really makes the Marriott the best hotel in Boston as the facilities are great and the location can't be beat. We found it easy to use the valet parking and it again compared favourably with other rates around the city. The location can't be beat as you can walk to anywhere. We would definitely stay here again and will not consider anything else if we travel to Boston again. IT HAS TO BE CUSTOM HOUSE!!!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 14th floor and had fantastic views of the water and city. Some people have exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We are so appreciative that you chose the Custom House for your recent visit to Boston and thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay with us. How gratifying it is to know that you enjoyed the views from our Observation Deck... we think it's the best in Boston and are always so pleased when our guests take advantage of our historic building and location. Needless to say, our entire staff looks forward to welcoming you back to our property... we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Staying in this hotel is like staying in a museum. How many hotels have you stayed in with their own rotunda? This hotel felt more like a museum or state building than a hotel. The rooms were a little cramped but about average for a downtown hotel room. We had a king suite which had two rooms. One room had a kitchen, dining table for four and living room space. The other room was a king bedroom. The views were fantastic! We could see the Boston harbor and looking down we could see the Warf areas as well. The hotel had an observation deck but it was closed when we went due to rain. The other issue besides the size of the room was the air conditioning unit was a bit noisy. Not a great hotel for families. However, the hotel does offer a lot of activities and it does have a small game room and pool. The staff at this hotel were great! I would recommend it to a couple or professional person on business.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your very complimentary review of our Custom House. I am so glad you enjoyed the historic nature of our property as well as its beautiful architecture, views and activities. We hope you will visit us again when the weather cooperates so that you may spend some time on our lovely Observation Deck where the views are truly breathtaking. Our entire staff looks forward to welcoming you back for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I could see how this hotel appeals to families. Our suite was spacious and facilities like the game room and laundry machines are great when you have kids. But the location near very noisy nightlife can make it impossible to sleep. I spent a terrible night trying to figure out why all the drunken people insisted on screaming/singing/laughing on the street instead of inside somewhere. Don't stay here if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Custom House. I am so glad that you did enjoy our property, our spacious Villas and family friendly amenities. I am, however, so disappointed to hear that your sleep was disturbed by the noise from the streets surrounding our property. Unfortunately, our prime location in a very busy and popular section of Boston also means that it is subject to the noises of a busy city, especially in the summer months. We certainly wish we had some control over this issue. However, we are doing our best to sound-proof the windows in each Villa and hope that if you choose to visit us again, you will enjoy a better night's sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a classic, the location is so convenient. We took the train rather than a cab as I know about Boston traffic. When arriving early we did have to find something to do until check in time. They stick to the 3PM time but we were able to store our things. The rooms are lovely and spacious, but the location says it all. The subway station is directly across from the hotel. There is an interesting clock on the top floor worth finding. Being a very old building you need to change elevators to get up there. There are washers and dryers on that floor. The views are wonderful. I'm pretty much a Marriott person so this was a predictable choice. I would go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our location, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our first trip to Boston and I can see why people love the city so much. We fell in love with the Custom House because of the location. The first indication of how blessed we were was when we decided to take the T instead of a cab from Logan.
The Aquarium stop is just steps away from the Custom House so you are essentially throwing away money if you take a cab from the airport. When we arrived, we couldn't help but look up at the rotunda and take in what this building meant. Now I will say the rooms aren't knockout luxury, but there were very nice and had everything you needed including a decent sized fridge.
If you are visiting with family, then this is the right place. It's right across from Faneuil Hall and right in the middle of the Freedom Trail. There is no need to rent a car, unless you decide to visit the Cape or go to Maine, like we did. After a week, we even learned some walking shortcuts to other T stations, so it made it easy to jump off to other parts of the city. We always felt safe and we always knew we could find something to do or some place to eat within minutes from our location.
We also couldn't say enough about the staff. We didn't want to pay extra for the daily housekeeping, so all we really needed was a stack of fresh towels. The housekeeping staff consistently delivered fresh towels daily, which was very welcome considering we visited during a heat wave and took at least two showers daily.
One more thing about the location. The tower is such a notable landmark, that you can't miss it if you are in the main areas of town. I now have a special feeling every time I see a picture of Boston on television or a movie because I will have great memories of the city and Custom House.

Room Tip: Go for the higher rooms to reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott's Custom House, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your visit to Custom House. I have shared your comments with our staff and they wanted me to thank you for recognizing their efforts. That was so very kind of you to do so. We are also delighted that you enjoyed our location and our proximity to so many of Boston's best sites as well as the lovely historic nature of our property. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Custom House on your next visit to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Custom House

Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#25 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Custom House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic Downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with King Sized Beds with Sofabeds. The Resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi Internet Access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Custom House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Custom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.