We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Custom House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Custom House to your Saves list
Marriott's Custom House
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Malvern,PA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Everything about this hotel is wonderful!!! Location is excellent. We took the "T" (subway) from the airport to the Aquarium stop and the hotel is right there ($2 per person vs $30 cab ride). All of the staff were very customer satisfaction oriented....everyone. We had a handicapped accessible room which met all of our needs. Having a suite with a separate room with sleeper sofa, kitchenette and dining area was nice. The observation deck (free to guests) had amazing views of the city and harbour. Quincy Market is across the street, you are two short blocks from the harbour, and a 15 minute walk to the North End with its great, charming restaurants. There is an excellent and fun pub across the street - the Black Rose. Best fish and chips we ever had - EVER!! Great selection of beers and irish music after 9. We did awake during the night to loud revelers in the street but didn't bother us and we went back to sleep quickly. Maybe it was because the bed and pillows were soooo comfortable. They have a continental breakfast available where you pay for what you eat (except coffee and tea). All prices were reasonable - $1 or $2 with the belgian waffle being $3. As this is a Marriott time-share vacation property they have lots of activities to do if you so choose. But we were only there for the weekend and spent our time seeing Boston. We would definitely stay here for future Boston visits. Why stay anywhere else?? It was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    146
    11
    12
    12
See reviews for
220
181
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I recently brought my parents along with me on a business trip to Boston. We came in on Saturday afternoon and spent Sunday goofing off together and then I work on Monday and Tuesday. What a great home base for our fun! The room was great for three people. I gave the parents the room and I took to pull out. Very comfortable. My parents really enjoyed the cookies each night as well!
Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, az
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is one of the nicest time-share exchanges I have had. Easy access, from Logan, or Amtrak (which I came in on). Within walking distance of dozens of historical sites and attractions. Also within 5 min walk, dozens and dozens of resturants, pubs, takeout, as well as high end (ie pricey) places for the bigger spenders. I mean, $1-2 beer fun pubs, abound. Great views from the 18th floor, falcons nesting up on the 26th, where you can see them from that outside walk-around. Other reviews tell you about other good stuff. My ONLY beef, is, being there in the winter, the rooms thermostat is motion activated. You set it at 72, go to bed, it soon reverts back to 67, and keeps it there, blowing cold air.....cheez.....so take something that waves in front of the sensor to keep it nice and toasty!! We rigged something to do that. Also free wifi and free workout room, but charge u a dollar to play pool in the activities room......please.....Other than THOSE 2 things, great place! Waited 15 years for an exchange to pop up, worth it even in winter (and I HATE winter).

Room Tip: I was told upper rooms are quiter (???), def great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

For a special occasion, this is a magnificent treat. We are Marriott destination points owners and had to "use up" points before the end of 2012, so we drove to Boston for a two-day stay. The villa was lovely, there is a kitchenette with a microwave. Breakfast was continental but sufficient with several choices.

This hotel is well located, there is even a T stop right across the street, next to the convenience store. Faneuil Hall is right down the street, with lots of places to see, good restaurant within walking distance. The North End is a short walk away with fabulous Italian food.

The view of the harbor is breath-taking from the observation deck and even from our room on the 21st floor. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. There is hot cider served in the lobby, when you come in on a brisk winter day, the aroma is inviting and warming. There is a small bar and nightly entertainment.

We will definitely go back here for a quick get away.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high up as possible, as all views of Boston are alluring. If you can get one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

What a great hotel!! It is visually one of the prettiest hotels I've ever stayed in. The building is tall and not at all huge -- the lobby is round and gorgeous. It kind of reminds me of the Capitol Building in DC! Very historic site. The staff was very welcoming (love the hot apple cider when you check in on a cold winter day), and the room was GORGEOUS. Unbelievable views from the 17th floor. Get a harbor view if you can, but all views are amazing. Because this is a Marriott Vacation Club property, there is no attached restaurant or pool, but the location can't be beat -- right by Faneuil Hall, the Aquarium, the trolley rides, etc. (They do have a continental breakfast, however, which was fine -- bagels and cream cheese and fresh fruit, tea, coffee, etc.) And the level of comfort is wonderful. There is a great game room and a movie theater -- my kids were very entertained. We definitely will be back!

Room Tip: The higher the better -- we loved the harbor view but all views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I am typically a full service Marriott person, as my travel is for business. This week however the rates for the Custom House were significantly less than any other Marriott in town ... so I gave it a try.

It's a lovely spot - really central to the North End, Quincy Market, Fannieul Hall and the Financial District. Parking is easy with valet, but plan on $40. There is a convenient market (Tedesci's) located across the street, so you can get all the waters and etc you need there. The room has a very small fridge as well as a microwave and all the fixins' you'd need to eat in.

The rooms are set up really well for a vacation trip for a family - the master bedroom is down a hall and can be closed off very easily. The couch in the living room area is a pull out. 1 bath, and while it was small and basic it was accessible from each of the sleeping areas. The kitchenette also have a large table. Internet was strong and functional.

Breakfast was not offered the day I was there, and the front desk (concierge was not yet working in the morning) could only tell me of other hotels in the area that serve breakfast. Sorry, I'm a local and there are hundreds of great local breaky spots, certainly any one of them is better than a hotel restaurant. I was disappointed about that, but forgiving since it isn't in the front desk's description to provide this sort of info to patrons (or is it???)

Room was quiet, clean and the lookout was a cool experience. Ultimately I wouldn't choose to stay here again if I was traveling solo or for business, but it's a great set up and location for anyone coming to Boston for a vacation experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors allow for better views ... Floor 19 is the spot where you change elevators for gym, lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very
interesting and overall pleasant experience . Very few rooms to a floor. No room service, no restaurant, breakfast offering very limited. But then you are getting a 2 room suite. There is a convenience store across the street . Health club ok. Staff friendly

Room Tip: Obviously ask for a room on a higher floor a T the time of reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Custom House

Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#31 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Custom House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic Downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with King Sized Beds with Sofabeds. The Resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi Internet Access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Custom House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Custom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.