We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Marriott Stay Yet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Custom House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott's Custom House to your Saves list
Marriott's Custom House
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Marriott Stay Yet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I have to say this place far exceeded my expectations for the 269 rate I paid. The rooms are villas and extremely spacious. There are nightly music events and movies for kids. Great subway access and right next to north end. The service was excellent and so was the security on prem. I will be back with my wife and kids to visit Boston.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    136
    10
    12
    11
See reviews for
197
147
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympic National Park, Washington
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Locaion is perfect, easy to get to, and always easy to find because it is probably the largest clock tower in the city, so you can spot it from anywhere! The hotel is immaculate and the rooms have an "oval office" feel. The most quiet hotel I have ever stayed, very clean, beds were comfortable. Large rooms with a small kitchenette, perfect for large family. Observation tower at the top of the building was always fun to visit and provided a great view of the city. Younger kids loved the game room and activity room, hotel is literally in the market area so older kids can roam freely. Lobby is beautiful and made for an elegant kickoff to the holidays! Wish all hotels on travel could be this perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms provide an excellent view, top floors are probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at Custom House over the Thanksgiving weekend, we had three rooms and all were on the same floor which provided different views of the city. The rooms were great, very complete with a kitchenette with refrigerator and microwave. The location cannot be beat, everything is close, the North End with the Old North Church and the excellent Italian restaurants, Boston Common and the Public Gardens are a 20 minute walk away. Matthew Thompson, the Activities Director created some scavenger hunts about the hotel as well as Boston that really show you areas that you might have missed. Worth the effort to find everything on the list. We didn't have an opportunity to hear the music as we were out every night but we heard the acts were good. Since we were on the 6th floor, there was some noise from the bars, but the bedroom windows have an extra layer to reduce the noise, so it wasn't that bad. Definately someplace to return to.

Room Tip: High floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This location is unbeatable. Very close to Quincy Market, Boston Harbor, Metro station, various good restaurants. Hotel service and rooms are excellent. While we stayed, Sandy landed and staff was very helpful at all times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandstx
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a unique property, and if you can, try to book a room here. It feels like staying in the US Capitol. The historic details are extraordinary and the hotel is elegant and well-run. The location is spectacular for historic sights; an easy walk of less than 10 minutes to anything you wish to see. Quincy market next door has a multitude of food options which were convenient for us to bring dinner home and eat in our villa. The rooms are lovely and fine for a family of 4. Best of all, the hotels offers free nightly entertainment. "Rum and Revolution", by historical re-enactors, was amazing and is our favorite memory of Boston-the actors were outstanding, the settling accurate, and the whole evening was very charming.

Room Tip: higher rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, MD
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We absolutely loved everything about this hotel! The room was beautiful and felt more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. It even had a kitchenette. We felt right at home in our room. We had a beautiful view of the city and it was awesome to see the hotel from the outside from almost any of our sightseeing walks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I´m a owner of Marriott vacation Club and decided to enjoy the lovely city of Boston!
Great decision mainly for the Hotel cause the building is very interesting, an historical site in the city that´s in very good conditions, good maintenance.
Very good location with restaurants and shops( grocery right in front of the main entrance), 10 minutes walking to CVS and Washington Street where you can find some shops like Marshalls, TJMAXX Macys and HM.
The subway ( Aquarium Station) is in front the hotel too and the Boston Aquarium is two blocks walking.
The kitchen is little, just a microwave, a little refrigerator and a small sink but was enough for two.

Room Tip: I didint have any problem with noisy room staying in 15 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Custom House

Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#15 Family Hotel in Boston
#25 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Custom House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic Downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with King Sized Beds with Sofabeds. The Resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi Internet Access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Custom House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Custom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.