We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is gorgeous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Custom House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Custom House to your Saves list
Marriott's Custom House
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington Park, MD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This place is gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We absolutely loved everything about this hotel! The room was beautiful and felt more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. It even had a kitchenette. We felt right at home in our room. We had a beautiful view of the city and it was awesome to see the hotel from the outside from almost any of our sightseeing walks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    160
    12
    12
    12
See reviews for
238
207
16
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I´m a owner of Marriott vacation Club and decided to enjoy the lovely city of Boston!
Great decision mainly for the Hotel cause the building is very interesting, an historical site in the city that´s in very good conditions, good maintenance.
Very good location with restaurants and shops( grocery right in front of the main entrance), 10 minutes walking to CVS and Washington Street where you can find some shops like Marshalls, TJMAXX Macys and HM.
The subway ( Aquarium Station) is in front the hotel too and the Boston Aquarium is two blocks walking.
The kitchen is little, just a microwave, a little refrigerator and a small sink but was enough for two.

Room Tip: I didint have any problem with noisy room staying in 15 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I recently spent four nights in this lovely hotel. The suite was great - larger than expected and well equipped.

The front desk and concierge staff were friendly and attentive however housekeeping often did not get our room done until quite late in the day which was around the time we wanted to come back from sightseeing to a made up room.

The hotel is beautifully appointed with a really historic feel and it is so close to the delights of Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall plus the pickup points for the trolley tours. There are also two great pubs right outside the door - The Black Rose Irish Pub and Coogans which serve authentic Irish and American food at great prices.

Breakfast is a fairly simple affair taken in the old Counting Room but it is fresh and very well priced. Although we were busy every night and did not manage to attend, there is a great selection of entertainment and activities organised for guests on-site.

If you want access to a pool there is a deal with a nearby hotel for an additional fee.

This is quite a pricey place to stay but if you want to treat yourself to the best of Boston for a few days I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Outstanding Hotel in every way with its central location and sheer monumental presence ;this wonderful building stands aloft amongst the Boston sky scrapers - you will never get lost on your way back as you can see its magnificent clock every where ! With great views of the Harbour and surrounding district it makes this a special place to stay in Boston .
The building aside the staff are very professional and friendly and as you would expect the Hotel is extremely well kept and clean .
We were lucky enough to room under the Clock House wow what a midnight view treat .
I cannot comment on the food as we were so busy exploring Boston that we didn't get time to eat but my guess is it must have been good - wish we could have tried some !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Customs House is a wonderfully preserved historic building, about two blocks from Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market. The lobby and lounge level have wonderful architectural detail. There is an observation deck on the 26th floor with fabulous 360 degree views of the city, the harbor and Cambridge. There are tables and chairs on the deck that would permit you to sit and enjoy the view and a drink during warmer months.

The rooms are large suites with very large bedrooms and a sitting room/dining room combo with a small kitchenette. The furnishings are traditional and the color scheme is lovely and restful. There are tvs in both the bedroom and the sitting room. Most of the rooms should have great views. Our room faced the harbor. We were on the 8th floor and it was very quiet.

There is a microwave, toaster, coffee maker, refrigerator and dishwasher, but no stove top. A continental breakfast is available for a nominal price in the members lounge on the second floor. Many wonderful restaurants are in walking distance.

All of the staff that we encountered were very helpful and friendly, particularly the bellman and the front desk. We hope we can return to the Customs House.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have owned a time share at The Custom House for twenty years and we have enjoyed all our visits. Everyone from the valets, front desk, concierge and maintenance staff are so welcoming. The suites are extremely comfortable and some have a magnificent view of the harbor with the airport beyond. The Boston Aquarium is just across the way and Quincy Market is on the doorstep. Now that the Big Dig is over the North End, with its myriad of good restaurants, is a very pleasant walk through the park. In the other direction one can walk along the water front to the Institute of Contemporary Art - a real treat on a nice day. It is true that The Custom House does not have a dining room. A Continental buffet breakfast is served daily in The Counting Room, but we usually have ours in our suite where there is a coffee maker, microwave, toaster and small fridge. Just steps from the entrance is Tedeschi's - a convenience store selling all the essentials.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is not your typical vacation club resort. Nice suite with bedroom and combo living room / kitchenette. Don't look for cooking dinner as the kitchenette has a toaster and micorwave. Don't worry though, there are many restaurants within walking distance. Room is very comfortable, although more than 2 people could get crowded. Staff is very accommodating, particularly Bonne(daylight) and Kathy(second shift). Beautiful views from the 26th floor - guests are able to walk outside and take pictures or sit and enjoy the views!! Location is ideal...short walk to the Freedom Trail and literally less than 5 minutes from Interstate 93 with easy access!! On-site parking is a little steep($39/day) but there aren't any other alternatives close at hand. Valet parking attendants are prompt, courtesy, and timely!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
South Boston
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#1 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North End
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Back Bay
Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square
Harborside Inn
#42 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Custom House

Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#26 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Custom House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic Downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with King Sized Beds with Sofabeds. The Resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi Internet Access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Custom House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Custom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.