We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of XV Beacon

Save Saved
You added XV Beacon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
XV Beacon
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108 (Beacon Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 77 hotels in Boston
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best hotel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Loved,loved,loved,loved.... This hotel
Spacious room that is very well equipped,large windows,nice bathroom with a tiny TV in it.
The service is exceptional and I'm speechless about it!!
The house keeping were great,the room service was great, the concierge guys were beyond my expectations and I'm difficult to amaze! They were very friendly, professional n knew the Boston like the back of their hands,they had a great taste too I've to say.
The hotel cars' were luxurious and spoiling to the max. The drivers were very nice n helpful n spoiled us too.
The location ofcourse is the best , near Boston common n the brand shopping street that I forgot it's name and also nice restaurants n supermarkets.
Everything u need to see in Boston is very close by, mostly walking distance only.
I could go on n on about how great this hotel z, but I'm out of words here

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    493
    117
    27
    21
    9
See reviews for
103
323
31
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, with luxurious sheets/bedding, a fireplace (at least in my room), chocolate covered strawberries brought to the room. But some oddities: when I arrived, the person at the desk couldn't check me in. What she was doing there then, I'm not sure, and why there is only one person who is able to do that, I'm also not sure. The electrical outlets are very hard to find and the ones by the desk are very hard to reach. The towels look luxurious but have ridges and are very rough. So although it's beautiful, it needs to focus on some of the small stuff to be excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in early October. First room they presented felt way too small and claustrophobic. All it took was a phone call to the front desk and luckily they had and were more than happy to move us to a lovely room with sitting area, plenty of space. Front desk and concierge staff are friendly and helpful, service is great, loved Moo (food and cocktails were both excellent) and especially liked the location. It felt more secluded, a little off the hustle bustle path yet still a short walk to all the action plus the subway. A nice respite in a city for sure. Decor is modern/classic, loads of taupes and bold use of black and darker neutrals, liked that too. Only complaint would be the lobby which is too small (well done, but too small) and they seem to have a habit of keeping the huge luggage carriers in the space as well which feels very out of place and crowded. In fairness, they were doing some exterior repairs so perhaps they temporarily lost that storage? It seemed so glaring that it must have not been intentional. Lobby doesn't make you want to linger for long but didn't bother us as we were on the go anyway. Will be happy to return and have reservations for next spring when our son graduates! Great boutique hotel.

Room Tip: they have a variety, so shop before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Loved this hotel- not just because the location is superb or because it has a car shuttle - which I have not used but because the concierge service is excellent. Jonathan and Olivia are exceptional. Will be staying here again for sure

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Having met the Head Concierge in the past, I wanted to know more about XV Beacon. We met Olivia who was kind enough to show us four room types, the Mooo, the wine cellar as set up for s special event and the fantastic rooftop deck. She shared the history and the concepts of the rooms designs and their use for different guest types. Both Olivia and Jonathan well represent the mission of HV Beacon in providing an extraordinary guest experience. I look forward to staying here on another trip to Boston. Thanks for the gracious hospitality!

Room Tip: The rooms either face Beacon Street or an office building behind so please consider the importance o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Have been here several times and it NEVER disappoints. The staff is exceptional, the rooms are beautiful and spacious and the location is the best in Boston. The hotel courtesy car will take you just about anywhere with terrific drivers and the restaurant is one of the best in the City. I've stayed in some of the best hotels in the world and this one tops my list as my favorite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My recent stay at XV Beacon was an outstanding experience. I have stayed at many boutique hotels and this one tops the charts. The service from the beginning to the end of my stay was above and beyond. Each and every staff member was kind, accommodating and incredibly efficient. Elizabeth Adams, the Director of Sales, went above and beyond to make my stay glorious. Elizabeth personally helped me plan my stay and made me feel welcome and “at home” from the second I arrived. The incredible atmosphere, created by the staff, is coupled with the fact that the rooms are absolutely beautiful. The décor is a perfect mix of modern and classic style. The large rooms are then further enhanced by the stunning fireplace and all the amenities one expects at a five star hotel. The room and bathroom were very clean and spacious. Little touches, like the availability of a chauffeured car, really set this place apart. This hotel is in the perfect location on Beacon Hill, in the center of the city, only minutes from Boston Common and many historical sites, theaters and restaurants. This will be the only place I stay in Boston in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage XV Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.