We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, not firing on all cylinders” 4 of 5 stars
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added XV Beacon to your Saves list
XV Beacon
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108 (Beacon Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, not firing on all cylinders”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, with luxurious sheets/bedding, a fireplace (at least in my room), chocolate covered strawberries brought to the room. But some oddities: when I arrived, the person at the desk couldn't check me in. What she was doing there then, I'm not sure, and why there is only one person who is able to do that, I'm also not sure. The electrical outlets are very hard to find and the ones by the desk are very hard to reach. The towels look luxurious but have ridges and are very rough. So although it's beautiful, it needs to focus on some of the small stuff to be excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    139
    30
    22
    9
See reviews for
110
405
39
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in early October. First room they presented felt way too small and claustrophobic. All it took was a phone call to the front desk and luckily they had and were more than happy to move us to a lovely room with sitting area, plenty of space. Front desk and concierge staff are friendly and helpful, service is great, loved Moo (food and cocktails were both excellent) and especially liked the location. It felt more secluded, a little off the hustle bustle path yet still a short walk to all the action plus the subway. A nice respite in a city for sure. Decor is modern/classic, loads of taupes and bold use of black and darker neutrals, liked that too. Only complaint would be the lobby which is too small (well done, but too small) and they seem to have a habit of keeping the huge luggage carriers in the space as well which feels very out of place and crowded. In fairness, they were doing some exterior repairs so perhaps they temporarily lost that storage? It seemed so glaring that it must have not been intentional. Lobby doesn't make you want to linger for long but didn't bother us as we were on the go anyway. Will be happy to return and have reservations for next spring when our son graduates! Great boutique hotel.

Room Tip: they have a variety, so shop before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Loved this hotel- not just because the location is superb or because it has a car shuttle - which I have not used but because the concierge service is excellent. Jonathan and Olivia are exceptional. Will be staying here again for sure

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Having met the Head Concierge in the past, I wanted to know more about XV Beacon. We met Olivia who was kind enough to show us four room types, the Mooo, the wine cellar as set up for s special event and the fantastic rooftop deck. She shared the history and the concepts of the rooms designs and their use for different guest types. Both Olivia and Jonathan well represent the mission of HV Beacon in providing an extraordinary guest experience. I look forward to staying here on another trip to Boston. Thanks for the gracious hospitality!

Room Tip: The rooms either face Beacon Street or an office building behind so please consider the importance o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Have been here several times and it NEVER disappoints. The staff is exceptional, the rooms are beautiful and spacious and the location is the best in Boston. The hotel courtesy car will take you just about anywhere with terrific drivers and the restaurant is one of the best in the City. I've stayed in some of the best hotels in the world and this one tops my list as my favorite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My recent stay at XV Beacon was an outstanding experience. I have stayed at many boutique hotels and this one tops the charts. The service from the beginning to the end of my stay was above and beyond. Each and every staff member was kind, accommodating and incredibly efficient. Elizabeth Adams, the Director of Sales, went above and beyond to make my stay glorious. Elizabeth personally helped me plan my stay and made me feel welcome and “at home” from the second I arrived. The incredible atmosphere, created by the staff, is coupled with the fact that the rooms are absolutely beautiful. The décor is a perfect mix of modern and classic style. The large rooms are then further enhanced by the stunning fireplace and all the amenities one expects at a five star hotel. The room and bathroom were very clean and spacious. Little touches, like the availability of a chauffeured car, really set this place apart. This hotel is in the perfect location on Beacon Hill, in the center of the city, only minutes from Boston Common and many historical sites, theaters and restaurants. This will be the only place I stay in Boston in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, very comfortable and they treat you like family. The location is excellent. The house car was ALWAYS available to take you wherever you wanted to go the drivers are very nice people Paul, Mark and Jose were very helpful . The concierge was also excellent john was very knowable and always willing to help. The room was excellent to as well as the bathroom. They have a small but nice gym so you can workout a little.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
#18 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage XV Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.