We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added XV Beacon to your Saves list
XV Beacon
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108 (Beacon Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have stayed here multiple times for business and pleasure. It is situated along the Freedom Trail. The staff is friendly and service oriented. The Restaurant, Moo, serves amazing steak and seafood and has won numerous awards. Rooms are large and have fireplaces. No pool or real exercise room beyond a couple of machines. Would not stay here with kids, but a great business or couples hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    137
    30
    22
    9
See reviews for
109
395
36
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed 1 night as part of a group. Room lovely, loved the fireplace, but the hotel cannot get cell phone service in the rooms. They said it was due to it being old property, but really in this day and age I am not interested in going outside to be able to use my cell phone especially for 400 a night.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The guest room was very large and very well appointed in a masculine and classic style. Location was great for walking the popular sights and enjoying the Boston Common. Staff was friendly and helpful with late checkout and providing transportation to airport.

Room Tip: Corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the XV Beacon for 3 nights in September 2012. Firstly the location is great - albeit a little busy. Beacon Hill is close to everything and a lovely place to walk around. The hotel itself is fairly small and very traditional in style. The lobby is tiny. However the rooms are fairly large and very comfortable. I had high expectations and in general it lived up to those although it's not a place that instantly wows you.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here last weekend and endorse it fully. I booked using Amex FHR program. We were upgraded to a corner room on the 10th floor at check in and offered check out at 4pm. The room was well appointed and spacious. It was somewhere between Vegas sheek and Four Season timeless. The location of the property made walking the first option often. With the advent of services such as trip advisor, yelp, and zagat we don't take full advantage of concierge services but whenever we asked for confirmation or reassurance of place we selected the concierge was most helpful. Possibly our favorite feature of the hotel was the courtesy car. In most cases the house car was a Rolls Royce Ghost. Some times we were forced to "settle" for one of the house Lexus'. Great place. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A New Yorker raving about anything "Boston". Well, here goes....I stayed at the XV Beacon for one night but seeing that is was my first time at the hotel, I arrived early to check in. From the get go, I felt like a long time returning guest. The doorman/valet quickly approached me as I pulled up in my car and greeted me. Entering the hotel I felt like I was in a wealthy friends estate. Extremely tastefully decorated with the warmth of a "family" feeling. My room was on the 10th floor and was extremely elegant, but with a comfortable vibe. Nice working area, excellent lighting and fixtures. The fireplace is an awesome touch and felt like I was in a british novel as I worked in my room for a few hours. I never left or entered the hotel without being greeted with a hello or goodbye. I rarely sleep straight through the night at hotels, but at the XV Beacon in my cozy bed, I slept for 8 solid hours. The personal touches here are excellent. The staff seems to really want you to enjoy yourself, and it shows. I had drinks at the bar at Mooo. Cozy bar with plenty of room to relax Had breakfast there the next morning and it was superb. I cannot wait for my next trip to Boston so I can see everyone again at the the XV Beacon. Highly reccomend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We really liked the hotel. Here are the best things about it: 1) Very quiet. We went to bed early every night and napped during the day and I didn't hear one noise. Not in the street, not in the hall, no doors slamming, staff walking about/talking--nothing. I never even saw anyone else on our floor. 2) Complementary car. Every night the hotel's wonderful driver took us to dinner in a Rolls Royce. And he gave us his card and when he was free (most of the time), he picked us back up. Now the car was booked every other time we needed it, but for the evenings we'd booked it ahead it was amazing. 3) Concierge. Took care of everything we needed, was never busy. Negatives: Really there is only one. We arrived about 3:00 and our room wasn't ready. The hotel offered to buy us drinks in the bar while we waited, but I wasn't interested. After a four hour flight I was ready to check in! Our room was ready 45 minutes later, but still, very aggravating. And I'm torn on the location. Part of me liked it because it was so quiet and very close to all the Freedom Trail stuff. We could walk to Faneuil Hall and the North End. It was also very close to Boston Common. On the other hand, it might have been nice to be closer to Newbury. Next time I'll probably give the Taj a try. If I'm being extremely picky the sheets on the bed were very scratchy, but housekeeping made up for it, they were great and had always come when we returned to our room, even if it was around lunchtime and they always did a great turndown service too. If you like quiet luxury boutique hotels I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage XV Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.