We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added XV Beacon to your Saves list
XV Beacon
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108 (Beacon Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

From the horrible internet, broken phones, broken alarm clock/radio, broken switch for stereo, pint-sized room with no space for hairdryer other than the garbage can! ......why come back?! After several stays here we will never return. They put us in a pint sized room with the only storage being a drawer which also housed the extra toilet paper and hair dryer...too many other options to even consider this totally outdated, once lovely hotel where the only words are..."we're sorry"... Stay at the mandarin, taj, westin copley,four seasons, anywhere else.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if they are giving you a horrible room with no space at all for any of your belong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XVBGM, General Manager at XV Beacon, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Although disappointing to read, I do appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us. I immediately met with my management team to review the documentation of the issues you had experienced for this is far from the norm of our service. We were 100% occupied during your stay and when you made your reservation, we only had our Classic room type available (310 sq ft) . This is our smallest size room and was explained via email. Knowing you desired a larger room and since we did not have any available, we place you on our highest floor and gave you a discounted rate due to you being a return guest. I wish we were informed of the items that were not working in the room during your stay. Had we known, we would have rectified the problems. We did test the clock, stereo and phone after your departure and all are in working order. We have recently updated our property since your last in Sept 2011 and continue to do so. We plan to enhance our WiFI technology in 2012 due to the increasing demand. I wish I could go back in time and make your stay with us enjoyable. If we had a larger room to accommodate you, we would have absolutely upgraded you. Again, I am sorry for the unpleasant experience. I do hope you will try us again.
Regards,
Amy Finsilver
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    134
    30
    22
    9
See reviews for
109
380
36
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the XV Beacon as part of our 30th Wedding Anniversary. They certainly did their part to make our stay memorable. From the immediate upgrade to the Commons Studio to the bottle of Sparkles and Nibbles awaiting us in our room the experience was simply superb. The personal touches like setting up the room in the evening with music playing and a kind note on our bed informing us of the weather for the next day all contributed to the very special character that this hotel has. All the staff were very considerate and helpful often anticipating our needs before we had even expressed them.

We had breakfast at the Hotel restaurant which again was excellent (just had fresh fruit and granola with toast), it was well presented and the fruit very fresh. Meals at the restaurant however are expensive.

The only possible criticism would be that the air conditioning is a little noisy and on the first night this was a little disturbing. We found however that we were quite comfortable with the air conditioning off and one of the windows open (it was early October). Street noise was minimal and certainly quieter than the AC unit.

Overall a great experience. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting that extra special hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have stayed in several different hotels in Boston, many of them real class hotels. But the XV Beacon is head and shoulders above the rest. The rooms were incredibly appointed, the bathrooms like new, the sheets/towels of a quality rarely seen in public accommodations and the staff as friendly and unpretentious as you would like. The Moo restaurant is great for dinner, breakfast or just a night cap(unbelievable selection of single malt scotch).

We have a hard time leaving our two Berners at home. They whine when they see us packing. Imagine our delight getting off the elevator and seeing a beautiful Berner there to greet us. The Berner was there with hotel gm Amy Finsilver. We told Amy about our two Berners at home and learned XV welcomes pets. Imagine our delight when we got back to our room hours later and Amy had left us some fresh made dog biscuits for our Berners(which they devoured with delight).

Service, smiles, great rooms,terrific atmosphere, perfect location and a Berner in the lobby---heaven in Boston!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We didn't get to stay long enough to fully take advantage of the wonderful service at this hotel but we very much enjoyed our brief stay. The work area was spacious and light with sufficient outlets nearby. The bed was amazingly comfortable, and the many occasional chairs provided were also comfortable. Our room was in a back corner with a view of next-door buildings, but that was fine for our purposes and we certainly didn't hear any street noise, or noise from the hallway for that matter, from our room. All interactions with the staff, from front desk to housekeeping to room service to checkout were highly professional, friendly and efficient. We really wished we could have relaxed longer at the hotel and will definitely be back. Might I suggest that the hotel consider installing hooks on the back of the bathroom doors? We did have trouble finding places to hang used towels. But that hardly merits consideration in the overall review.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights at the start of our honeymoon - after flying in from the UK, we grabbed a taxi to the hotel and were delighted to be there in 15 minutes, or so
The front desk and concierge were extremely welcoming and we were taken right up to our room, which was a fantastic corner suite overlooking Beacon St. They also welcomed us very nicely with a chilled bottle of Cava as it was our honeymoon
The room was fantastic and extremely comfortable - the fireplace was a lovely touch and the bathroom was well designed and stocked with nice products
The real surprise was the minibar - in all of my travels, I have never seen such an incredibly well-stocked minibar. Right from around 20 choices of premium spirits (small and large bottles) to Krug Champagne. As with most minibars, however, it was extortionately expensive, but it certainly was a nice touch to have it in our room
As we were on the Mr and Mrs Smith deal, we had a breakfast credit to use and we dined in our room on both mornings. Both breakfasts arrived on time and were extremely good
This is a great place to base yourself for a weekend in a great city

Room Tip: Go for a corner suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This place is a great home base for touring Boston. You are walking distance from most of the historic sites and it is very close to the shopping district. The service is impeccable. Jonathan and the concierge staff were amazing. There is a car available for transport as well and the drivers are very professional and helpful as well. We would definitely stay here again when returning to the area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Hands down the most memorable stay I've had. Looking for a place that was romantic, close to shopping, dining, walking in the park....this checked off all those boxes. As we walked into our room, the ambiance was perfect. Surround sound music, including the bathroom. Big tub, nice fireplace. And then a ring at the door bell (oh door bell for our room), with chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of champagne just topped the cake! Truly friendly and amazing people with everyone dealt with at the hotel. The car service offered by the hotel took us back to the airport. It was all just the best experience. Thank you XV Beacon. I can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Room over looking Beacon St was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage XV Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.