We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mix of luxury and average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaport Boston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Seaport Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Seaport Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Seaport Lane, Boston, MA 02210 (South Boston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A mix of luxury and average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010 via mobile

This place was a little confusing on quality. The room was furnished with an out-dated topped built in, with lots of storage. But the other tables were nice wood pieces.
They have a card telling about their pillow library. And various density pillows on the bed. That made me happy. The bed left me nothing to complain about.
The curtians matched the era of the built-in counter top.
The closet was stocked with an extra blanket in a bag. (I'm sure that's good for allergies.) The iron seemed a little better than most hotel irons. There also was a large safe (big enough to fit a laptop). Also a robe and umbrella.
They have Bose radios and keurig coffee makers in the rooms.
Again, the toiletries left me confused. The shampoo was strong smelling and harsh, but everything else seemed mild. I like that they use a pump for soap at the sink. (seems less wasteful)
Something interesting that they had were doorbells on the rooms.
The wireless Internet was free. So was the gym. Which was a real full blown gym with exercise classes. Parking cost us $30 for a 2 night stay.
There is a cafe, bar, and restraunt down stairs. The cafe was great for a quick breakfast. And we got the "trio" for dessert and coffee at the bar. They brought a pot of fresh coffee and the desserts were well worth it.
Oh, and they have a no tipping policy in the hotel. So no maid tip, and tip was added to our bill at the bar.
So overall... We liked it but it fell a tad short of luxury.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,678
    472
    95
    31
    30
See reviews for
420
509
104
980
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

Stayed at the Seaport for three nights in early June. Hotel was half a block from the MBTA Silverline Bus drop off point from the station serving the Convention Centre/World Trade Centre. Made trip from/to Logan Airport very convenient and cheap. Check in was extremely smooth. Room was very clean and view from the 17th floor was terrific. Found walk to Quincy Market area (about 20 minutes) very pleasant, especially as you could walk along along the harbour front. This area of Boston quite nice now that Interstate highway is underground and harbour area is being redeveloped. Stayed in an upper floor room and the soundproofing must be very good. Did not hear much noise from the hallway, and there was a thunderstorm that rolled through one night. It did not wake me up and I did not even know it happened until I turned on the morning news on the TV. Check out also very quick. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

There for a conference, was expecting massive amenities given the nearly $300 per night price tag. The room was small, cramped and not ready when we checked in. The bed was too soft. Housekeeping did not service our room! The concierge - while helpful - was backed up 10 people long. The conference rooms were a two block walk from the hotel. The food was terrible - salad with no dressing, cold rubbery ravioli and the food service was brusque.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

we stayed 2x there. from the waterfront options it seems to be the one you where you get most for your money. recommend the upgrade for waterfront view, especially the corner rooms.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

BEWARE
The Seaport staff assigns the worst room in the hotel to a single, elderly women traveling alone... adjacent to the elevator resulting in a sleepless night. I wasn't aware of the proximity of the elevator until I returned to the room very late or I shoud say early in the morning. VERY NOISY EVEVATOR. This is an expensive hotel, but not as plush as many others where I have stayed in the US with lower rates.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

I think this is an ok hotel however my major complaint it the sub par sleep quality. I guess if you like no firmness at all in a bed then this is a great one for you but if you need support forget it. There was also some noise the second night I was there, a droning mechnical sound kept humming, it took 2 hours to fall asleep. This was probably some a/c unit in another room or I was near the a/c unit for the floor.

TV could be updated, very small, must be an original LCD panel.

Was not able to check the pool or gym, but the pictures looked good.
Was not able to use the restaurant, bar, or deli which all looked inviting.

The conference areas were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Beautiful room, great bed and pillows, excellent service! Really good restaurants in walking distance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaport Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaport Boston Hotel

Address: 1 Seaport Lane, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Boston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaport Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's bustling Seaport District with dozens of Boston's most popular restaurants and attractions within walking distance, the Seaport Hotel Boston offers business and leisure travelers newly renovated guest rooms and a variety of upscale amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access, one of Boston's most luxurious fitness facilities, an indoor pool, complimentary bicycles and beautiful city and harbor views. Seaport Boston is proud to be one of the Boston's greenest hotels. The hotel is five minutes from Logan Airport by taxi, water taxi and the MBTA and offers weekday shuttle service into downtown Boston. Nearby attractions include the Boston Convention & Exhibition Center, the Institute for Contemporary Art, the Boston Children's Museum, Boston's pedestrian friendly Harborwalk and the Blue Hills Bank Pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seaport Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaport Hotel Boston
Boston Seaport Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaport Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.