We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Boston Downtown” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall to your Saves list
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Broad Street, Boston, MA 02110 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Wi-Fi
Ranked #57 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hilton Boston Downtown”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Hilton Boston Downtown i booked for the reason that i thought it had the same good standard and breakfast and all other services i know Hilton is world wide known for...but unfort. This hotel is nothing like a normal hilton hotel so please be aware.

The most frustrating and disappointing experience was the breakfast, or please let me re-frase that to the lack of breakfast and service in there.

I mean this is really something else in this place, totally disastrous.

When this was pointed out to the manager he just ignored it, not even a apology.

I never been in this hotel before and i will never ever go back or recommend anyone to go and stay in this hotel as there are so much better hotels in Boston in good locations, two examples are the Marriott hotel and the Langham hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Helibirds,

We're very sorry and concerned to hear that you did not have a good experience with your breakfast. Our business partner, Nix's Mate Restaurant, strives to meet Hilton standards, and we will follow up with them about your experience. We have sent a direct message to you in hopes that we may discuss this in more detail. We hope that you enjoyed our hotel accommodations and that the rest of your stay was more than satisfactory. We look forward to continuing our discussion.

Best regards,

Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    349
    168
    42
    31
See reviews for
212
261
30
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed at the Hilton during a big snow event January 21st. Was very pleased when I entered the room to find it was a large corner king room. Had a large room with a chair and a large bathroom. The room was very clean and everything was in working order.

Located near shopping and several nice restaurants. Had dessert and breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Was good, but expensive. Quick walk to Quincy Market as well.

Staff was very nice and the doormen were so helpful.

Really enjoyed this hotel and I am very picky! Kept checking the rate and actually got the room for a great price so really felt like I lucked out.

Would book again, but would recommend you go elsewhere for better food at a better value.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner king!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My mother and I stayed at this hotel from January 8th-13th. The doormen (both morning and evening were kind and very welcoming). We had an issue with our fridge (my mother is a diabetic), but maintenance arrived after a late return that evening. The room was a decent size, and is easily accessible to so many wonderful eateries and bars. Get out and explore. Faneuil Hall is a must. We walked to TD Garden daily. This was less than a mile away, and went sight seeing.
However, my sincerest praise goes to the front desk manager, Matthew Harrison. After an initial problem with personal items being thrown out, and not getting anywhere, he contacted me personally. He wrote down the items that were lost and went shopping to replace them. To have someone consider their customers as a top priority is something that I will never forget. I have written to the Hilton company in support of this man and I sincerely hope he understands how much we appreciate his hospitality.
A co worker of mine is taking her daughter to Boston to visit colleges and based on my experiences, she has booked with this hotel.
Thank you, we appreciate everything you have done for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our Front Office Manager, Matthew. We're extremely proud to have Matthew on our team. We're sorry that we created a concern in the first place, but delighted to hear that Matthew was able to "make it right" for you. Thanks again for staying with us and for recommending us to your colleague. We are excited that we can be part of their college search. We hope we will also see you back in Boston soon as well. Sincerely,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Hotel comfortable and great location. Good beds. Staff helpful. Many restaurants nearby to eat. Hotel restaurant very casual, expensive and not a good variety, in my opinion. Room Service quite pricey.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed here for the 2014 US Figure Skating Championships as it was one of the official skating hotels. I lived in Boston for 4 years from 2007-2011 so I'm very familiar with Boston. That being said, although this hotel was less than a mile from the Garden, and very close to some T stops, I didn't realize how dead the area gets at night. It's a little sketchy after business hours (starting at 6pm), especially once it's gets dark and you get within .3 miles or so of the hotel. That's to be expected of the financial district, but still. The location, overall, is great in that it's close to multiple T stops. The hotel itself is very clean and the room was massive. I stayed for 5 nights, 3 by myself, 2 with some friends. I was impressed with the hotel.

However, I do have a few negative things to mention:
1. The doormen were ridiculous. I arrive and I'm trying to pay my cab (who took me the longest way ever from the airport to the hotel) and the doorman is taking my suitcase out of the cab. I get that maybe he's trying to be helpful, but I'll tell you if I want you to touch my things. I don't want you to touch my things and I don't want to have to tip you because you moved my suitcase 10 feet. Fast forward to when I'm leaving, I ordered an uber to take me to the airport so I was waiting outside for the uber and then trying to find the uber based on the license plate on my phone, and every doorman was trying to talk to me and help me and get me a cab. It was ridiculous. I know it's their job and that they want tips, but if I need help, again, I will ask. Leave me alone.
2. At check out, I wanted to do the express check out where you just call on your phone to check out. None of my phones in my room were working so I had to go down to the front desk to check out.
3. When I arrived to check in (and it was obvious I had just arrived with a suitcase and needed to check in), no one pointed me in the direction of the check-in desk, which isn't exactly in an obvious location since it's in the back of the hotel instead of the front of the hotel on Broad St.

Besides all of that, the hotel was very big and clean. The maids provided free water bottles everyday as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us for the 2014 Figure Skating Championships. We were proud to be an official hotel for the event. We’re delighted you found your room clean and comfortable and the location convenient to all your activities in Boston. We sincerely appreciate the honest feedback regarding our service. We always want to welcome new guests with guidance to the front desk, and we regret you didn’t receive this. Likewise, we apologize that our team seemed obtrusive at those times you did not desire assistance. We do hope to see you back in 2016 for the World Figure Skating Championships.

Sincerely,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I spent New Year's Eve in Boston. We were able to easily walk to the Faneuil Hall and the North End. The hotel was really central for our visit. We had a view of the harbor from our room and we could even see the New Year's Eve fireworks! Bonus! Beautiful room with a comfy bed. Friendly and professional staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for ringing in the New Year with us. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Boston!
Sincerely,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecil, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was here a week. That gave me lots of time to evaluate the property. To a man, or woman, the staff here was just great. They answered questions, gave advice, solved problems with my stay, and even had a doorman who helped me in with my bags.
The tale of the room was another matter. While the public areas were appealing, the following was the conditions in my room: wall paper that was beginning to peel, a toilet with a defective flap valve that made the tank keep noisily refilling, a lamp that did not work, a slippery bath tub not equipped with a rubber mat, and a leaky sink faucet.
When I first got to take a shower, I thought the absence of a tub mat meant that I would not slide around on the surface. I guess the friction strips on the tub bottom had worn thin since I went down with my first shower. I told the front desk what had happened and then they sent me a tub mat. Thank goodness I had skated in my younger years and was thus in Boston for a skating event.
Not my favorite hotel since I have found my recent stays at Hilton's Garden Inn and Doubletree did not show these defects.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a high number after the floor designation. I was stuck for a week looking out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your long stay and providing your candid feedback. We sincerely appreciate the kind words regarding the wonderful service you received from our team. We sincerely apologize for the deficiencies you found in the condition of your room. Prior to your stay, we did just refresh all our rooms with new carpeting, new in room safes and new chrome fixtures in the bathroom. We are very sorry that we let you down in missing the areas you mentioned. More importantly, the safety and security of our guests is our top concern. We have sent you a direct message in the hopes that we can follow up with you as well as identify your reservation so we can be sure to review your specific room.
Sincerely,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall

Address: 89 Broad Street, Boston, MA 02110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#39 Family Hotel in Boston
#52 Business Hotel in Boston
#53 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 as Boston, Massachusetts' first Art Deco skyscraper, the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall hotel is the ideal blend of historic charm and modern flair. The hotel is centrally located downtown just two blocks from the Harbor and near many attractions, dining and shopping options. The Hilton is a premier 4-Diamond full-service hotel with 403 deluxe guestrooms & suites. It features the full-service Nix's Mate restaurant, owned and operated by Bostonian Hospitality Group, serving subtly sophisticated regional cuisine, and a comfortable lounge. The Hilton also features a brand new, state-of-the-art fitness center and over 10,000 sq. Ft of meeting space. At the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall our team is committed to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Downtown / Financial District Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Hilton Boston Financial District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.