We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Survey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall to your Saves list
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Broad Street, Boston, MA 02110 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Wi-Fi
Ranked #56 of 77 Hotels in Boston
A TripAdvisor Member
“Survey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Parking and internet seems to be a matter of concerns in busy cities like Boston. In my opinion these should be included in the room charges so the guests can stay worry free and without extra charges.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    315
    150
    39
    26
See reviews for
198
234
26
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Most aspects of the hotel were OK. However, we had to leave the hotel early (7 am) to catch a plane and tried to get an early breakfast (6 am to 615 am). We were unable to do so as the earliest breakfast was at 7 am, but with a strech to 6 45 am. The documents about the hotel in the room were totally inconsistent about what time a breakfast could be obtained. At various points, it said 6 am 6 30 am and 7 pm. In talking to reception, they indicated that the area serving breakfast was contracted out and thus Hilton had no control over serving times. For a Hilton hotel and their brand, I feel it not acceptable not to be able get a breakfast at 6 am and to blame it on others even worse. They could not explain the discepancies in the room documents either. A weak cop-out by reception with no real desire to pass the comments on or at least to get the correct information in the room documents. Also, for Hilton to set a contract with an external supplier to not have early breakfasts is weak.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write about it. I'm terribly sorry for your experience with breakfast on the last day of your stay. it is true that we do work with a strategic partner on food and beverage offerings, Nevertheless, I absolutely agree that it is our responsibility to ensure that our guests receive accurate information and have appealing options available. I assure you that we are urgently addressing this. We do hope we will see you back on your next trip to Boston.
Sincerely,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Near bars and few short blocks to T and shops. No free in-room wifi but my lower floor room picked up Conference free wifi which is available in lobby (ask for password). Lovely room, comfortable bed and good service. Bar/rest prices high, as usual in good hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Downey, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Your employees were excellent: Barry Buchanan, Ali and Chris (Doorman). Thank these men for us. Our room was clean, quiet, and the maid service was wonderful. Elevators were quick and efficient. Perfect location for Boston-tourists.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to recogize some of our great team members. It will be our pleasure to share your comments with our doormen Barry and Chris and bellman Ali. I'm glad these gentlemen and our hotel were able to enhance your time in Boston. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The carpet was spotted and groungy looking. The furnishings appeared worn. The smell was less than "clean." The bathroom wall tile was cracked around the tub/shower. Discoloration seemed to be occuring in between the shower tile, as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your honest input and apologize you were disappointed in the comfort and appointment of your guestroom. While your room should always be clean and well maintained, we are in the middle of major project to change the carpeting and add other improvements to all our guestrooms. We will use your comments to guide us as revisit all our rooms prior to year end. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to quality hospitality.
Sincerely,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

First up, I'm going to caveat this review. I travel A LOT for work, mostly to the Middle East where the hotel rooms are all new and absolutely huge. This has totally warped my views of hotels, but there you go! Also, on this occasion I booked my hotel room on air miles. This pretty much always means you get one of the smaller/less good rooms. I was free, so I can't complain too much, but it does mean I can't vouch for the kind of room I might have got if I'd booked through my corporate travel agent!

OK. On to the real stuff.

I had a room with one king bed, and it wasn't big at all - I was glad it was just me! I suspect the twin rooms are much bigger, just to fit the beds in if nothing else. The wardrobe door was rather shabby, and had holes in where it'd been opened into the security lock of the door to the room. Not particularly what I'd expect from a Hilton - I'd normally expect them to be more on top of the maintenance. But otherwise the room was in good condition, the air con worked (and even showed C as well as F - BRILLIANT for those of us of the metric persuasion), and the bathroom was nice and clean with enough amenities (although shower gel would have been nice - I'm not really a soap girl for some reason). My room was in one of the indentations you can see on the front of the hotel, so it didn't get a lot of daylight. But really I was only using it to sleep in, so that wasn't particularly an issue.

The only staff I really interacted with was the doorman who sorts out taxis, and he was great. Managed to find me a big cab at 8am on a Saturday and knew exactly where I wanted to go from my flaky description!

The big selling point of this hotel for me was the location - close to the blue line for easy access to the airport (2 stops from Aquarium), close to lots of other T lines, close to Quincy Market for lots of food options in a solo traveller-friendly environment, close to the Freedom Trail for sightseeing. It's also a nice quiet area as it's predominantly businesses which makes things nice and relaxed in the evening and at weekends.

I'd stay again just for the location, but would definitely book a twin room to get the room size.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted that your room was comfortable and our doorman was able to expertly get you to your destination in the city. Thank you for the honest feedback on the room condition. We sincerley appreciate the reminder to be more vigilant correcting issues caused when furnishings in the room collide. We look forward to your next trip to Boston.
Sincerely,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for three nights just this past week and got off to a rough start but doorman made up for it. First off, front desk clerk was clueless and not professional. I called the night before to ask for an early check in as my flight landed at 11AM. I was told they would see what they could do but it wasn't guaranteed. When I arrived I was told that an oversized room (which I had reserved) wasn't ready but I could downgrade to be put into a room immediately. This is the first time I have ever, ever been asked if I wanted to downgrade - I mean really, I'm going to pay more for a lesser room?!?!?! C'mon! So I told the clerk I would wait but I left my number to have her call me when a room was ready. I never got a call and when I went back to the hotel after lunch my room was ready - she just forgot to call me.

Anyway, the hotel is in a great location, the room was nicely appointed, great towels and pillows, nice big TV, really comfortable bed, nice amenities. However, it's loud. You can hear all the street traffic and I was on the 11th floor. Sirens, trucks, dumpsters being emptied, everything. If you are a light sleeper you're not going to get a good nights sleep here at all. Also, the "high speed" wireless internet was anything but. Don't expect great wireless - if you have to get any sort of work done that requires a dependable connection you'll be sitting at the desk using the wired connection.

Finally the last issue is it takes FOREVER to get a car out of valet. it tells you right on the ticket allow for at least 30 minutes but quite honestly it was closer to 40 minutes.

On the bright side, the doorman (wish I could remember his name) was the bright spot of the stay. Super informative, polite, funny, just a great guy all around.

Room Tip: According to the doorman choose a room that faces Broad street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to comment on your stay. Thank you for the wonderful comment on our doorman - we will be sure to share this with the entire team. I appreciate the honest feedback regarding the service and amenities. I'm very sorry for your experience at the front desk, and we will review with our team how we clearly missed an opportunity to get your stay off to a better start. I am surprised to hear noise was such a concern on the 11th floor - I do wonder if we we had a problem with the window seals in your room and we will check that right away. We also did significantly upgrade our wireless Internet just days after your stay. We more than doubled the number of access points serving our guest rooms (and they are a newer generation) and increased our bandwidth tenfold. I'm sorry we didn't have that in place during your stay, but hope we will get the chance to share it with on your next trip to Boston.
Sincerely,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall

Address: 89 Broad Street, Boston, MA 02110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#33 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 as Boston, Massachusetts' first Art Deco skyscraper, the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall hotel is the ideal blend of historic charm and modern flair. The hotel is centrally located downtown just two blocks from the Harbor and near many attractions, dining and shopping options. The Hilton is a premier 4-Diamond full-service hotel with 362 deluxe guestrooms & suites. It features the full-service Nix’s Mate restaurant, serving subtly sophisticated regional cuisine, and a comfortable lounge. The Hilton also features a brand new, state-of-the-art fitness center and over 10,000 sq. ft of meeting space. At the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall our team is committed to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Downtown / Financial District Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Hilton Boston Financial District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.