We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall to your Saves list
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Broad Street, Boston, MA 02110 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Wi-Fi
Ranked #56 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Whilst the hotel is in a great location and the room we paid for was exactly as described - we were let down on our stay here by small things that really matter to us.

We paid for parking within our rate, but when giving the car to the valet he warned me that they sometimes double charge so to check my bill. It turned out to be a great tip as they had charged me twice. When you have paid for a presidential suite, you don't want to be treated like a mug and have to go through the hassle of arguing your bill.

As a diamond member we were given breakfast vouchers for the main area as they "don't have a lounge at this time". The breakfast shambles can only be described as a scene from Fawlty Towers. You wouldn't send your worst enemy to be subjected to the farcical scenes and downright rude employees at this location.

Sadly in the evening the location is less useful as there are no local places to get snacks from and most things near the hotel are shut.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    315
    148
    39
    26
See reviews for
196
229
25
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed our weekend stay at the Hilton Boston Downtown at Faneuil Hall. Dining in an unfamilar city can be a challenge and Barry's recommendations made the difference between a memorable stay and a disaster. His recommendations were spot on and he easily segued from place to place based on our dietary restrictions. He never made us feel demanding (though we are) and always had a smile. We travel extesively and the quality of the staff equaled and generally exceed that in Europe. Though the decor is dated and in need of refurbishment, the thoroughly professional staff more than made up for any shortfalls of the building. We were cordially welcomed when we checked in and offered a nice upgrad to a suite at a nominal fee pr $50.00 per night. It was far superior to the standard room and worth it if your budget can absorb the extra cost. The only significant drawback was the noise from the restaurant during party nights on Friday & Saturday. It was LOUD. We aren't sticks-in-the mud and like to party as much as the next person, but this was really excessive. If they don't address this, I'm afraid it will hurt future bookings. All in all, a great experience. We had a great trip to Boston where everything worked out well.

Room Tip: Go for a suite and on a high floor to escape weekend pary noise from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Faneuil Hall Hilton is a terrific property which has been updated and is well appointed. The service is excellent and if you have any challenges, Michael is adept and responsive to "making it right"

Be sure to check out the restaurant. It is a step above most hotel restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triangle, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days.
The guest service was excellent.
They upgraded the room for signing in to Membership.
Also the restaurant was open late night which was convenient after a long day out sightseeing

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great location downtown, very nicely appointed hotel. Easy access to airport and local restaurants. Staff were friendly and courteous and the bed was divine. Restaurant was good although the food choices were more bar food than healthier choices. The number of screens in the bar was a little overwhelming and as much as i enjoy a good sports event, their presence made it difficult to have a intimate conversation with friends. Still enjoyable nonetheless.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Great location in the very centre of boston. All main attractions within walking distance.

rooms ok as you would expect from hilton,friendly staff.

expensive but all boston hotel are.

my two complains are that they charge 15usd for wifi in the room what is ridiculous. We travelled for over two weeks in the usa and was the only hotel charging for this.
Free wifi in the lobby is not good enough.

They also advertise an airport shuttle but it does not exist. Taxi is about 20 bucks so not a major issue.
.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island,New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were greeted by their friendly and efficient doormen and were able to check in around noon. The concierge desk advised using the hop on hop off Old Town Trolley. Great advice! The room was spotless. The hotel was centrally located within walking distance of many attractions.All in all a great one night stay.Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall

Address: 89 Broad Street, Boston, MA 02110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#35 Family Hotel in Boston
#53 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 as Boston, Massachusetts' first Art Deco skyscraper, the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall hotel is the ideal blend of historic charm and modern flair. The hotel is centrally located downtown just two blocks from the Harbor and near many attractions, dining and shopping options. The Hilton is a premier 4-Diamond full-service hotel with 362 deluxe guestrooms & suites. It features the full-service Nix’s Mate restaurant, serving subtly sophisticated regional cuisine, and a comfortable lounge. The Hilton also features a brand new, state-of-the-art fitness center and over 10,000 sq. ft of meeting space. At the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall our team is committed to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Downtown / Financial District Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Hilton Boston Financial District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.