We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Declining hotel, dirty floors, ok location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall to your Saves list
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Broad Street, Boston, MA 02110 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Wi-Fi
Ranked #57 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Declining hotel, dirty floors, ok location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Rating details:
Room type:2 dbl beds
Floor: 1, stains
Mattress: 2, lumpy and saggy
Odor: 2, generally stale
HVAC: 3, closet-style unit but noisy
Desk area: 3
Bathroom area: 3 smallish
Other areas: n/a
Cleanliness: 3
Staff: 4
Noise: 4, corner room was quiet but A/C was noisy
Comments: First room had many significant stains on the carpet. I was shown three other rooms all of which also had stains, three of these were on the Hilton Honors floor. They should seriously invest in a steam cleaner and then pay someone to use it.

Room Tip: Corner room was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    349
    168
    42
    31
See reviews for
212
261
30
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, MA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a weekend trip into Boston recently.
When we checked into the hotel the service was excellent!! When we were going to our room all we could hear was dogs barking from the hallway. I was surprised that a high end hotel would allow dogs. Later that night I complained to the front desk and was assured that the barking would stop. We went out to dinner at Nix's Mate at the hotel and when we returned the barking continued!! And continued into the next morning!! I was very angry, but my husband does not like to complain, so I didn't persist any further...
On Sunday morning we decided to go out to breakfast at the hotel what an experience that was...it was disorganized to say the least!! There was not a hostess to seat us...when one finally came to seat us...we were asked if we had "coupons from the hotel"...we did not. At that point we were seated and told that the cold items were continential and the hot items were $20 per person...Not once did a member of their weight staff come to greet us or ask us if we wanted coffee...not to mention that most of the items for breakfast were terribly picked over!! The only hot item my husband and I got were some homefries...which were obviously old!! I was very upset when a waitress came over to us and just handed me the bill...No coffee...NOTHING!! And then we had to pay just about $50 for a terrbile breakfast!!
I must say we typically try to visit Boston several times a year...we will NOT be coming back here!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Ma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Location is central and very accessible by walking. The employees were all very kind and very courteous. The room was nice however we were there on the very hot July 4th weekend. teh A/C in the room was set to 60 and barely cooled the room. It is an older facility so we understood given the temp outside. I would entertain another stay there if the need arose.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nothing bad to say, great service and good quality. Rooms are clean, and staff always helpful. The hotel is located in a Financial District, which is a business area where all the large banks and institutions have they're HQ. Qlso close to downtown, very convenient for discovering Boston while not beeing too far away from the hotel. One thing I would say though, the value for money is probably not the best as the food and others services in the hotel are quite expensive, but I'm just beeing picky here and it's probably the same for all hotel of the same level in this area and probably in whole Boston.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The room was very nice and everyone was very friendly. Their guest services were excellent. However, the food in the restaurant and for in-room dining for breakfast was excellent. Many options, excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

First of all, this hotel is perfectly located downtown Boston. Friendly staff as well.
But, as a diamond HHonors member I was more expecting from the breakfast. They just offering a continental breakfast for free. I choose to get some scrambled eggs as well, price 10 dollars. I thought it was a big joke. This doesn't feel as a warm welcome. Most of the other Hilton does to me.
There is no executive lounge in the hotel, not problems for me, but why not a bit more offering for breakfast, just to compensate the miss of a lounge.
Anyhow, I'm staying here until September 5th, just because of the great location... but next time I perhaps go back to the Hilton Logan Airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleboro, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

All employees we came across in lobby, restaurant, front desk, were exceptional. Very friendly and courteous. Particulary helpful and friendly was the doorman named Barry, helped us with any questions we had about the area. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall

Address: 89 Broad Street, Boston, MA 02110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#39 Family Hotel in Boston
#52 Business Hotel in Boston
#53 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 as Boston, Massachusetts' first Art Deco skyscraper, the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall hotel is the ideal blend of historic charm and modern flair. The hotel is centrally located downtown just two blocks from the Harbor and near many attractions, dining and shopping options. The Hilton is a premier 4-Diamond full-service hotel with 403 deluxe guestrooms & suites. It features the full-service Nix's Mate restaurant, owned and operated by Bostonian Hospitality Group, serving subtly sophisticated regional cuisine, and a comfortable lounge. The Hilton also features a brand new, state-of-the-art fitness center and over 10,000 sq. Ft of meeting space. At the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall our team is committed to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Downtown / Financial District Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Hilton Boston Financial District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.