We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall to your Saves list
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Broad Street, Boston, MA 02110 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Wi-Fi
Ranked #56 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Perfect location for sight seeing in Boston. Convenient to Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market/Long Warf/Hop On Hop Off Trolleys and several T-lines. Within walking distance from Boston South Amtrak Station. Easy to get to Symphony Hall but do allow enough time for the slooow Green Line. Our room was just what we needed. I did reserve using Hilton Honors Points and we had comped WiFi and continental breakfast. I was disappointed that there is no executive lounge at this location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We couldn't agree more with your comments on our location. We're glad it enhanced your time in Boston. We sincerely appreciate that you chose to redeem your hard-earned Hilton HHonors points at our property. We do hope to see you on your next trip to Boston.
Best regards,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    315
    149
    39
    26
See reviews for
197
230
25
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Given the rate charged, I was very disappointed. From a location perspective, this hotel is central to Fanuel Hall, the waterfront, etc. With that said, the service and amenities were disappointing. The breakfast buffet is expensive and not very good. The quality of the food items are lacking as is the wait staff. We had to wait a considerable time for the omelette chef to return to his station, as well, as ask our hostess to get our waitress so we could pay our bill. The room was clean, but incredibly warm. I had to run the cooling system continuously on high to keep the room cool and comfortable. On the final day of our stay we were without hot water. I had to call down to the front desk to be told it was "out" and there was no estimate as to a repair. It would have been nice to be notified without having to call. Even after I called down to the front desk the attendant didn't offer any type of understanding of the problem or apology. I cannot recommend this hotel. And I certainly won't be returning anytime soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for the honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We did encounter an emergency issue with our steam supply that disrupted our hot water the morning of your departure. While it was repaired by 9:15 am, we completely understand how thus surprise event led to an uncomfortable and difficult morning. I apologize that our team didn't communicate better with you during the event. We were able to inform all our in house guests via a letter and departed guests for whom we had an email on file that the issue was permanently resolved. Our team has since installed additional redundancies to ensure this same issue cannot reoccur. Thank you for helpful feedback as well on the breakfast service. We know that exceptional service and a problem-free stay are the cornerstones of a pleasant experience. We hope you will stay with us the next time you return to the area so we may show you the complete quality experience you expect and deserve.
Best regards,
Brian Martens
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario,canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We traveled here to meet with friends in the city. We chose a Hilton due to its reputation and we were NOT disappointed. They helped us with everything we needed, even offering for us to use their personal computer behind the reception area so we could email our kids to let them know we were there safely.
They treated us very nicely with exception to one single staff member (but maybe it was a bad day for them...).

We loved our room and loved the view and would never chose another place to stay in when we go back to Boston.

Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for completing the review. We are extremely proud to hear that we are your chosen home in Boston. Thank you for the wonderful compliments on our team although we are disheartened to hear that one person didn't match the others. We will plan to see you on your next stay in Boston.
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is a 1920s skyscraper in the Financial District, close to Faneuil Hall. As a consequence, the rooms have high ceilings, but they have been modernised. Unfortunately, none of them are smoking rooms - in fact no facilities for smokers exist at this hotel, which is par for the course in fanatical anti-smoking Boston. Smokers are cast onto the pavement, with no seats or cover.
There is one on-site restaurant which serves modern American food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your stay and for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay overall. It is true that Boston ordinances do not allow smoking in any location inside a hotel. We appreciate the comments regarding how the exterior areas could be made more accommodating.
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with my sister and we couldn't have been happier with the choice. The location is perfect - walking distance to everything you could ever want to see, and about 3 minutes from the Aquarium stop on the blue line for when you get too tired to take another step. The staff is top-notch - very friendly and helpful, and always willing to answer questions or give advice. This is in the financial district, so the area gets very quiet on the weekends, except the bar on the main floor (Nix's Mate), which got crazy on Saturday night. We had read the reviews here, so asked for a higher floor to avoid the noise - they put us on the 9th and we didn't hear a thing.

Our room had 2 double beds, with windows that open (I love that in a hotel) and was easily big enough for the 2 of us. Great bathroom - lots of hot water and the best showerhead I have ever had in a hotel. Housekeeping was terrific - bringing extra pillows, hangers and a robe within 10 minutes of our call.

I would stay here again any time - can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room to avoid the noise from the bar on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We especially appreciate the wonderful comments on our helpful and accommodating team members. We're glad you found your room comfortable and shower luxurious. Of course, we couldn't be more fortunate with our location. It's great to hear that your room was quiet. Also, as of this writing, our restaurant has discontinued DJ events on Saturday nights for the foreseeable future. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Good hotel. Stayed in a king room. Small room, but adequate for a business traveler. Not next to, but within walking distance of a few T stations (~10 minutes). Good proximity to major Boston locations (North end, Boston Common, Public Garden, etc). Fitness facility is limited (which is typical of most hotels), but they did offer a pass to a local gym if the fitness facility did not meet your needs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently for a week. The location is ideal: close to many attractions and to the subway line that takes one quickly and easily to the airport. We were upgraded to a suite that was very nice. Having windows that open is great. The hotel's amenities are wonderful, including five newspapers, high-end toiletries and bathrobes. All staff members are friendly and professional and the hotel itself is quiet, allowing for a peaceful sleep. We will definitely stay at this hotel during our next visit.

Room Tip: A high floor away from elevators and the vending machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall

Address: 89 Broad Street, Boston, MA 02110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#35 Family Hotel in Boston
#53 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 as Boston, Massachusetts' first Art Deco skyscraper, the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall hotel is the ideal blend of historic charm and modern flair. The hotel is centrally located downtown just two blocks from the Harbor and near many attractions, dining and shopping options. The Hilton is a premier 4-Diamond full-service hotel with 362 deluxe guestrooms & suites. It features the full-service Nix’s Mate restaurant, serving subtly sophisticated regional cuisine, and a comfortable lounge. The Hilton also features a brand new, state-of-the-art fitness center and over 10,000 sq. ft of meeting space. At the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall our team is committed to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Downtown / Financial District Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Hilton Boston Financial District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.