We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy hotel with history in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Boston Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Boston Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Boston Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Tremont Street, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #72 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Seaford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Comfy hotel with history in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

What a pleasant surprise after the horror of Long Wharf to come in a gracious building (it used to be an Elks lodge) and get a good welcome with a spacious room on the top floor. Fantastic views of the city. They have a key card for the front door and the lift so we felt secure and the doorman was always around. Managed to get some healthy choices at breakfast which is always a plus in USA and they have a little Food market selling salads, rolls and microwavable meals. Free wifi is a big plus too and tea and coffee in the foyer.

Lots of restaurants all round as this is theatre district and Boston Common just up the street with 2 subway stops. Watch out for the pair of hawks resting on top of the baseball pitch floodlights on the Common!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    234
    271
    153
    82
See reviews for
117
237
72
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, LA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

My husband and I and his whole extended family stayed here for his sister's graduation from Emerson College. Apart from it being right across the street from Emerson, our experience was AWEFUL. The hotel is situated between TWO night clubs! Unless your room is a suite located on the 12th floor, you can hear the BOOM BOOM rhythm of music from about 10:30PM to EXACTLY 3 AM every night (better on Sunday). People are lined up outside the clubs smoking and blocking/confusing the entrance to the hotel. The music gets so loud, it literally sounds like it is in the next room. . .

Speaking of your neighbor, you will be able to hear EVERYTHING because the walls are so thin! The rooms are EXTREMELY small, the beds are NOT COMFORTABLE (very hard), and the bathrooms even smaller! (Can barely fit two people in at once) The shower is only a shower stall. We were given a room that the AC was broken and it got very hot in our room- we later switched to a higher floor with AC that worked. It is also about a 20min cab ride anywhere you go- but can walk to China Town.

Long story short- this hotel is NOT worth the price, and unless you plan on "Clubbing" for the entire night, you won't be able to get any sleep.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toms river
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott Tremont for my daughters graduation. The hotel was clean... that is the positive. The rooms are very small and basic. There is a very small bathroom, with a small stall shower with a plan beige plastic shower curtain. The price was a little over $200.00 per night. I think I could have found a nicer hotel for that price. Possibly one which included parking, that was $60.00 extra for the two nights. I could have put that money toward a better hotel and had free parking. Some of the hotels do offer parking. Street parking is NOT an option in Boston. Will not return.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
194 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

Having read the previous reviews I wonder if we stayed at the same hotel. I stayed one night in late April at the outstanding rate of $109 + tax - which for Boston is superb. Its was just the standard rate off the Marriott website.

The hotel is in an excellent location and I was surprised to see one reviewer declare the area as 'unsafe'. I really have to disagree.

The hotel itself is obviously an older building and that, by definition, limits some stuff. I got a huge corner room on one of the upper floors (presumably because I am a Marriott Silver Member) which was excellent. The internet (free wired) worked perfectly and, certainly for me, was not dial-up speed but was fine. The bathroom and other facilities were all of a Courtyard standard.

There is a small gym with reasonable kit all of which was working when I was there.

Despite the fact that there are breakfast outlets a couple of hundred yards down the road I eat in the hotel as I wasn't sure if I'd get any lunch. I had an omelet and juice, coffee, etc and it was fine as well. Slightly pricey at $15 (incl taxes) but its not like the price isn't advertised.

Staff were fine. The only thing I would comment upon is that the elevators were looking somewhat old and jaded.

So, in summary, there was nothing which would make me recommend this hotel unreservedly. On the other hand there was nothing which would make me not recommend the hotel. A solid 3 stars.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

I was very surprised to walk into the lobby, which should be quiet, to find a wedding party going on. I could barely hear the front desk clerks. Parking was $40 by valet. Once we got to our room, it was very tiny even though we'd been given a corner room. The bathroom was so small that it had a pocket door and a stand up shower stall. It is pretty typical in size of the older hotels in the city, but it wasn't in great shape. The carpets were worn and the beds were jiggly and old. The cable TV channel selections were very limited and they only had wired internet access. Our toilet backed up on the first flush, but they came quickly to fix it.

The staff was very friendly and breakfast was great, though I though overpriced. There is no restaurant, but they had some great suggestions of places that delivered, so that was nice, but with nothing but a desk and two beds in the room, we had no place to eat except on the bed. There is no pool, and I don't know if they had a fitness center.

I wish we had stayed at the Courtyard South Boston which I had used before. We picked this one because we were going to a Sox game and it was on the green line. I wish we'd stayed in South Boston and just dealt with changing trains at Park Street. I loved the one in South Boston.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

I stayed at the Tremont about 4-5 years ago when it was being renovated. I decided to try the hotel again for a short trip over the Easter weekend. The hotel looked better and the room was much more confortable. The hotel was also very clean.

However, based on my experience I wouldn't recommend staying in the Tremont. After being out for dinner I came back to the hotel at abour 10:00. There was really loud dance music coming into the room. I gave it half an hour and then called reception to complain - someone came up ten minutes later and said they there was a function going on in the rooms below but that it would be over by 11:00.

I thought that this was fair enough and looked forward to getting some peace and quiet at 11:00. At 11:05 the music stopped - only to be replaced by a live grunge band. Things in the room started vibrating and I could hear every word and bang on the drumb. I called reception and spoke to an extremely rude person who told me that the hotel had a long established night club and that I should have been aware that it would be noisy. I knew that there was a nightclub on the ground floor - I was on the 6th floor - and that the noise couldn't be coming from here. He denies that there was a function on the fifth floor which I knew was a lie.

The noise continued so I decided to go down to the fifth floor to see what on earth was going on. There was some big party which was going on until 2:00. I went down to reception and was now pretty tired. The reception staff were awful. They got angry that I had gone onto the fith floor to find out what was going on. They told me that the people had paid to have a function there and that I should be prepared to put up with the noise. They were completely disinterested, rude and clearly didn't care about customer service.

I really wouldn't stay at the this hotel again. It would be fine for student groups or people who don't mind their rooms vibrating with every drumb and cymbal beat!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Hotel is in a really bad area, unsafe to walk at night. Three piles of puke within a block this morning???? Construction next door. No place nearby for breakfast or to buy wine. room was tiny, free internet ran at dialup speeds. Every night they shut off the ac, so the room was uncomfortably warm every morning. Staff seemed disinterested. This place is a pit and Marriott is ruining its brand image because this property is way below standard.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Boston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston Downtown

Address: 275 Tremont Street, Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Boston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Boston Downtown/Tremont Hotel Boston
Courtyard Boston Tremont Hotel
Boston Marriott
Boston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Boston Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.