We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and adequate, but definitely nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Boston Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Boston Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Boston Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Tremont Street, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #73 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean and adequate, but definitely nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Good location in downtown - you can walk to many restaurants, bars, and theaters. The lobby was under construction when I was there and it looks like it will be nice once they finish. The rooms were clean and the staff was nice. That said, the rooms are bare bones - old TVs, old decor, old everything. My room was set up in such a weird configuration that I had to turn sideways to scoot through between the wall and desk to get to the bed. I could hear my neighbor sneeze. The water pressure was bad. Would only stay here again if everything else in the area was sold out or much more expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Michelle S,
Thanks for your recent review. We appreciate your high rating on our cleanliness, kind staff and great location within walking distance to the many restaurants, bars, and theaters in downtown Boston. We are excited about the renovation. While the rooms will never be large, the new design makes them much more functional and comfortable. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    224
    258
    152
    80
See reviews for
109
227
72
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel is undergoing a massive renovation - and it's needed. I was in a non-renovated room. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are very small. The tvs only tilt up and down and not side to side - it's very difficult to see the tv from most of the bed. The hotel room walls are very scuffed and EXTREMELY thin. I could clearly hear conversations from the rooms on either side of me. On Friday and Saturday nights, the club next store started playing very loud music at 11 pm and it went on until 1 pm. The bass was extremely loud.

The hotel is in a fantastic location in Boston and I was very impressed with every staff member with whom I interacted.

It will be an absolutely fantastic place to stay ONCE it's fully renovated.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Elissa Bflo,
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard Boston Downtown. Thanks for the highmarks and positive comments about our friendly staff! Come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Note: There are only 2 rooms that have been renovated as of 1/8/2014. I received one of these rooms and my review is based on that fact.

This hotel is undergoing a desperately needed renovation. Once that is complete, this should be a very nice place to stay. The rennovated room I stayed in was nice, nothing special, but pretty typical of what you expect from Marriott.

What pushed this over from an average review to an above average review was the staff and the location. The front desk staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, and made a fabulous recommendation for dinner (The Golden Dumpling on Beach Street). And the location is great - near the theater district and Chinatown.

For the money this is a great deal on a Boston hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear ImJohnHime,
Thank you for sharing about your positive stay at the Courtyard Boston Downtown. We are glad you enjoyed your dinner at The Golden Dumpling. It's a hidden gem and our staff is delighted to share their recommendations with you. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is an elegant, old downtown hotel. The rooms are updated, well-kept and modern. Very comfortable bedding. Lobby under construction, but from what I could see, it was marble-clad and gorgeous. We loved our stay! The staff was helpful and nice. The location is great for: Boston Commons, theater, nightlife and Newbury street shopping. We walked to the South Street Diner for breakfast. Don't miss it! We ate at Legal Seafood (great!) and "Cheers." A very welcoming city. "Boston Strong!"

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Donna B,
Thank you for staying with us and posting this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Boston Getaway.
Boston Strong!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Courtyard Boston Downtown was the perfect spot for our Girls' Weekend of shopping, dining and "A Christmas Story" across the street at the Citi Performing Arts Center. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the location was excellent.
The on-going renovation of the lobby and restaurant didn't bother us, but the noise level was Times Square-like! There was Emerson College's Yule Ball going on Friday night inside the hotel while outside the neighboring clubs' techno music beat through our walls.
Our room, 629, didn't have a bathroom fan which caused the fire alarm to go off when the door opened. And in order to lock up my iPad and theatre tickets, I had to take them down to the front desk for safekeeping in a lock box. I hope the hotel plans to add safes to rooms during the renovation.
The breakfast buffet served on the newly-renovated 5th floor for $15 per head had many hot items, a waffle maker (extra cost), plenty of fresh fruit and yogurt. We found the service pleasant and efficient. (A group of 6 will have the gratuity tacked onto the bill, FYI.)
We dined close to the hotel at Legal Sea Foods in Park Square on Friday night and Erbaluce in Bay Village, around the corner from the hotel, on Saturday. Guests of the hotel have many dining options in the area, including a Starbucks in the State Transportation Building.
Our experience was pleasant, save for the thump-thump-thump, coming through the walls at 1 a.m. I hope the hotel considers buffering the noise level somehow in the re-do of the 1925 property.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms facing the street. If the rooms back up onto Warrenton, the view of the Back Bay is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Laura R,
Thank you for recently staying at the Courtyard Boston Downtown for your Girls’ Weekend. It is a perfect spot for shopping, dining and viewing the show at the Citi Performing Arts Center. Thanks for posting about our pleasant and helpful staff and the clean, comfortable rooms.
I am sorry that the noise from the nightclubs was audible to you. We do plan to install in-room safes in some of the guest rooms and new bathroom exhaust fans in all of the rooms. We look forward to having you stay in one of our renovated rooms the next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island,new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

when i arrived there my wife and i saw the first floor was all under renovation,which the hotel had no lounge or resturant . it made my trip little difficult,as i needed to travel to the marriott long warf to eat dinner.as for the rooms they were perfict service was fine. when booking a hotel i think i will always ask if they are under renovation and what is being done.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Munoz333,
Thank youfor staying at the Courtyard Boston Downtown and reviewing your service experience.Our team appreciates that you highlighted the cleanliness and good service of the hotel. During the lobby renovation the restaurant has been relocated to the 5th floor. There is complimentary coffee and tea on that level during the morning hours. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel was fine for one night. They are renovating their lobby. However, it is within close proximity to many downtown Boston clubs, causing a lot of noise when trying to sleep. The hotel management told us that Friday and Saturday nights were always noisy and busy around the hotel. Other than that, the hotel was clean and spacious. But, it was basic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the clubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Joey T,
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing the hotel. You wrote that we are renovating the lobby. Additionally we are renovating the guestrooms and bathrooms as well. This will greatly improve the guest experience when completed. Thank you for highlighting that you found the property to be clean and spacious. This is important for our travelers. I am sorry that the nightclub noise disturbed your rest. We truly want every guest to have a good night’s sleep every night. We are in the center of the city and sometimes it can be noisier that we like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Boston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston Downtown

Address: 275 Tremont Street, Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Boston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Boston Downtown/Tremont Hotel Boston
Courtyard Boston Tremont Hotel
Boston Marriott
Boston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Boston Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.