We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Boston Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Boston Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Boston Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Tremont Street, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #73 of 77 hotels in Boston
Suffolk
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were given a choice of rooms on 2 different floors. The room we had was a bit small by US standards, but was clean with a comfortable bed and nice linens. The staff were very freindly and helpful. We were celebrating our birthdays so the receptionist gave us a complimentary breakfast which was very good. The wifi worked well and we also used the computers in the lobby to print driving directions to our next hotel. Not the best hotel I have stayed in, but would stay again if the parking charges were lower.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and giving us high scores for a clean room with a comfortable bed and free Wi-Fi with strong signal. I am pleased that our staff were very friendly and helpful and recognized your birthdays with a complimentary breakfast. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    202
    243
    144
    75
See reviews for
100
215
65
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merrimac, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I expected much more from a Marriott Courtyard. The air conditioning did not work. We notified the front desk and asked it be fixed by the next night and it was not addressed. The towels are pathetic - thin and worn. The fire alarm malfunctioned and went off repeatedly at 12:30 am, 2:00 am, and 3:30 am. One or two of these issues on their own would be understandable but all of these problems in one stay is just pathetic.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear LikesItHot01,
Thank you for rating us candidly about your recent stay. I know that when I travel with family I want the trip to run smoothly. I am sincerely sorry that we were unable to fix your AC and that the fire alarms disturbed your sleep. We did experience alarms caused by an activated smoke detector and followed the hotel emergency procedures.

I am happy to discuss this further if you would like to contact me at the hotel 617-426-1400.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed here with a bunch of buddies in May of 2013. We had a great time and the staff we extremely helpful. While it was pretty pricey, so is the rest of Boston. In the end it was worth the money, the staff were very helpful, rearranging serveral reservations so we could have conjoining rooms. The two rooms we've had were very spacious and quiet, especially considering they're in the center of the city. It's a quick walk to Boston Commons and the Back Bays, a nice cab to Fenway and in the heart of the downtown area. Two downsides: Parking as valet only and $40 a night... The parking lot across the street was $30 and we opted for that. The other downside was the lack of complimentary breakfast. There's a Dunkin' Donuts and Starbucks just a block or two away

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear app05156
We are delighted that our property’s location allowed you and your buddies easy access to all of your favorite sites and the best of Boston. Thanks for the positive plug for our friendly and helpful staff. Ideal location and friendly, accommodating service; you hit on two of our best features. We would welcome you back the next time you plan a get together in Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Lobby is fantastic. Beautiful. Staff was very friendly. I feel sorry for them that their hard work and efforts will be overshadowed by how poorly maintained the overall building is.

Beyond the lobby which is lovely, overall, hotel looks tired. Very tired. Definitely needs an upgrade. Everything seemed dark and old. Towels in bathroom were so hard and scratchy. The bed - what was that? The mattress pillow top felt like plastic. In small rooms, we would have preferred a small love seat, couch, or comfy chair rather than the large desk. Hallway smelled of smoke. Doors were not sound proof so we could hear children running down hall. Exercise machines should be checked, TVs & sound were distorted, and not all of them working. Breakfast was not included with price of hotel?!?! Really. Holiday Inn Express gives free breakfast.

Overall not what we expected from a Courtyard Marriott, and it was definitely below standard to other Courtyards. We will not stay there again unless we've heard about an upgrade. There were about 6 of us staying for a wedding and all of us really thought poorly of the building - all of us wished we had booked another hotel.

Room Tip: Bring your own towels and bath mats, you wont want to use the ones at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Michelle B
Thank you for your review of our hotel. You observed that the hotel lobby is fantastically beautiful and the staff was very friendly, however the hotel is in need of a renovation. I am pleased to share that the renovation is currently underway and by December 2013 we will have new luxurious bathrooms, and new mattresses and box springs, all with plush towels and linens. Please try us again after the renovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A great old building but has seen better days. I only stayed here as the other hotels in the area where full. The staff are good but the room is very dated. The TV had the worse display of any I have seen in 10+ years and was bolted to the wall in the corner and could not be swiveled. The lift needed a card to get to the rooms - but sometimes failed to work etc. Air con worked well and was not loud.

I have stayed in many Marriott hotels, including others in Boston and this is below the normal standard. Nothing too bad but not somewhere I would plan to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear NigelP99
Thank you for posting. You described us perfectly; a great old building in need of a renovation. Luckily we are doing just that. Our renovation is currently underway and anticipate that by December 2013 we will have new guest rooms with large flat screen HDTVs for your comfort.
I appreciate your remarks and would welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I woke up with bug bites on both wrists and knee. Thank God it was not bed bugs but I still don't know what it was. They are getting better now but that is after going from swelling to extreme itching!
The room (610) was very dingy and dusty, I could write my name in the dust of the coffee cups. The carpet was disgusting! The kind that you don't want to step on.
Management (Martin) wanted me to complete an incident report, will that remove the bite marks? He tried to transfer me to security which took to long so I hung up.
Needless to say as a frequent traveler, this hotel has lost my business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear A M
Thank you for telling us about your experience. I am sincerely sorry. After your report to management we did contact a trusted vendor immediately who thoroughly examined your room for pests. Thankfully there was no evidence of them. However, when inspecting your room we did find several items not up to Marriott’s cleanliness and maintenance standards and took the room out of service to conduct a deep cleaning and repair.
As a frequent traveler, your business and opinion is very important to me. Thank you for the candid critique and I hope that post renovation you might consider trying us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

lobby is nice, staff at desk super pleasant, valet superb! we stayed 2 nights 27th and 28th of May. the hotel carpets are overpoweringly carnival like, the room extremely small for 2 ppl and carry ons. a bathroom shower stall?? the bathroom fixtures were rusted, wal paper was peeling.. the bed was very uncomfortable, and the pillows were the size of postage stamps! i was awoken at 830am w intense drilling below... seriously...?? no warning from the desk when we checked in..? very disappointing stay . location is of course great, however, 43 dollars a night to park? should have slept in my car, would have been roomier. i will not be revisiting here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear M W
Thank you for reviewing our hotel during your recent family visit. We greatly appreciate your positive rating on the lobby, super pleasant staff and superb valet service.
I am sorry that you were disturbed by the construction noise. We are refurbishing all guest rooms and bathrooms which when complete won't increase the size of the room but will greatly enhance the guest experience by an improved layout to dramatically improve functionality of the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Boston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston Downtown

Address: 275 Tremont Street, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 77 hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Boston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Boston Downtown/Tremont Hotel Boston
Courtyard Boston Tremont Hotel
Boston Courtyard
Boston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Boston Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.