We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good and Bad! This could be a great hotel with very little effort!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Boston Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Boston Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Boston Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Tremont Street, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #73 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Good and Bad! This could be a great hotel with very little effort!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The good Is: Great location in arts district. Good rooms. Nice staff. That is the good part.

The bad is:
1-Dangerous feeling right outside lobby area late at night due to loitering drunks from local bars. Even though lobby door was locked, it meant nothing as I witnessed repeated entrance of loiterers/bar patrons from street who were able to enter uncontested by squeezing in with legitimate hotel guests. As the group from the street searched for restrooms (or whatever) uncontested, they were loud and made a point to share their "charm" with hotel guests who were minding their own business. Made the lobby area, especially the entrance feel unsafe.
2- Ridiculous prices for parking. $43 dollars per night for valet. No real alternatives so it feels like you are at their mercy with no affordable alternatives. What kind of hotel does not negotiate some kind of parking deal with local parking companies?

Summary: This hotel has potential if they will just hire 2 good night time security guards to keep the entrance/sidewalk area clear and provide at least ONE affordable parking option. This could be a VERY good hotel! I really hate to give it a poor rating but a feeling of poor security standards anywhere in a hotel immediate warrants a "poor" rating in my opinion.

Room Tip: Get higher level room due to noise from bars. (Unless of course you like loud music and a never endi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    224
    258
    152
    80
See reviews for
109
227
72
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poestenkill NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great location for a circa 1925 hotel with a can-do friendly staff. Across the street from the Wang Theater where we enjoyed Leonard Cohen. And walking distance to just about anything else! Pricey bar & valet parking, but that's Boston for you. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Our eighth floor room was AOK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We attended a Leonard Cohen concert at the Wang Theater this hotel was across the street, same block, so a perfect location for us. Hotel was clean, room and bed clean and comfortable. Room is smallish, but not bad. Bargain pricing which included parking. I was perfectly satisfied and would use this hotel again when traveling to Boston for a concert.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is quiet, if that is what matters to you as it did to us. Rooms which do not fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The staff in this hotel are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Yes, rooms are small but aren't most city hotel rooms. Clean, tidy, and accommodating. Beds and linens very comfortable. All was what one would expect from a Courtyard. Then there was Willy! The delightfully helpful and pleasant doorman. His winning smile and sense of humor made this a stand-out hotel for us!

Room Tip: Above the 8th floor helps to minimize noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, CT USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

First property I stayed in in Boston more than forty years ago when ir was owned by friends. It is no longer a full-service hotel but a Marriott Courtyard, true to,the brand.

Friday and Saturday night stay for meeting of seven. Good for the purpose.

Staff was very efficient and timely. Said another way, they fixed my screw-ups.

Valet parking is optional and is currently up to $43 per night. If that seems high, it is the neighborhood. I self-parked across the street for $34 per night. There is outside cash-only parking in the neighborhood for less.

The cafe serves a full breakfast for $15-. Lot's of popular branded restaurants in the neighborhood including Avila, Fleming's, Legal Seafood, McCormick & Schmick, Magiano's, and Vopiano. This is the theater district so reservations are mandatory for early seating.

Internet is free, pervasive, fast, and open. There is a guest laundry. The "market" sells soft beverages, microwave entrees, snacks, ice-cream, and sundries.

There are meeting rooms ranging from those suitable for a dozen to more than a hundred.

There is an independently operated bar off the large lobby. Varies from pleasant to noisy. There was entertainment, at least on the Friday and Saturday night of our visit.

This is a noisy neighborhood with four theaters and a hospital. Other reviewers have commented. However, my room overlooked Tremont street and Tufts Hospital and I did not notice.

Room Tip: Ask for 14th floor, away from Tremont, 15 if you are Marriott elite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel which is in the theater district since we were seeing a show right down the street. The lobby was nice looking and inviting. The front desk wasn't the friendliest. When we got to our room, first thing we noticed how small it was. We also heard a great deal of noise from the surrounding rooms. The bathroom was tiny too and the shower had mold growing on the bottom tiles. Yuck!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed here five nights during a conference and agree with mutmut3: the lobby is great but the rest of the hotel is rather downscale and absolutely not worth the $275 a night I was charged. You also need to be aware that the hotel is immediately adjacent to two nightclubs which have lines outside past midnight, and the deep bass vibrates throughout the frame of the building on Friday and Saturday nights. I wouldn't want to try to sleep on the street side for that reason. I have also learnt that when US hotels speak of `European style` rooms in their promotional material, what they mean is `really small`. European hotels don't charge $275 a night for such small rooms!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Boston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston Downtown

Address: 275 Tremont Street, Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Boston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Boston Downtown/Tremont Hotel Boston
Courtyard Boston Tremont Hotel
Boston Marriott
Boston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Boston Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.